Panel Discussion Inside Translation | Outside Ourselves: Connecting Our Worlds

Inside Translation © Nina Subin, Sarah Shatz, Jenny McPhee, Ann Goldstein

03/24/18
2:00pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Festival Neue Literatur

Festival Neue Literatur’s signature translation event returns and tackles this year’s theme INSIDER | OUTSIDER. In 2015, former festival chairperson and celebrated author Monique Truong noted that, “when I think of how much smaller my world would be without literary translations, I am bereft.”

This year’s translation event, entitled “Inside Translation | Outside Ourselves: Connecting Our Worlds,” pays homage to works in translation that have enlarged our lives and countered literary, political, and cultural isolationism.

The panel, moderated by translator and Guggenheim Fellow Tess Lewis, is composed of three discussions, featuring Ann Goldstein, Yoko Tawada, Barbara Epler, Jenny McPhee, and John Wray, moderated by by translator and Guggenheim Fellow Tess Lewis.

Festival Neue Literatur (FNL) was established as a collaborative project of New York’s leading German-language cultural institutions: the Austrian Cultural Forum, the German Consulate General New York, the Consulate General of Switzerland, Deutsches Haus at Columbia University, Deutsches Haus at NYU, the Frankfurt Book Fair New York (formerly the German Book Office New York), the Goethe-Institut New York, and Pro Helvetia.


Tess Lewis translates from French and German into English and won the 2017 PEN Translation Prize for her translation of the novel Angel of Oblivion by Maja Haderlap. She was the Festival Neue Literatur curator in 2014-15. 
 
Yoko Tawada i
s a Japanese writer and translator living in Berlin. She writes in both Japanese in German and translates between these languages as well as into English.
 
Barbara Epler
is the President at New Directions Publishing, one of the premier publishers of translated work.
 
Ann Goldstein is an editor at The New Yorker and translates from Italian. She is known for translating Elena Ferrante’s Neapolitan Quartet, Primo Levy, and Jhumpa Lahiri, among others.
 
Jenny McPhee is the director of the Center of Applied Liberal Arts at NYU. She has written several novels, most recently A Man of No Moon, and translates from Italian. Her translated works include A Family Lexicon by Natalia Ginzburg and Zibaldone: The Notebooks of Leopardi.


Festival Neue Literatur 2018 is made possible through generous support of BMW of North America, Radeberger Pilsner, and the German Federal Foreign Office.

Back

Podiumsdiskussion Inside Translation | Outside Ourselves: Connecting Our Worlds

Inside Translation © Nina Subin, Sarah Shatz, Jenny McPhee, Ann Goldstein

24.03.18
14.00 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

Festival Neue Literatur

Die Übersetzungsveranstaltung des Festivals Neue Literatur widmet sich der diesjährigen Thematik INSIDER | OUTSIDER. 2015 bemerkte die Autorin und frühere Festivalleiterin Monique Truong: „Bei dem Gedanken an eine Welt ohne literarische Übersetzungen überkommt mich Wehmut.“
 
Die diesjährige Veranstaltung “Inside Translation | Outside Ourselves: Connecting Our Worlds” ist ein Hommage an Übersetzungen, die unsere Lebenswahrnehmung erweitert und sich mit literarischer, politischer und kultureller Isolation auseinandergesetzt haben.

Das Panel, bestehend aus zwei Gesprächen, wird moderiert von Übersetzerin und Guggenheim Fellow Tess Lewis. Zunächst spricht Yoko Tawada mit Barbara Epler und daraufhin Ann Goldstein mit Jenny McPhee.
 
Das Festival Neue Literatur (FNL) ist eine Gemeinschaftsproduktion der führenden deutschsprachigen Kulturinstitutionen in New York: Österreichisches Kulturforum, Generalkonsulat der Bundesrepublik Deutschland New York, Schweizerisches Generalkonsulat,  Pro Helvetia, Deutsches Haus der Columbia University, Deutsches Haus der NYU, Frankfurt Book Fair New York, Goethe-Institut New York.
 
Das Festival Neue Literatur 2018 wird ermöglicht durch die großzügige Unterstützung von BMW Nordamerika und Radeberger Pilsner.
 
 
Tess Lewis übersetzt vom Französischen und Deutschen ins Englische und erhielt den PEN Translation Prize 2017 für den Roman Angel of Oblivion von Maja Haderlap. Von 2014-2015 kuratierte sie das Festival Neue Literatur.
 
Yoko Tawada arbeitet als Schriftstellerin und Übersetzerin in Berlin. Die Japanerin schreibt auf Japanisch und Deutsch, übersetzt zudem zwischen beiden Sprachen, genauso wie ins Englische.
 
Barbara Epler
ist Geschäftsführerin von New Directions Publishing, weltweit führender Verlag für Übersetzungen.
 
Ann Goldstein
ist Redakteurin des New Yorker und übersetzt aus dem Italienischen. Bekanntheit erhielt sie für ihre Übersetzung von Elena Ferrantes Neapolitan Quartet, und der Werke von Primo Levy und Jhumpa Lahiri.
 
Jenny McPhee ist Leiterin des Center of Applied Liberal Arts der NYU. Sie übersetzt aus dem Italienischen und verfasste zahlreiche Romane, darunter ihr neuestes Werk A Man of No Moon. Zu ihren Übersetzungen zählen A Family Lexicon von Natalia Ginzburg und Zibaldone: The Notebooks of Leopardi.

Zurück