Film Screening German Cinema Now! The Last City (Heinz Emigholz)

Dorothy Ko and Young Sun Han in "The Last City" © Filmgalerie 451 and Heinz Emigholz

Wed, 04/28/2021 -
Thu, 04/29/2021

Online

The monthly film series GERMAN CINEMA NOW! is curated by Goethe Pop Up Seattle. This year, the series explores themes of disruption and continuity to inspire public dialogue about the ways in which the past shapes our moment and can inform a radically different future.
 
The film screenings are presented in partnership with Northwest Film Forum Seattle. All ticket purchases support Northwest Film Forum.
 
The screening of The Last City will take place online. Please register in advance and pay what you can. The film stream is available to viewers worldwide from April 28 at 5pm to April 29 at 5pm PDT.
 
The film will be accompanied by a recorded Q&A with the director Heinz Emigholz and Goethe Pop Up’s Martin Schwartz.
 
About the film:
 
The Last City
Director: Heinz Emigholz
Germany | 2020 | 100 minutes
 
Have you, represented by performance artist John Erdman, ever woken up in a hotel room in Athens next to a man thirty years your junior who also happens to have tattooed on him Marx’s last thesis on Feuerbach and the removed retina of a rabbit, just as you do? Do you have disturbingly lucid transracial dream-experiences in which you are interrogated in Hong Kong by a woman resembling Columbia history professor Dorothy Ko and forced to digest the crimes of imperial war, and which culminate in the production of “Japanese-German Guilt Sausages” cased in your viscera? Does your average workday as a Berlin parish priest (Young Sun Han) include defiantly violating your vow of celibacy (at least) twice through vigorous lovemaking with your policeman brother, offering and withholding absolution to close family members, and sharing a nice pasta dinner with mom? Have you, now in the guise of Argentinean director Jonathan Perel, shocked your friends by becoming an advanced weapons designer because it entails the avant-garde practice of empathy?
 
Is your life, in short, animated by an endless, endlessly shifting discussion, haunted by the spirits of art and psychoanalysis, an infinite round dance among cities and personae, a search for a city whose coordinates continually shift?
 
If this all sounds familiar, then The Last City offers a window of inversion into your world. For the rest of us, it delivers the bracing suggestion that perhaps, for the duration of the movie at least, we are the same person.
 
Heinz Emigholz’s film interrupts narrative flow through its unusual camera levels and canted angles, mid-conversation shifts in setting and time of day, and the weird directness and intimacy of the actors’ delivery. What is however joyously constant is a high-velocity hide-and-seek of thought—thought, that is, and the thinker, whoever that may be. (Martin Schwartz)
Registration
The Last City was recently awarded the Special Jury Award at Documenta Madrid. In the jury’s words: “With this film we celebrate the radicality of a cinema that questions its language at the same time that it makes the most of its expansive possibilities. Formal and irreverent, humanist and structural, it is a film in mutation, where reflections continue after the spaces, the characters and sequences, to infinite combinations.”
 
About the Filmmaker:
 
Born in 1948 near Bremen in Germany, Heinz Emigholz trained first as a draftsman before studying philosophy and literature in Hamburg. He began filmmaking in 1968 and has worked since 1973 as a filmmaker, artist, writer and producer in Germany and the USA. In 1984 he started his film series Photography and beyond. He held a professorship in Experimental Filmmaking at the Berlin University of the Arts from 1993 to 2013, and co-founded the Institute for Time-based Media and the Art and Media program there. In 2003 Filmgalerie 451 launched an edition of all his films on DVD. Heinz Emigholz is a member of the Academy of the Arts Berlin.
 

Back

Filmvorführung German Cinema Now! Die Letzte Stadt (Heinz Emigholz)

Dorothy Ko und Young Sun Han in „Die Letzte Stadt“ © Filmgalerie 451 und Heinz Emigholz

Mi, 28.04.2021 -
Do, 29.04.2021

17:00 Uhr - 17:00 Uhr

Online

Die monatliche Filmreihe GERMAN CINEMA NOW! wird vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle kuratiert. Dieses Jahr beschäftigt sich die Reihe mit Themen wie Bruch und Kontinuität, um einen öffentlichen Dialog darüber anzuregen, wie genau die Vergangenheit unsere Gegenwart prägt und eine grundverschiedene Zukunft beeinflussen kann.
 
Die Filmreihe wird in Kooperation mit dem Northwest Film Forum Seattle präsentiert. Der Erlös der Tickets unterstützt das Northwest Film Forum.
 
