Reading & Conversation THE LENGEVITCH OF ULJANA WOLF: LITERATURE AND MIGRATION

Uljana Wolf © Renate von Mangoldt © Renate von Mangoldt

03/31/16
6:30pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Uljana Wolf © Renate von Mangoldt

In March, the Berlin- and Brooklyn-based poet and translator Uljana Wolf will be awarded the Robert Bosch Stiftung’s prestigious Adelbert von Chamisso Prize for her work to date and, in particular, her volume of poetry Meine schönste Lengevitch (kookbooks, 2013). The jury said, “Her approximations of the foreign through playful reflection of linguistically-conveyed reality are successful examples of future-oriented, cosmopolitan literature.”

In this evening event, Wolf reads from Meine schönste Lengevitch and discusses how her work relates to issues of translation, migration, language loss, and language politics. She is in conversation with her translator, the poet and scholar Sophie Seita, whose translations of Wolf received the Wonder Book Prize in 2014 and a Pen/Heim Award in 2015.


Uljana Wolf, born in 1979 in Berlin, lives and works in Berlin and Brooklyn. She has published three volumes of poetry, kochanie ich habe brot gekauft (2005), falsche freunde (2009), and Meine schönste Lengevitch (2013) as well as the essay BOX OFFICE (2010) and a joint sonnet erasure project with Christian Hawkey, Sonne From Ort (2012). Among the English-language poets she has translated into German are Matthea Harvey, Erín Moure, John Asbery, Yoko Ono, and Cole Swensen. Her own work has been translated into more than thirteen languages. She has received numerous prizes for her literary works and translations, including the Peter Huchel Prize and the Dresden Poetry Prize. Wolf teaches German and literary translation at New York University and the Pratt Institute.

Sophie Seita is the author of Meat (Little Red Leaves, 2015), Fantasias in Counting (BlazeVOX Books, 2014), 12 Steps (Wide Range, 2012), and i mean i dislike that fate that i was made to where (Wonder, 2015, a translation from the German of Uljana Wolf). She received a 2015 PEN/Heim Award to translate Uljana Wolf’s Subsisters: Selected Poems, forthcoming from Belladonna in 2017. She is the recipient of The John Kinsella and Tracy Ryan Poetry Prize, as well as fellowships and grants from Princeton, Yale, Columbia, Cambridge, Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, DAAD, Queen Mary University of London, and others. Her academic research focuses on avant-garde little magazines, experimental autobiography, small-press poetry, and print culture from the mid-19th to the early 21st century. She currently lives in New York. In October, she will take up a Junior Research Fellowship at Queens’ College, Cambridge.
 

Back

Lesung & Gespräch THE LENGEVITCH OF ULJANA WOLF: LITERATURE AND MIGRATION

Uljana Wolf © Renate von Mangoldt © Renate von Mangoldt

31.03.16
18:30Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Uljana Wolf © Renate von Mangoldt

Im März wird die in Berlin und Brooklyn lebende Dichterin und Übersetzerin Uljana Wolf den Adelbert-von-Chamisso-Preis der Robert Bosch Stiftung, für ihr bisheriges Werk und insbesondere für ihren Lyrikband Meine schönste Lengevitch (kookbooks 2013), erhalten. In der Begründung der Jury heißt es: „Ihre Annäherungen an das Fremde durch spielerische Reflexion sprachlich vermittelter Realität sind gelungene Beispiele für eine zukunftsweisende kosmopolitische Literatur.“

Während der Abendveranstaltung liest Wolf aus Meine schöne Lengevitch und diskutiert, inwiefern ihre literarische Praxis mit Themen der Übersetzung, Migration, des Sprachverlusts und der Sprachpolitik verknüpft ist. Das Gespräch wird sie mit ihrer Übersetzerin, der Lyrikerin und Wissenschaftlerin Sophie Seita führen, die für ihre Übersetzungen von Wolfs Texten 2014 den Wonder Book Prize und 2015 den Pen/Heim Award erhielt.

 
Uljana Wolf
, geboren 1979 in Berlin, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Brooklyn. Sie hat drei Gedichtbände veröffentlicht, kochanie ich habe brot gekauft (2005), falsche freunde (2009) und Meine schönste Lengevitch (2013), sowie den Essay Box Office (2010) und mit Christian Hawkey das Projekt Sonne From Ort (2012). Zu den englischsprachigen Lyrikern, die sie ins Deutsche übersetzt hat, zählen unter anderem Matthea Harvey, Erín Moure, John Asbery, Yoko Ono und Cole Swensen. Ihre eigenen Arbeiten sind in mehr als dreizehn Sprachen übersetzt worden. Sie erhielt eine Vielzahl an Preisen für ihre literarischen Werke und Übersetzungen, so zum Beispiel den Peter Huchel Preis und den Dresdner Lyrikpreis. Wolf unterrichtet Deutsch und literarisches Übersetzen an der New York University und dem Pratt Institute.
 
Sophie Seita ist die Autorin von Meat (Little Red Leaves, 2015), Fantasias in Counting (BlazeVOX Books, 2014), 12 Steps (Wide Range, 2012), und i mean i dislike that fate that i was made to where (Wonder, 2015, mit Uljana Wolf). Sie erhielt den Pen/Heim Award 2015, um Subsisters: Selected Poems von Uljana Wolf zu übersetzen (im Erscheinen bei Belladonna), sowie den John Kinsella und Tracy Ryan Poetry Prize und Stipendien und Fördergelder von Princeton, Yale, Columbia, Cambridge, der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes, DAAD, Queen Mary University of London und anderen. In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sie sich mit Avantgardemagazinen, experimentellen Autobiografien, der Tätigkeit von  kleinen Verlagen im Lyrikbereich und der Druckkultur seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Derzeit lebt Seita in New York. Im Oktober wird sie als Junior Research Fellow an das Queens College in Cambridge, England wechseln.
 

Zurück