Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Panelist Mexiko
Lucía Riojas Martínez

Lucía Riojas Martínez © Goethe-Institut Mexiko Lucía Riojas Martínez was born in Mexico City on February 1988. She is a feminist, a lesbian, a drummer and a federal deputy without party.

In 2010 she enrolled in the Universidad Iberoamericana (IBERO) to study Communications. It was then and there that she became involved in one of the most important political projects of her life: being a part of the student movement #YoSoy132.


In 2017, alongside other free men and women, she cofounded a citizen’s initiative called AHORA (Now). Their goal was to fight to return political power to common people by taking a stand against rampant impunity in the Mexican political class and contending electorally for legislative positions.

Since then, Lucía and her companions have worked towards ending Mexico’s pervasive corruption practices and the impunity with which the political class operates and towards peace-building in the current context of widespread violence, while simultaneously being a vocal defender of the rights of women, the LGBTTTI+ community, and against militarization in Mexico.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Panelist*in Mexiko
Lucía Riojas Martínez

Lucía Riojas Martínez © Goethe-Institut Mexiko Lucía Riojas Martínez wurde im Februar 1988 in Mexiko-Stadt geboren. Sie ist Feministin, Lesbe, Schlagzeugerin und parteilose Bundestagsabgeordnete.

Als sie im Jahr 2010 an der Universidad Iberoamericana (IBERO) begann, Kommunikationswissenschaften zu studieren, startete sie zugleich eines der wichtigsten politischen Projekte ihres Lebens: die Studentenbewegung #YoSoy132.


Im Jahr 2017 gründete sie zusammen mit anderen Frauen und Männern eine Bürgerinitiative namens AHORA (Now). Deren Ziel ist es, für die Rückgabe der politischen Macht an das Volk zu kämpfen, indem sie sich gegen die grassierende Straflosigkeit in der mexikanischen Politik wehrt und sich zur Wahl für die neue Legislaturperiode stellt.

Seitdem haben Lucía und ihre Genoss*innen darauf hingearbeitet, die weit verbreiteten Korruptionspraktiken und die Straffreiheit, mit denen die mexikanische Politik hantiert, zu beenden und im gegenwärtigen Kontext der weit verbreiteten Gewalt den Frieden zu fördern. Lucía Riojas Martínez stellt zugleich eine Stimme für die Rechte der Frauen, der LGBTIQ*-Gemeinschaft und gegen die Militarisierung Mexikos dar.

Top