Film German Cinema 101: Metropolis

Metropolis © Kino Lorber © Kino Lorber

Mon, 05/13/2019

Landmark's West End Cinema

2301 M Street Northwest
Washington, DC 20037

As a part of a year-long project Wunderbar: A Celebration of German Film, the Goethe-Institut Washington has selected twelve iconic films that trace the richness of German film history. Together with Landmark's West End Cinema, we present German Cinema 101, a series that guides viewers through this history, paired with expert-led discussions.

Not able to make it to the cinema? No worries! You can also stream this film and 48 films in total (see link at right).

METROPOLIS

An introduction to the film will be provided by Dr. Peter Pfeiffer, Professor of German and Director of the European Studies Certificate Program at Georgetown University. A discussion will follow the screening.

Weimar Republic (Germany), 1927, 148 min., Director: Fritz Lang, Screenplay: Thea von Harbou and Fritz Lang

A sprawling city lies at the heart of legendary director Fritz Lang’s vision of 2027: one where the wealthy cruise around in flying automobiles, languish in towering penthouses, and cavort in lush gardens far above the ground. Meanwhile, far below, the denizens of the dismal workers’ city struggle to survive every day. Unrest between the disillusioned working class and society’s elite reaches its breaking point when Freder, the son of the city’s richest and most powerful man, becomes aware of the inhumane conditions under which the working class must exist.

As he falls in love with Maria, who preaches to the workers about a better world in which the “head” and “hands” of the city live side-by-side, Freder is determined to become the “heart” that brings these two groups together. What he is not prepared for is the chaos that this mission will unleash. Will he manage to unite these two opposing forces, or will the city fall to ruin?

A silent film with a sweeping score, Metropolis was one of the first science-fiction films in cinema. Its futuristic aesthetic continues to inspire countless filmmakers and artists, as do its powerful messages about the importance of mutual respect and understanding among people.

Fritz Lang is perhaps one of the most well-known German names among film enthusiasts across the world. Born in Vienna, Lang grew up in Austria and fought for the Austro-Hungarian Empire in World War I. His ensuing recovery from multiple injuries and struggle with PTSD led to him spending a great deal of time sketching out plots for films he would later write and direct. In his early career, Lang worked at the German film studio UFA and later at Nero-Film, contributing a number of Expressionist films to the growing artistic movement.

In 1920, he met Thea von Harbou, a writer who would become Lang’s wife and creative partner for over a decade. Harbou wrote the novel upon which Metropolis was based, as well as the screenplay. His 1931 film, M, was his first sound film, and its disturbing subject matter and portrayal of criminal investigation proceedings indelibly influenced the thriller genre. When the Nazis rose to power, propaganda minister Joseph Goebbels asked Lang to be the head of UFA Studios. However, Lang ardently opposed the Nazis, and in 1933 he fled to Paris and later the United States – his wife, who was a member of the Nazi Party, remained in Germay and the couple divorced. In Hollywood, Lang enjoyed a long career before slowly going blind and consequently retiring. In 1976, he passed away in Beverly Hills.
Buy Tickets Are you currently enrolled in a German course at the Goethe-Institut Washington? If so, pick up your free ticket from the front desk today!
 

This event is part of the German Cinema 101 film series. German Cinema 101 is part of the project Wunderbar: A Celebration of German Film. From Beloved Sisters to A Coffee in Berlin and Young Goethe in Love, from The Blue Angel to The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari — we are celebrating German-American friendship with our partner Kanopy by bringing 48 German films to your screens. Goethe-Instituts and Goethe Pop-Ups across the U.S. will take part in the celebration by showing films, organizing film festivals, and inviting German filmmakers to speak.
 


Back

Film German Cinema 101: Metropolis

Metropolis © Kino Lorber © Kino Lorber

Mo, 13.05.2019

Landmark's West End Cinema

2301 M Street Northwest
Washington, DC 20037

Im Rahmen des einjährigen Projekts Wunderbar: A Celebration of German Film hat das Goethe-Institut Washington zwölf Ikonen des deutschen Films ausgewählt, die den Reichtum der deutschen Filmgeschichte aufzeigen. Zusammen mit Landmark's West End Cinema präsentieren wir German Cinema 101, eine Reihe, die die Zuschauer*innen gepaart mit fachkundigen Diskussionen durch diese Geschichte führen.

Sie schaffen es nicht ins Kino? Keine Sorge! Sie können diesen Film und insgesamt 48 weitere Filme auch streamen. Siehe den Link auf der rechten Seite.

