Book Talk All the Land: Book Talk with Jo Lendle and Matt Ruff

Jo Lendle Photo: © Mathis Beutel and Seagull Publishing

Tue, 05/14/2019

Elliott Bay Book Company

1521 Tenth Avenue
Seattle WA 98122

Throughout the Year of German-American Friendship, the Goethe-Institut’s new program BOOKS FIRST is bringing literature in German to English-speaking readers. 

At numerous events hosted by the Goethe-Institutes, book shops and festivals, the authors will present their recently translated works and answer audience questions.


Join German author Jo Lendle in conversation with Seattle-based author Matt Ruff for an introduction of Lendle’s novel All the Land (2019), a fictionalized account of the life of polar explorer and meteorologist Alfred Wegener.

How, in 1930, did this man from Berlin find himself in the most isolated spot on earth, attempting to survive an unthinkably cold winter in the middle of Greenland? In All the Land, Jo Lendle chronicles Wegener’s extraordinary journey from his childhood in Germany to the most unforgiving corner of the planet, giving us the story of this great adventurer and the experiences that shaped him, resulting in a tale that is both thrilling and tender.

Jo Lendle is a German author and, since early 2014, the head of Hanser Verlag, Munich.

One of the authors that Hanser publishes in German translation, is critically acclaimed cult novelist Matt Ruff. His recent work Lovecraft Country: A Novel (2016) melds historical fiction, pulp noir, horror and fantasy to make visceral the terrors of life in Jim Crow America and its lingering effects of racism.

This event takes place in partnership with the Elliott Bay Book Company.

Back

Buchbesprechung Alles Land: Gespräch mit Jo Lendle and Matt Ruff

Jo Lendle Foto: © Mathis Beutel und Seagull Publishing

Di, 14.05.2019

Elliott Bay Book Company

1521 Tenth Avenue
Seattle WA 98122

Während des Deutschlandjahres in den USA sind viele spannende Autorinnen und Autoren auf Lesereise mit BOOKS FIRST unterwegs, ein Programm des Goethe-Instituts zur Vermittlung deutschsprachiger Literatur ins Englische.

Auf zahlreichen Veranstaltungen in den Goethe-Instituten vor Ort, bei Literaturfestivals oder in Buchhandlungen präsentieren sie ihre frisch ins Englische übersetzen Bücher und stellen sich den Fragen des Publikums.


Der deutsche Autor Jo Lendle stellt im Gespräch mit dem in Seattle lebenden Schriftsteller Matt Ruff seinen kürzlich übersetzten Roman Alles Land (2019) vor. Der Roman ist eine fiktionalisierte Beschreibung des Lebens des Polarforschers und Meteorologen Alfred Wegener.  

Wie kam dieser Mann aus Berlin 1930 an den isoliertesten Ort der Welt und überlebte einen unvorstellbar kalten Winter mitten in Grönland? In Alles Land macht sich Jo Lendle auf den Weg, um Wegeners außergewöhnliche Reise von seiner Kindheit in Deutschland bis in die entlegenste Region der Erde zu dokumentieren und uns die gleichzeitig spannende und liebevolle Geschichte dieses großen Abenteurers zu erzählen.

Jo Lendle ist Autor und seit Anfang 2014 Verleger des Hanser Verlages.

Einer der Autoren, die von Hanser auf Deutsch verlegt werden, ist der anerkannte Kultautor Matt Ruff. Sein neustes Werk Lovecraft Country: A Novel (2016) kombiniert historische Fiktion, Pulp Noir, Horror und Fantasy, um der Leserschaft den Terror der Lebensbedingungen in Jim-Crow-Amerika und die anhaltenden Auswirkungen der Rassendiskriminierungen erfahrbar zu machen.

Die Veranstaltung findet in Partnerschaft mit der Elliott Bay Book Company statt.

Zurück