Artist Talk READY FOR MY NEXT SELF-DISPLAY

Susanne Sachsse © Eric Hackenschmidt | Vaginal Davis. Photograph by Lucius Barre © Vaginal Davis Susanne Sachsse © Eric Hackenschmidt | Vaginal Davis. Photograph by Lucius Barre © Vaginal Davis

11/10/15
6:30pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Susanne Sachsse © Eric Hackenschmidt | Vaginal Davis. Photograph by Lucius Barre © Vaginal Davis

In conversation with Berlin-based artist Vaginal Davis, directress and actress Susanne Sachsse talks about her experiences in queer film and performance and her East German background. Rethinking female agency on stage and screen, Sachsse presents her collaborations with stage directors such as Einar Schleef and Vegard Vinge, as well as queer performers, including Vaginal Davis, Ronald Tavel, and Bruce LaBruce.

The evening event at the Goethe-Institut takes place in conjunction with the performance of a radical reinterpretation of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s The Magic Flute by Sachsse and Davis in a unique collaboration with composer Jamie Stewart, lighting designer Jackie Shemesh, musicologist Roger Grant, filmmaker Michel Auder, and Jonathan Berger and Jesse Bransford from NYU's Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development. The acclaimed group of international artists will be in residence at the 80WSE Gallery throughout the fall.
 
The Magic Flute is an installation and critical transformation of Mozart’s celebrated 1791 musical drama. Reimagining and disordering the narrative of the opera, the installation amplifies the subversive alternatives to humanism already quietly suggested in Mozart’s music and Schikaneder’s libretto. Staging an interrogation of the fragile boundary between humanity and mechanization, it elaborates a set of inquiries begun in the eighteenth century about human life and its others. The Magic Flute will have free public performances December 1st to 5th at 80WSE. On December 6th and 7th, the performances will be closed to the public, allowing them to function as the subject of a film shoot directed by Michel Auder.


Presented in collaboration with 80WSE Gallery.


Susanne Sachsse is an actress and director. She was a member of the Berliner Ensemble where she worked with Heiner Müller, Einar Schleef, and Robert Wilson. In 2001, she co-founded the art collective CHEAP. She has worked in different performance, art, and film contexts with, among others, Bruce LaBruce, Yael Bartana, Phil Collins, Keren Cytter, Hannah Hurtzig, Katya Sander and Vegard Vinge. Sachsse's first video Serious Ladies premiered at the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin in 2013 and has since been shown in galleries and at international film festivals. Currently, she is working on her first feature film, Original Sin.

Vaginal Davis is an international performance, visual and video artist. Since 2005 she has regularly led performance workshops at, amongst others, McGill University, the University of Manchester, and Harvard University. From 1985 to 2002 she taught artistic writing, performance, and experimental film at the University of California, the California Institute of the Arts, Otis College of Art and Design, Parsons School of Design and New York University. Her visual artwork was last exhibited in the group shows Womanizer (Deitch Projects, New York) in 2007 and The Way That We Rhyme: Woman, Art and Politics (Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco) in 2008.

 

Back

Künstlergespräch READY FOR MY NEXT SELF-DISPLAY

Susanne Sachsse © Eric Hackenschmidt | Vaginal Davis. Photograph by Lucius Barre © Vaginal Davis Susanne Sachsse © Eric Hackenschmidt | Vaginal Davis. Photograph by Lucius Barre © Vaginal Davis

10.11.15
18:30 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Susanne Sachsse © Eric Hackenschmidt | Vaginal Davis. Photograph by Lucius Barre © Vaginal Davis

Im Gespräch mit der in Berlin ansässigen Künstlerin Vaginal Davis, spricht die Regisseurin und Schauspielerin Susanne Sachsse über ihre Arbeit im Bereich Queer Film und Performance sowie ihre ostdeutsche Herkunft. Den weiblichen Akteur auf Bühne und Leinwand neudenkend, präsentiert Sachsse ihre Kollaborationen mit Bühnenregisseuren wie Einar Schleef und Vegard Vinge sowie queeren Schauspielern und Performancekünstlern wie Vaginal Davis, Ronal Tavel und Bruce LaBruce.

Die Abendveranstaltung des Goethe-Instituts findet in Verbindung mit der Performance einer radikalen Reinterpretation von Wolfang Amadeus Mozarts Die Zauberflöte: The Magic Flute, von Sachsse und Davis, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Jamie Stewart, Lichtdesigner Jackie Shemesh, Musikologe Roger Grant, Filmemacher Michel Auder sowie Jonathan Berger und Jesse Bransford von der NYU Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development, statt. Die renommierte Gruppe internationaler Künstler residiert während der Herbstmonate an der 80WSE Gallery.

The Magic Flute ist eine Installation und kritische Veränderung von Mozarts berühmtem Musikdrama von 1791. Durch die Reinterpretation und Umordnung der Handlung, hebt die Installation subversive Alternativen zum Humanismus hervor, die bereits unterschwellig in Mozarts Musik und Schikaneders Libretto suggeriert werden. Die Erforschung der fragilen Grenze zwischen der Menschheit und der Mechanisierung darstellend, führt sie Installation eine Reihe von Erkunden zum menschlichen Leben und seinem „Anderen“ aus, die bereits im 18. Jahrhundert begonnen wurden. Vom 1. bis 5. Dezember sind die Aufführungen von The Magic Flute in der 80WSE Gallery frei der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Am 6. und 7. Dezember wird die Performance von Regisseur Michel Auder gefilmt und für die Öffentlichkeit geschlossen.

Präsentiert in Zusammenarbeit mit der 80WSE Gallery.
 
Susanne Sachsse ist Schauspielerin und Regiesseurin. Sie war am Berliner Ensemble engagiert und arbeitete dort mit Heiner Müller, Robert Wilson und Einar Schleef. 2001 war sie Mitbegründerin des Künstlerkollektivs CHEAP. Sie arbeitet in verschiedenen Performance-, Film- und Kunstkontexten, u.a. mit Yael Bartana, Bruce LaBruce, Phil Collins, Keren Cytter, Vaginal Davis, Katya Sander und Vegard Vinge. Sachsses erste Videoarbeit Serious Ladies wurde erstmals 2013 in den KW, Berlin gezeigt und seitdem in Galerien und auf Internationalen Filmfestivals. Derzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem ersten Feature Film Original Sin.
 
Vaginal Davis
ist eine internationale Performance-, Bildende- und Videokünstlerin. Seit 2005 leitet sie regelmäßig Performance Workshops an, u.a. der McGill University, Montreal der University of Manchester und Harvard University. Von 1985 bis 2002 unterrichtete sie künstlerisches Schreiben, Performance und Experimentalfilm an der University of California, dem California Institute of the Arts, dem Otis College of Art and Design, der Parsons School of Design und der New York Univerisity. Als visuelle Künstlerin stellte sie zuletzt in den Gruppenausstellung Womanizer(Deitch Projects, New York, 2007) und The Way That We Rhyme: Woman, Art and Politics (Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco, 2008) aus.






 

Zurück