Die Vorführung von Die Letzte Stadt findet online statt. Wir bitten um Registrierung vorab und ermutigen zu einer kleinen Spende. Der Film steht Zuschauer*innen weltweit vom 28. April, 17 Uhr PDT, bis zum 29. April, 17 Uhr PDT, zur Verfügung.
 
Der Film wird begleitet von einem aufgezeichneten Gespräch zwischen dem Regisseur, Heinz Emigholz, und Martin Schwartz vom Goethe Pop Up Seattle.
 
Über den Film:
 
Die Letzte Stadt
Regie: Heinz Emigholz
Deutschland | 2020 | 100 Min.
 
Sind Sie jemals in Gestalt des Performance-Künstlers John Erdman in einem Hotelzimmer in Athen aufgewacht, neben einem Mann, der dreißig Jahre jünger als Sie ist, und der, genau wie Sie, die letzte marxsche These über Feuerbach und die Retina eines Kaninchens auf dem Arm tätowiert hat? Haben Sie ungeheuerliche Klartraum-Erlebnisse, dass Sie durch eine Frau, die der Columbia University Professorin für Geschichtswissenschaft Dorothy Ko ähnelt, verhört werden, die Sie die Untaten der kaiserlich-Japanischen Kriegen verdauen lässt, und die damit enden, dass Japanisch-Deutsche Schuldwürste mit Wursthaut aus Ihren Eingeweiden gefüllt werden? Beinhaltet Ihr gewöhnlicher Arbeitstag als Berliner Priester (Young Sun Han) den wiederholten, trotzigen Bruch ihres Pflichtzölibats mit Ihrem eigenen Bruder, ein Polizist, sowie das Erteilen und die Vorenthaltung der Absolution an Ihre Familienmitglieder, und ein schönes Pasta-Abendessen mit Mutti? Haben Sie, jetzt als der argentinische Filmregisseur Jonathan Perel, Ihre Freunde arg überrascht, indem Sie zum Waffendesigner geworden sind, weil es die avantgardistische Praxis der Empathie einschließt?
 
Kurzum, ist Ihr Leben animiert durch ein endloses, sich unentwegt veränderndes Gespräch, in welchem die Gespenster der Kunst und der Psychoanalyse gegenwärtig sind, ein infiniter Reigentanz zwischen Städten und Personen, eine Suche nach einer Stadt deren Koordinaten ständig wechseln?
 
Wenn all das Ihnen vertraut vorkommt, dann bietet Die Letzte Stadt ein Fenster der Inversion in Ihre Welt. Für andere, liefert der Film die unheimliche Andeutung, dass vielleicht, zumindest während der Dauer des Filmes, wir alle dieselbe Person sind.
 
Dieser Film von Heinz Emigholz bricht den narrativen Strom ab, durch seine außergewöhnlichen Aufnahmewinkel und Neigungen, die Veränderungen der Hintergründe und Tageszeit mitten im Gespräch, und die merkwürdige Direktheit und Intimität des schauspielerischen Stils. Was aber freudig gleichbleibt ist das hochtourige Versteckspiel des Denkens—das heißt, des Denkens und des Denkenden, wer das auch sein mag.
Registrieren
Die letzte Stadt wurde unlängst mit dem Special Jury Award bei der Documenta Madrid ausgezeichnet. Mit den Worten der Jury: „Mit diesem Film feiern wir die Radikalität eines Kinos, die seine Sprache infrage stellt, dabei gleichzeitig das Beste aus ihren vielfältigen Möglichkeiten macht. Formal und ehrfurchtslos, humanistisch und strukturell, es ist ein Kino im ständigen Übergang, wo Wiederspiegelungen weiterbestehen nach den Räumen, den Figuren, und den Sequenzen, zu unendlichen Kombinierungen.“
 
Über den Regisseur:
 
Heinz Emigholz wurde 1948 in Achim bei Bremen geboren. Seit 1973 ist er in Deutschland und in den USA als freischaffender Filmemacher, bildender Künstler, Kameramann, Autor, Publizist und Produzent tätig. 1993 bis 2013 hatte er den Lehrstuhl für Experimentelle Filmgestaltung an der Universität der Künste Berlin inne. Er ist Mitbegründer des dortigen Instituts für zeitbasierte Medien und des Studiengangs Kunst und Medien. Heinz Emigholz ist Mitglied der Akademie der Künste Berlin seit 2013.
 

Zurück