Artist talk The Documentary Theater of Rimini Protokoll

Helgard Kim Haug and Imanuel Schipper © Stephanie Pilick/HKW

01/06/17
7:00pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Helgard Kim Haug and Imanuel Schipper © Stephanie Pilick/HKW

To mark the US premiere of Rimini Protokoll’s latest production, Top Secret International (State 1), at The Public Theater’s Under the Radar Festival on January 6, 2017, Helgard Kim Haug of Rimini Protokoll and Imanuel Schipper, dramaturge of the production, are in conversation with Gideon Lester, director of Bard College’s Theater and Performance Program.

The theater collective Rimini Protokoll is internationally known for its distinctive brand of documentary theater. By placing experts who share their personal stories and knowledge of subjects ranging from call-centers to international diplomacy at the center, their productions bring into focus the complex realities of modern society. In Top Secret International (State 1), an algorithmic-based interactive theater experience that will take place in the Egyptian Wing of the Brooklyn Museum, audience members will enter the global network of the intelligence community. During this evening event Haug and Schipper talk about the making of the piece, as well as other recent works by Rimini Protokoll.


Helgard Kim Haug studied applied theater science at the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Giessen, where she met Stefan Kaegi, and Daniel Wetzel. Since 2000 the trio has worked collaboratively under the label Rimini Protokoll, creating groundbreaking stage productions, sound and radio plays, films, and installations that deal with the theatrical elements of our reality, placing experts instead of actors at the center.
 
Imanuel Schipper is a dramaturge, theatre and performance studies scholar, and curator. He has collaborated with Rimini Protokoll on numerous productions since 2002, including World Climate Change Conference (2014) and World Premiere: The Visit (2007). He has also worked with William Forsythe and Jérôme Bel. Schipper lectures on dramaturgy and aesthetics at Universities in Germany, Switzerland, Denmark, and Norway.

Gideon Lester is Artistic Director for Theater and Dance at the Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts at Bard College, where he is also director of the undergraduate Theater and Performance Program. He is the co-curator of Crossing the Line, a transdisciplinary arts festival in New York City


Top Secret International (State 1) is a production by Rimini Protokoll and Münchner Kammerspiele, in co-production with the Goethe-Institut and Haus der Kulturen der Welt, with support from Melbourne Festival.

Top Secret International (State 1) is co-initiated by the Goethe-Institut as part of Sensitive Data, a long-term international project that aims to advance international, interdisciplinary, and theoretical discourse and artistic exploration on and around surveillance and data capitalism. The Goethe-Institut’s partners are Germany’s Federal Agency for Civic Education, Münchner Kammerspiele, and Bard College.

Top Secret International (State 1) is the first piece in Rimini Protokoll’s series, State 1–4, a cooperation between Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Münchner Kammerspiele, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Schauspielhaus Zürich, and Rimini Protokoll, in the context of the HKW long-term project “100 Years of Now”. Funded by Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.



 

Back

Künstlergespräch The Documentary Theater of Rimini Protokoll

Helgard Kim Haug und Imanuel Schipper © Stephanie Pilick/HKW

06.01.17
19:00 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Helgard Kim Haug und Imanuel Schipper © Stephanie Pilick/HKW

Im Rahmen der US- Premiere von Rimini Protokoll’s neuester Produktion, Top Secret International (State 1), beim Under the Radar Festival des Public Theater am 06. Januar 2017, sind Helgard Kim Haug von Rimini Protokoll und Imanuel Schipper, Dramaturg der Produktion, im Gespräch mit Gideon Lester, Direktor des Theater and Performance Program am Bard College.
 
Das Theaterkollektiv Rimini Protokoll ist international bekannt für sein dokumentarisches Theater. Indem sie Experten ins Zentrum stellen, die ihre persönlichen Geschichten und ihr Wissen über Themen, vom Call-Center bis hin zu internationaler Diplomatie, teilen, rücken sie mit ihren Produktionen die komplexen Realitäten moderner Gesellschaften in den Fokus. In Top Secret International (Staat 1), ein interaktives Theatererlebnis, das im ägyptischen Flügel des Brooklyn Museums stattfinden wird, tauchen die Zuschauer, gesteurt von einem intelligenten System, in die Welt internationaler Geheimdienste ein. Bei dieser Abendveranstaltung werden Haug und Schipper über die Entstehung dieses Stücks und andere aktuelle Arbeiten von Rimini Protokoll sprechen.

Helgard Kim Haug studied applied theater science at the Institut für Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Giessen, where she met Stefan Kaegi, and Daniel Wetzel. Since 2000 the trio has worked collaboratively under the label Rimini Protokoll, creating groundbreaking stage productions, sound and radio plays, films, and installations that deal with the theatrical elements of our reality, placing experts instead of actors at the center.
 
Helgard Kim Haug
hat Angewandte Theaterwissenschaft in Gießen studiert und am dortigen Institut für angewandte Theaterwissenschaft Stefan Kaegi und Daniel Wetzel kennengelernt. Seit 2000 arbeitet das Trio unter dem Label Rimini Protokoll gemeinsam an der Entstehung wegweisender Bühnenproduktionen, Hörspiele, Filme und Installationen, die sich mit den theatralen Elementen unserer Wirklichkeit beschäftigen und Experten anstelle von Schauspielern ins Zentrum rücken.

Imanuel Schipper ist Dramaturg, Theater- und Performancewissenschaftler und Kurator. Er hat seit 2002 an einer Vielzahl von Produktionen mit Rimini Protokoll gearbeitet, darunter Welt-Klimakonferenz (2014) und Uraufführung: Der Besuch der alten Dame (2007). Des Weiteren hat er mit William Forsythe und Jérôme Bel zusammen gearbeitet. Er unterrichtet Dramaturgie und Ästhetik an Universitäten in Deutschland, Dänemark, Norwegen und der Schweiz.

Gideon Lester ist künstlerischer Leiter für Theater und Tanz am Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts am Bard College, wo er auch die Leitung des Bachelor Studiengangs Theater and Performance innehat. Er ist Ko-Kurator von Crossing the Line, ein transdisziplinäres Kunstfestival in New York City.

Top Secret International (Staat 1) ist eine Produktion von Rimini Protokoll und den Münchner Kammerspielen, in Koproduktion mit dem Goethe-Institut, dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt und mit Unterstützung vom Melbourne Festival.

Top Secret International (State 1) wurde vom Goethe-Institut mitinitiiert, als Teil von Sensible Daten, einem internationalen Langzeitprojekt, das zum Ziel hat, den interdisziplinären und theoretischen Diskurs über und die künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit Überwachung und Datenkapitalismus weiterzuentwickeln.
Partner des Goethe-Instituts sind die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, die Münchner Kammerspiele und das Bard College.

Top Secret International (Staat 1) ist Teil der Produktionsserie Staat 1–4, einer Kooperation zwischen Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Münchner Kammerspiele, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Staatsschauspiel Dresden, Schauspielhaus Zürich und Rimini Protokoll im Rahmen des HKW-Langzeitprojekts 100 Jahre Gegenwart. Gefördert von der Beauftragten der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien.
 

Zurück