Guest Performance Florentina Holzinger: Apollon

Apollon © Florentina Holzinger

02/22-23/20
7:30pm

NYU Skirball Center

566 LaGuardia Place
New York, NY 10012

In Apollon, the renegade choreographer Florentina Holzinger combines fin de siecle freak shows with 1960s live art, offering a new perspective on the rupture between high art and entertainment culture. Through this hilarious and furious destruction of a classical narrative, Holzinger addresses the myth of the "perfect woman," the artist herself. 

Five women tackle the neoliberalist cult of the body, jumping between the aesthetics of an occult-fitness studio and a cyborg bullfight, with a hint of Balanchine's neoclassical ballet quartet Apollon

The original ballet revolves around Apollo, the Greek god of music, who is visited by the three muses Terpsichore, Polyhymnia, and Calliope, and must choose a favorite between them. Holzinger removes the male Apollo from this equation, upending the male gaze and deconstructing a god. Performances that are simultaneously funny, dangerous, and disgusting interrogate female performance, male power, and the cultivation of the body.

Advisory: Apollon is appropriate for ages 18+

Florentina Holzinger resides and works in the Netherlands. Her work sits on the boundary between performance art, choreography, ritual and stunt show. She consciously plays with the shifting of boundaries between high culture and entertainment, exploring different modes of female representation and questioning the full potential of female physicality. Her collaboration with choreographer/performer Vincent Riebeek resulted in a trilogy of pieces: Kein Applaus für Scheisse, Spirit, and Wellness. In addition to this, she created Recovery, Apollon, and TANZ. As of 2021, Florentina will be an artist-in-residence at the Volksbühne Berlin. 

This project is supported by the Performing Arts Fund NL, General Delegation of the Government of Flanders to the USA , Goethe Institut in New York, as part of the Dutch Culture USA program by the Consulate General of the Netherlands in New York, and the Austrian Cultural Forum.

Back

Gastspiel Florentina Holzinger: Apollon

Apollon © Florentina Holzinger

22.-23.02.20
19.30 Uhr

NYU Skirball Center

566 LaGuardia Place
New York, NY 10012

In Apollon kombiniert die für ihre Kompromisslosigkeit bekannte Choreografin Florentina Holzinger Fin de siècle-Freak-Shows mit Live-Kunst der 1960er Jahre und bietet so eine neue Perspektive auf den Bruch zwischen hoher Kunst und Entertainment. Mit dieser aberwitzigen und furiosen Zerstörung einer klassischen Erzählung thematisiert Holzinger den Mythos der "perfekten Frau", der Künstlerin selbst. 

Fünf Frauen setzen sich mit dem neoliberalen Körperkult auseinander, springen zwischen der Ästhetik eines okkulten Fitness-Studios und einem Cyborg-Stierkampf, mit einem Hauch von George Balanchines neoklassischem Ballett-Quartett Apollon

Das ursprüngliche Ballett dreht sich um Apollon, den griechischen Gott der Musik, der von den drei Musen Terpsichore, Polyhymnia und Calliope ersucht wird und zwischen ihnen eine Favoritin wählen muss. Holzinger entfernt den männlichen Apollon aus dieser Gleichung, indem sie den männlichen Blick umkehrt und den Gott dekonstruiert. Aufführungen, die gleichzeitig lustig, gefährlich und ekelhaft sind, stellen weibliche Performance, männliche Macht und die Kultivierung des Körpers in Frage.

Hinweis: Apollon ist für Personen ab 18 Jahren geeignet.

Florentina Holzinger wohnt und arbeitet in den Niederlanden. Ihre Arbeit bewegt sich im Grenzbereich zwischen Performance-Kunst, Choreographie, Ritual und Stunt-Show. Sie spielt bewusst mit der Verschiebung von Grenzen zwischen Hochkultur und Unterhaltung, erforscht verschiedene Arten von weiblicher Repräsentation und hinterfragt das volle Potenzial von weiblicher Körperlichkeit. Aus ihrer Zusammenarbeit mit dem Choreographen/Performer Vincent Riebeek entstand eine Trilogie von Stücken: Kein Applaus für Scheisse, Spirit und Wellness. Darüber hinaus schuf sie Recovery, Apollon und TANZ. Ab 2021 wird Florentina als Artist-in-Residence an der Volksbühne Berlin tätig sein. 

Dieses Projekt wird vom Fonds für Darstellende Künste NL, der Generaldelegation der Regierung von Flandern in den USA und dem Goethe-Institut New York im Rahmen des Programms Niederländische Kultur USA des Generalkonsulats der Niederlande in New York und dem Österreichischen Kulturforum unterstützt.

Zurück