Reading International Comics Spotlight: Aisha Franz and Florent Ruppert

Aisha Franz (International Comics Spotlight) Aisha Franz

04/05/19
7:00pm

Desert Island

540 Metropolitan Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11211

Join internationally renowned cartoonists Aisha Franz and Florent Ruppert for a book signing and social at Desert Island Comics in Brooklyn.  Aisha Franz will present her third graphic novel Shit is Real (Drawn & Quarterly, 2018), which was recently nominated for an LA Times Book Prize. This event is on the eve of the 2019 MoCCA Arts Festival in New York (April 6-7), were Franz is a featured guest.

Aisha Franz is a Berlin-based comic book artist and illustrator. Her graphic novel Earthling was first published in Germany in 2011, followed by Brigitte (2012) and Shit Is Real (2016). Her short stories have been published in several anthologies such as KUŠ and as an illustrator she has worked for clients including the MIT Technology Review and the New York Times among others. In her free time she loves to travel to different graphics festivals with her self-published zines and is also co-running a collaboration project called CLUBHOUSE with Berlin-based publisher Colorama.

Florent Ruppert is one half of the acclaimed experimental French comics team Ruppert & Mulot, who began collaborating on projects as art students in Dijon, France. Their creative partnership has grown so organically as to obscure the individual contribution of the work of either hand. In 2007, their second book, Panier de singe, won the Revelation Prize at the Angoulême International Comics Festival. Their more recent work includes The Perineum Technique (Fantagraphics Books 2019).

This event received support from Books First, the Goethe-Institut’s new program for bringing literature in German to English-speaking readers.
 

Back

Lesung Internationale Comics im Rampenlicht: Aisha Franz und Florent Ruppert

Aisha Franz (International Comics Spotlight) Aisha Franz

05.04.19
19.00 Uhr

Desert Island

540 Metropolitan Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11211

Treffen Sie die international renommierten Cartoonisten Aisha Franz und Florent Ruppert bei einem abendlichen Zusammensein mit Signierstunde bei Desert Island Comics in Brooklyn.  Aisha Franz präsentiert ihr drittes Graphic Novel Shit is Real (Drawn & Quarterly, 2018), der kürzlich für den LA Times Book Prize nominiert wurde. Diese Veranstaltung findet am Vorabend des MoCCA Arts Festival 2019 in New York (7. bis 8. April) statt, bei dem Franz zu Gast ist.

Aisha Franz ist eine in Berlin lebende Comiczeichnerin und Illustratorin. Ihr Graphic Novel Earthling wurde 2011 erstmals in Deutschland veröffentlicht, gefolgt von Brigitte (2012) und Shit Is Real (2016). Ihre Kurzgeschichten wurden in mehreren Sammelbänden wie KUŠ veröffentlicht und als Illustratorin hat sie unter anderem für die MIT Technology Review und die New York Times gearbeitet. In ihrer Freizeit reist sie gerne mit ihren selbst veröffentlichten Zines zu verschiedenen Graphics-Festivals und betreibt mit dem Berliner Verlag Colorama das Kooperationsprojekt CLUBHOUSE.

Florent Ruppert ist die andere Hälfte des renommierten experimentellen französischen Comic-Teams Ruppert & Mulot, für das er als Kunststudent in Dijon, Frankreich, an Projekten mitarbeitete. Die kreative Partnerschaft ist so organisch gewachsen, dass der individuelle Beitrag an der Arbeit im Team nicht mehr auszumachen ist. Im Jahr 2007 gewannen Ruppert&Mulot für ihr zweites Buch, Panier de singe, den Revelation Prize beim Internationalen Comicfestival von Angoulême. Zu ihren neueren Arbeiten gehört The Perineum Technique (Fantagraphics Books 2019).

Unterstützt wurde diese Veranstaltung von Books First, dem neuen Programm des Goethe-Instituts zur Vermittlung deutschsprachiger Literatur ins Englische.


 

Zurück