Book Club Goethe Book Club: “A Whole Life” by Robert Seethaler

Robert Seethaler - A Whole Life © Picador Robert Seethaler - A Whole Life © Picador

Tue, 03/23/2021

Online

Meet to discuss works from contemporary German-speaking authors in our Goethe Book Club hosted by Chris Walker. Each selection can be read in its English translation or original German; the discussion will be in English. 
 
Book cover: Seethaler -  Ein ganzes Leben © Picador Robert Seethaler: A Whole Life (2014, translated 2017)

When Andreas Egger comes to the valley where he will spend his life, he is approximately four years old - no one knows for sure. He grows up to be a qualified farmhand and then joins the workforce as a young man building one of the first mountain railways, which brings electricity and the resulting light and noise to the valley. Then comes the day when Egger first finds Marie, the love of his life, who he will lose again. Only many years later, when Egger starts his last journey, is she with him again. And he, for whom much time has passed, looks at the years that lie behind him in awe. A simple and deeply moving story.
 
Robert Seethaler, born 1966 in Vienna, is an award-winning writer and scriptwriter. His novels The Tobacconist (2012), A Whole Life (2014), and Das Feld (2018, “The Field” – not yet translated) have achieved great international success. Seethaler lives in Vienna and Berlin.

 
Please RSVP to receive access to the online event. Simply send an email to info-kansascity@goethe.de and we will send you the Zoom access code.

Back

Buchclub Goethe Book Club: „Ein ganzes Leben” von Robert Seethaler

Robert Seethaler - A Whole Life © Picador Robert Seethaler - A Whole Life © Picador

Di, 23.03.2021

Online

Besuchen Sie unseren Goethe Book Club, in dem wir unter Leitung von Chris Walker Werke deutschsprachiger Autor*innen diskutieren. Die Bücher können im deutschen Original oder in der englischen Übersetzung gelesen werden; die Diskussion findet auf Englisch statt. 
 
 
Buchumschlag: Seethaler -  Ein ganzes Leben © Picador Robert Seethaler: Ein ganzes Leben (2014, übersetzt 2017)

Als Andreas Egger in das Tal kommt, in dem er sein Leben verbringen wird, ist er vier Jahre alt, ungefähr - so genau weiß das keiner. Er wächst zu einem gestandenen Hilfsknecht heran und schließt sich als junger Mann einem Arbeitstrupp an, der eine der ersten Bergbahnen baut und mit der Elektrizität auch das Licht und den Lärm in das Tal bringt. Dann kommt der Tag, an dem Egger zum ersten Mal vor Marie steht, der Liebe seines Lebens, die er jedoch wieder verlieren wird. Erst viele Jahre später, als Egger seinen letzten Weg antritt, ist sie noch einmal bei ihm. Und er, über den die Zeit längst hinweggegangen ist, blickt mit Staunen auf die Jahre, die hinter ihm liegen. Eine einfache und tief bewegende Geschichte.
 
Robert Seethaler, 1966 in Wien geboren, ist ein vielfach ausgezeichneter Schriftsteller und Drehbuchautor. Seine Romane Der Trafikant (2012), Ein ganzes Leben (2014) und Das Feld (2018) wurden zu großen internationalen Publikumserfolgen. Robert Seethaler lebt in Wien und Berlin.
 
 
Bitte melden Sie sich an, um Zugang zu dieser Online-Veranstaltung zu erhalten. Senden Sie einfach eine E-Mail an  info-kansascity@goethe.de und wir schicken Ihnen den Zoom-Zugangscode zu. 

 
 

Zurück