Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

DC Dyke March
“Dyke is a History”

Front of the March
Front of the March | Photo (detail): Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots

In protest against the commercialization of the Pride Parades, the Dyke March in Washington in 2019 experienced a new edition. More than a quarter of a century after its premiere, it is apparently time again for political statements from the queer scene.

By Mary Claire Phillips

It is no secret Pride has gone mainstream. The lineup of corporate floats bedecked in rainbow beckon queer money into straight pockets at Washington DC’s Capital Pride, and forces one to wonder if the event in our nation’s capital ought to be dubbed Capital(ism) Pride. It is hard to ignore the irony that those who sacrificed safety and body in the Stonewall Uprisings to bring us these celebrations would feel anything but secure at the squadrons of smiling cops lining the streets. Some folx may argue that this Rainbow Spectacle is a vast improvement from the clash on Christopher Street. However, as our understanding of intersectionality expands, so too must our acknowledgment of the inequity in the Queer Community and its celebrations.

Not parade but protest

One such movement seeking to highlight and, in turn, combat this injustice is the DC Dyke March. Resurrected after a twelve year hiatus from the Capital city, the Dyke March is a grassroots, community led effort enacting a vision for Queer Liberation in the District. On June 7th, 2019, over one thousand self-identified Dykes marched the streets of Washington DC, not in a parade but a protest. While Dyke Marches popped up across the World in locations such as Mexico City, Berlin, and, perhaps most famously, New York City: they all have Washington DC to thank for the start of this rich tradition.

Protest Signs at the March Photo: Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots
Dyke March is the foil to what Pride has become. Whereas Pride usually relies heavily on law enforcement, Dyke Marches are traditionally permitless and rely on Marshals trained in de-escalation and safety to keep the peace. Corporations flock to make money from the Pride festivities, while Dyke March generates money only to give back to the community. The DC March’s theme this year was “Dykes Against Displacement”, in response to 2019 report that the nation’s capital has the most intense rates of gentrification. The March in turn formed partnerships and raised $6500 for important local organizations such as Black Lives Matter DC, No Justice No Pride, HIPS, and Empower DC.

March on Washington

The first Dyke March took place on the eve of the 1993 March on Washington for Lesbian, Gay and Bi Equal Rights and Liberation (note the exclusion of ‘T’ from the acronym).  The March on Washington focused heavily on responding to President Clinton’s upholding of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell”. They wanted to present the LGBT+ community as highly patriotic and placed Military members at the head of the March. Unamused with such a militant focus, members of the group the “Lesbian Avengers” came up with the idea to organize a radical protest as a political statement against what was turning out as a palatable event for a heteronormative audience. After intense organizing by the Avengers and other dyke led organizations, the first March saw around 20,000 Dykes march to Dupont Circle. 

Marshalls lining up to block traffic Photo: Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots
Looking back at the priorities of the first Dyke Marches is an opportunity to give gratitude to the activists before us. In a 2003 handout from the New York Dyke March, their demands include the right to freely marry and adopt - realities that newer generations of queers only know through the tales of our elders. Yet some demands still hit close to home: the ability to walk home without fear of violence or for our kin in conservative regions, to openly work without fear of retribution.

The privilege of vocabulary

Over a quarter of a century since the first March, resurrecting a protest in its inaugural location offers a chance for rebirth. Like any community, generational divides occur. Issues of nomenclature being one of them. Whereas in the early 1990s Dyke was taken just to mean lesbian, today’s march leaders interpret the word to be a political, rather than sexual, identity. It is important to recognize that non-lesbian queers have always been here, and have used the words afforded by the times to self-identify. Fifty years after Stonewall, we have the privilege of vocabulary. No longer does Dyke mean “lesbian”, its grown to encompass the wonderful diversity of our community. This year’s March consisted of Trans, Nonbinary, Bisexual, Two Spirit, Asexual people - all of whom can find community under the Dyke label.

Organizer at March with Megaphone Photo: Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots
In an effort to better document the wide range of experiences and political priorities that brought people to the Dyke March, the DC team launched an archival collection with the Library of Congress and a documentary projected entitled “The D-Word”.  Short testimonies can be found on the Dyke March social media pages, and eventually will be developed into a film depicting the DC Dyke experience. Bringing back this historic march in the year of Stonewall 50th was not something lost on organizers, and documenting testimony is a way of giving back to our history. This sentiment is best encompassed by Kaia (they/them, @StrangeBirdProductions), a non-binary filmmaker interviewed at Dyke Fest:“Dyke is a history. Being a dyke is not about your gender, it’s about your experience”.

