Film Screening Styx

Susanne Wolf Photo (detail): © Film Movement, Benedict Neuenfels

Tue, 10/22/2019

Northwest Film Forum

1515 12th Ave
Seattle WA 98122

Germany/Austria. 2018, feature film, German /English with English subtitles, 94 min. | Director: Wolfgang Fischer | Cast: Susanne Wolff, Gedion Oduor Wekesa, Kelvin Mutuku Ndinda | Screenplay: Wolfgang Fischer, Ika Künzel | Camera: Benedict Neuenfels | Editing: Monika Willi | Music: Dirk von Lowtzow | Production: Schiwago Film GmbH, Amour Fou Vienna GmbH

Styx is a film shot on the open sea.
 
Rike works as an emergency physician in Cologne. For her vacation, she has planned a sailing voyage in the wake of Charles Darwin. Alone, she sets sail in her yacht from Gibraltar. Her destination is Ascension Island in the Atlantic. However, her vacation ends abruptly. After a heavy storm, she discovers an overloaded, damaged cutter near her ship. More than a hundred people may drown if she does not act.
 
The film by Wolfgang Fischer is aptly named after the mythological river that separates the living from the dead. Styx is an astute modern-day parable of Western indifference in the face of marginalized suffering. Carrying practically the entire film, Wolff is riveting as a woman pushed to her physical, psychological and moral limits.
 
This event is part of the Film Festival “…and the winners are…” - a joint project by the Goethe-Institut and the German Film Academy. In Seattle, the series takes place in the frame of the Year of German-American Friendship and is co-organized by the Goethe Pop Up Seattle with local partners NWFF and SIFF. 

Back

Filmvorführung Styx

Susanne Wolf Foto (Ausschnitt): © Film Movement, Benedict Neuenfels

Di, 22.10.2019

Northwest Film Forum

1515 12th Ave
Seattle WA 98122

Deutschland / Österreich. 2018, Spielfilm, Deutsch / Englisch mit englischen Untertiteln , 94 Min. | Regie: Wolfgang Fischer | Schauspieler*innen: Susanne Wolff, Gedion Oduor Wekesa, Kelvin Mutuku Ndinda | Drehbuch: Wolfgang Fischer, Ika Künzel | Kamera: Benedict Neuenfels | Schnitt: Monika Willi | Musik: Dirk von Lowtzow | Produktion: Schiwago Film GmbH, Amour Fou Vienna GmbH

Styx ist ein Film der auf dem offenen Meer geschossen wurde.
 
Rike arbeitet als Notärztin in Köln. Für ihren Urlaub hat sie einen Segeltörn auf den Spuren von Charles Darwin geplant. In Gibraltar sticht sie alleine mit ihrer Yacht in See. Ziel ihrer Reise ist die Atlantikinsel Ascension. Allerdings wird ihr Urlaub abrupt beendet. Nach einem schweren Unwetter entdeckt sie in der Nähe ihres Schiffes einen überladenen, havarierten
Kutter. Mehr als hundert Menschen drohen zu ertrinken, wenn sie nicht handelt.
 
Der Film von Wolfang Fischer wurde ganz bewusst nach dem mythologischen Fluss benannt, der die Toten von den Lebenden trennt. Styx ist heute eine scharfsinnige Parabel der Gleichgültigkeit des Westens im Angesicht marginalisierten Leidens. Getragen wird der Film fast komplett von der Schauspielerin Susanne Wolff, die eine Frau spielt, die an ihre physischen, psychologischen und moralischen Grenzen stößt.
 
Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil des Filmfestivals „…and the winners are…” - ein gemeinsames Projekt des Goethe-Instituts und der Deutschen Filmakademie. In Seattle läuft die Reihe innerhalb des Deutschlandjahrs USA und wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle in Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen Organisationen NWFF und SIFF mitveranstaltet. 

Zurück