METROPOLIS

Dr. Peter Pfeiffer, Professor der Germanistik und Leiter des European Studies Certificate Programs an der Georgetown University, wird vor dem Film eine Einführung geben. Im Anschluss an das Screening folgt eine Diskussion.

Weimarer Republik (Deutschland), 1927, 148 Min., Regie: Fritz Lang, Drehbuch: Thea von Harbou und Fritz Lang

Schauplatz der Vision von 2027, die sich der legendäre Regisseur Fritz Lang erdachte, bildet eine weitläufige Stadt: Eine, in der die Reichen sich mit fliegenden Autos fortbewegen, in hoch aufragenden Penthäusern residieren und sich in üppigen Gärten weit über dem Boden tummeln. In der Zwischenzeit, weit unten, kämpfen die Bewohner der trostlosen Arbeiterstadt jeden Tag ums Überleben. Die Unruhe zwischen der desillusionierten Arbeiterklasse und der Elite der Gesellschaft erreicht ihren Höhepunkt, als Freder, der Sohn des reichsten und mächtigsten Mannes der Stadt, sich den unmenschlichen Bedingungen, unter denen die Arbeiterklasse existieren muss, bewusst wird.

Als er sich in Maria verliebt, die den Arbeitern von einer besseren Welt predigt, in der "Kopf" und "Hände" der Stadt nebeneinander leben, ist Freder entschlossen, das "Herz" zu werden, das diese beiden Gruppen zusammenbringt. Worauf er nicht vorbereitet ist, ist das Chaos, das diese Mission entfesseln wird. Wird es ihm gelingen, diese beiden gegensätzlichen Kräfte zu vereinen, oder wird die Stadt zu Grunde gehen?

Metropolis ist ein Stummfilm mit einer mitreißenden Filmmusik und war einer der ersten Science-Fiction-Filme im Kino. Seine futuristische Ästhetik inspiriert nach wie vor unzählige Filmemacher und Künstler, ebenso wie seine kraftvollen Botschaften über die Bedeutung von gegenseitigem Respekt und Verständnis unter den Menschen.

Fritz Lang ist vielleicht einer der bekanntesten deutschen Namen bei Filmfans auf der ganzen Welt. Der gebürtige Wiener wuchs in Österreich auf und kämpfte im Ersten Weltkrieg für das Österreichisch-Ungarische Reich. Seine lange Genesung nach mehrfachen Verletzungen und der Kampf mit Posttraumatischen Belastungsstörungen (PTBS) führte dazu, dass er viel Zeit damit verbrachte, Plots für Filme zu entwerfen, die er später schreiben und inszenieren würde. In seiner frühen Karriere arbeitete Lang beim deutschen Filmstudio UFA und später bei Nero-Film und trug eine Reihe expressionistischer Filme zur wachsenden Expressionismus-Bewegung bei.

1920 lernte er Thea von Harbou kennen, eine Schriftstellerin, die über ein Jahrzehnt lang seine Frau und kreative Partnerin werden sollte. Harbou schrieb den Roman auf dem Metropolis basiert, sowie das Drehbuch. Langs Film von 1931, M, war sein erster Tonfilm, dessen beunruhigende Thematik und die Darstellung von Strafermittlungsverfahren das Thriller-Genre nachhaltig beeinflussten. Als die Nazis an die Macht kamen, bat Propagandaminister Joseph Goebbels Lang, Leiter der UFA-Studios zu werden. Lang widersetzte sich den Nazis jedoch heftig, und floh 1933 nach Paris und später in die Vereinigten Staaten – seine Frau, die Mitglied der NSDAP war, blieb in Deutschland und das Paar ließ sich scheiden. In Hollywood genoss er eine lange Karriere, bevor er langsam blind wurde und in der Folge in den Ruhestand ging. 1976 starb er in Beverly Hills.
Tickets kaufen Sie machen gerade einen Sprachkurs am Goethe-Institut Washington? Holen Sie sich Ihr kostenloses Ticket am Frontdesk ab!
 

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil der Filmreihe German Cinema 101. German Cinema 101 ist Teil des Projekts Wunderbar: Deutsche Filme Feiern. Von den Geliebten Schwestern zu Oh Boy und Goethe!, vom Blauen Engel ins Cabinet des Dr. Caligari – wir feiern die deutsch-amerikanische Freundschaft und bringen gemeinsam mit unserem Partner Kanopy 48 deutsche Filme auf Ihre Bildschirme. Die Goethe-Institute und Goethe Pop Ups in den USA feiern den deutschen Film überdies mit Filmreihen und in Festivals und laden deutsche Filmemacher zum Gespräch ein.
 


Zurück