A sea of rainbow

In a time where you can look out at a sea of rainbow, it is easy to sit comfortably and rest on the laurels of the activists of yesteryear. Yet now is not the time to be complacent. We live in a time in which same-sex couples proudly brandish wedding rings, while the sex workers who brought us Pride operate in secret. A time where more people than ever are attending their city’s Pride, but more Americans claim to have seen a ghost than a Trans person. A time when Law Enforcement apologizes for the nights on Christopher Street in June 1969, yet the 2019 murder cases of over a dozen Trans Women of Color run cold.

The time to advocate for our community is not confined to one month, rather it is a yearlong fight that requires constant listening to communities, unpacking privilege, sitting in that discomfort, and then persevering against the status quo. Civil disobedience is not meant to be comfortable, its very nature is to provoke. For as long as corporations and law enforcement dominate Pride, there will always be a need for an event that recenters the folx who these institutions ignore. Protests like Dyke March are important not because they harken back to history, but because there is still history to be made.
           

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

DC Dyke March
„Dyke ist eine Geschichte“

Die Spitze des Marsches
Die Spitze des Marsches | Foto (Detail): Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots

Als Protest gegen die Kommerzialisierung der Pride-Paraden erlebte 2019 der Dyke March in Washington eine Neuauflage. Mehr als ein Vierteljahrhundert nach der Premiere ist es offenbar wieder Zeit für politische Statements der Queer-Szene.

Von Mary Claire Phillips

Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass Pride in den Mainstream übergegangen ist. Die Reihe an festlichen Umzugswagen von Firmen in Regenbogenfarben, die während der Capital Pride Parade in Washington DC queeres Geld in heterosexuelle Taschen fließen lassen, verleiten dazu, zu überlegen, ob die Veranstaltung nicht eher in Capital(ism) Pride umbenannt werden sollte. Es fällt schwer zu ignorieren, dass die, die ihre Sicherheit und ihr Leben in den Stonewall-Protesten riskiert haben, sich sicherlich nicht sicher zwischen den lächelnden Polizeistaffeln fühlen würden, die auf den die Straßen patrouillieren. Manche mögen argumentieren, dass dieses Regenbogenspektakel eine enorme Verbesserung gegenüber den gewaltsamen Konflikten in der Christopher Street ist. Während sich unser Verständnis von Intersektionalität erweitert, muss sich gleichermaßen unsere Anerkennung erweitern, wie ungleich die Queer Community und ihre Feierlichkeiten sind.
  Protestschilder Foto: Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots Eine Bewegung, die sowohl auf diese Ungerechtigkeit aufmerksam machen als sie gleichsam bekämpfen will, ist der DC Dyke March. Der Dyke March, wiederaufgenommen von der Landeshauptstadt nach einer zwölfjährigen Auszeit, ist eine Basisbewegung, geleitet von der Gemeinschaft selbst, die versucht, eine Vision für die queere Befreiung im Distrikt durchzusetzen. Am 7. Juni 2019 sind mehr als 1.000 Lesben durch die Straßen von Washington DC marschiert – nicht als Parade, sondern als Protest. Obwohl Lesbenmärsche auf der ganzen Welt auftauchen: an Orten wie Mexiko-Stadt, Berlin und – wahrscheinlich am bekanntesten – New York City, so verdanken sie alle den Start dieser reichhaltigen Tradition Washington DC.

Keine Parade, sondern Protest

Der Dyke March bildet die Hintergrundfolie zu dem, was Pride heute ist. Während Pride‑Paraden von der Polizei kontrolliert werden, sind Lesbenmärsche traditionell ohne Genehmigung durchführbar und werden von Ordnungskräften, die in Deeskalation und friedlichen Lösungen trainiert werden, begleitet. Unternehmen hängen sich vor allem an Pride‑Festivitäten, um Geld zu verdienen, während der Dyke March nur Geld macht, um dieses zurück in die Gemeinschaft fließen zu lassen. Das Thema des Marsches 2019 war „Dykes Against Displacement“ („Lesben gegen Vertreibung“) als Antwort auf einen Bericht aus dem gleichen Jahr, der dokumentiert, dass die Landeshauptstadt die höchsten Gentrifizierungsraten hat. Außerdem knüpften sich durch den Marsch neue Partnerschaften und es wurden 6.500 US‑Dollar Spenden eingenommen, die lokalen Organisationen wie Black Lives Matter DC, No Justice No Pride, HIPS und Empower DC zugutekommen.

