Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
1914 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
 
info-kansascity@goethe.de

Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 10AM to 6PM
Every First Friday: 10AM to 9PM

Follow us on:

Instagram Logo


Events


About

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City welcomes everyone to join us at our cultural event space in the Crossroads Arts District from October 2018 to November 2019, during the “Year of German-American Friendship.”

As part of the year-long “Wunderbar Together” program, we seek to promote cultural exchange between American and international artists. Through art exhibitions, music, dance, and theatre performances, film screenings and more, we hope to serve as a platform for this exchange of shared values and ideas. We invite all to visit our space where we will have German literature and newspapers available to read, children’s activities, language clubs, and other smaller events planned during weekdays. Come meet us and learn more about what we have planned for this next year, and the ways in which Germany and America can remain “Wunderbar Together!”


Director: Jutta Behnen Jutta Behnen
Jutta Behnen was born in Cologne, Germany. After graduating from Humboldt-University in Berlin she worked as a consultant and lecturer in German as a Foreign Language and Theatre in Germany (Berlin, Bonn) as well as in Belarus, Uzbekistan, France, England and the U.S. She has been living in Kansas City, Missouri since 2017 and is excited to be part of the Year of German-American Friendship for the Goethe-Institut. She wants the Pop Up to be an open space for exchanges between the German and American cultures in the heartland of the USA. 

Gabriel Freis Program Assistant: Gabriel Freis
Gabriel comes to us from Portland, Oregon. After majoring in English and Creative Writing at Portland State University, he continued living in the Pacific Northwest before relocating to Kansas City with an interest in the Midwest’s burgeoning art and music scene. With a background in content writing and customer service, he hopes to discover new perspectives and connect with both local and international artists in the Crossroads Arts District. He looks forward to exploring both the physical and cultural landscapes of his new home throughout the next year. 
 


Developed within the scope of

Logo Wunderbar Together Logo Federal Foreign Office Logo Goethe-Institut Logo BDI

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
1914 Main Street
Kansas City, MO 64108
 
info-kansascity@goethe.de


Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag bis Samstag: 12 bis 18 Uhr
Jeden First Friday: 12 bis 21 Uhr
Sowie bei Veranstaltungen


Folgen Sie uns auf:

Instagram Logo


Veranstaltungen


Was ist das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City?

Das Goethe Pop Up Kansas City öffnet seine Türen im Crossroads Arts District während des Deutschlandjahres in den USA von Oktober 2018 bis November 2019.

Wir wollen unter dem Motto „Wunderbar Together“ kulturelle Begegnungen und Austausch zwischen unseren Ländern fördern. Dafür organisieren wir regelmäßig Kulturveranstaltungen wie Musikkonzerte, Kunstausstellungen,Theatergastspiele, Lesungen und Filmabende. Sie können bei uns auch deutsch  sprechen, Ihre Kinder in einer deutschsprachigen Umgebung spielen lassen oder deutsche Zeitungen und Bücher lesen. Sie finden uns im Goethe Pop Up und immer wieder bei unseren Partnern in der Stadt. Freuen wir uns auf ein Jahr „Wunderbar Together“. 


Leitung: Jutta Behnen Jutta Behnen
Jutta Behnen kommt aus Köln in Deutschland. Nach ihrem Studium an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin arbeitete sie als Referentin und Dozentin für Deutsch als Fremdsprache und Theater in Deutschland (Berlin, Bonn) sowie in Belarus, Usbekistan, Frankreich, England und immer wieder in den USA. Seit 2017 lebt sie in Kansas City, Missouri. Für das Deutschlandjahr möchte sie hier im Heartland der USA einen offenen und experimentierfreudigen Raum gestalten, der zu kultureller Begegnung und Austausch einlädt.

Gabriel Freis Programmassistent: Gabriel Freis
Gabriel Freis kommt aus Portland, Oregon und machte seinen Abschluss in Englisch und Kreativem Schreiben an der Portland State University. Bevor er in den Mittleren Westen zog, arbeitete er als Texter für Social Media und in der Kundenbetreuung und kann diese Erfahrungen in seiner Arbeit als Programmassistent für das Goethe Pop Up im Crossroads Arts District einbringen. An Kansas City gefallen ihm besonders die aufblühende Kunst- und Musikszene und er freut sich darauf, im kommenden Jahr regelmäßig mit lokalen und internationalen Künstlern zusammen zu arbeiten. Gabriel verspricht sich ein Jahr reicher Erfahrungen im Goethe Pop Up und in seiner neuen Heimat.


Entstanden im Rahmen von

Logo Wunderbar Together Logo Auswärtiges Amt Logo Goethe-Institut Logo BDI

Top