Der erste Dyke March fand am Abend des 1993 durchgeführten Marsches in Washington für das Recht von Lesben, Schwulen und Bisexuellen auf Gleichheit und Freiheit (man achte auf die Exklusion von ‘T’ aus dem Akronym) statt. Der Marsch in Washington wollte vor allem als Reaktion auf Präsident Clintons Aufrechterhalten der Praxis „Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell“ verstanden werden. Das Organisationsteam wollten die queere Gemeinde als besonders patriotisch darstellen und ließ sie deshalb von Mitgliedern des Militärs anführen. Unzufrieden mit diesem militanten Fokus, hatte Lesbian Avengers die Idee, einen radikalen Protest als politisches Statement zu organisieren gegen einen Marsch, der sich am Ende des Tages an eine ziemlich heteronormative Zielgruppe wandte. Nach intensiver Vorbereitung durch die Avengers und andere lesbische Organisationen marschierten während des ersten Dyke Marsches ca. 20.000 Dykes zum Dupont Circle.  

Den Verkehr blockieren Foto: Courtesy of Tut Shoots © TutShoots Um die Erlebnisse und politischen Prioritäten, die die Menschen inspirieren, zum Dyke Marsch zu gehen, besser zu dokumentieren, hat das DC-Team gemeinsam mit der Liberary of Congress eine Archivsammlung sowie ein dokumentarisches Projekt mit dem Titel „The D‑Word“ gegründet. Kurze Erlebnisberichte finden sich auf den Social-Media-Kanälen des Dyke Marches und sollen in Zukunft zu einem Film über den DC Dyke weiterentwickelt werden. Diesen historischen Marsch zum 50. Jubiläum der Stonewall‑Proteste zurückzubringen, ist den Organisatoren sehr bewusst gewesen und die Dokumentation von Erlebnissen eine Möglichkeit, der Geschichte der Community etwas zurückzugeben. Kaia (they/them, @StrangeBirdProductions) – ein/eine nicht-binär/e identifizierende/r Filmemacher/in, der/die auf dem Dyke-Fest interviewt wurde – fasst dieses Sentiment besonders gut zusammen: „Dyke ist eine Geschichte. Dyke sein hat nichts mit deinem Geschlecht, sondern mit deinen Erfahrungen zu tun.“

Ein Meer an Regenbögen

In einer Zeit, in der man den Blick über ein Meer an Regenbogen schweifen lassen kann, ist es besonders einfach, sich auf den Lorbeeren der Aktivist*innen der Vergangenheit auszuruhen. Jetzt ist jedoch nicht die Zeit, um sich selbstgefällig zurückzulehnen. Wir leben in einer Zeit, in der gleichgeschlechtliche Paare stolz ihre Eheringe tragen, während die Sexarbeiter*innen, die Pride ermöglicht haben, im Schatten arbeiten müssen. Einer Zeit, in der mehr Menschen als jemals zuvor die Pride‑Paraden ihrer Stadt besuchen und mehr Amerikaner*innen eher behaupten, einen Geist gesehen zu haben als eine*n Transsexuelle*n. Einer Zeit, in der die Polizei sich für jene Nacht im Juni 1969 in der Christopher Street entschuldigt und gleichzeitig Mordfälle an Dutzenden von transsexuellen, dunkelhäutigen Frauen im Jahr 2019 ungelöst bleiben.
 
Die Zeit, sich für unsere Gemeinschaft einzusetzen, ist nicht an einen bestimmten Monat gebunden. Stattdessen ist es ein jahrelanger Kampf, der erfordert, der Gemeinschaft kontinuierlich zuzuhören, Vorzugsbehandlungen zu identifizieren, Unbehagen auszuhalten und hartnäckig gegen den Status quo anzugehen. Ziviler Ungehorsam ist nicht dafür gedacht komfortabel zu sein, seine grundlegende Natur ist es zu provozieren. Solange große Unternehmen und die Polizei Pride‑Paraden dominieren, solange wird es immer notwendig sein, Veranstaltungen zu organisieren, die Menschen, die diese Institutionen ignorieren, wieder neu zusammenbringen. Proteste wie der Dyke March sind nicht nur wichtig, um vergangene Geschichte zu betrachten, sondern auch, weil es immer noch gilt, Geschichte zu machen.
          

Top