International German Olympics A global student competition

A global student competition

Ready, steady, go! Every two years, youngsters from all over the world come together in a German city to show their skills in German language and culture. 2014 the event was in Frankfurt/Main and Vietnam participated for the very first time!
The principle is simple: After national qualifying rounds, each country sends two pupils and one accompanying teacher to the global finals in Germany. While the students compete, the teachers have the opportunity to participate in workshops and educational training.
 
The national qualifying rounds in Vietnam had two phases: Commencing with a state-of-the-art online test, the first phase took place online 23 March 2014 at the media center of the Hanoi University. The students were invited to show their skills in the field of reading and listening comprehension, additionally excellent knowledge of vocabulary and grammar were required to pass the test successfully.
 
The best twelve language athletes continued in the second round, the Vietnam finals 6 April 2014 at Goethe-Institute Hanoi. Apart from skills in German language and culture, the pupils also showed their team spirit and creativity by doing group presentations about Germany among other activities. In the end, the jury had the difficult task to choose the best of the best.
 
International German Olympics 2 The two winners, Dang Mai Phuong und Vu Hoang Lan, got to participate in the global finals in Frankfurt/Main from 3 to 16 August 2014. Third winner was Nguyen Cao Hong, he can look forward to a German course worth 3.000.000 VND at Goethe-Institut Hanoi. But no participant went home empty-handed, great gifts such as backpacks, USB-sticks, dictionaries and T-Shirt waited for all finalists.

The Vietnamese Association of German Teachers (VDLV) in cooperation with Goethe-Institute Vietnam supported by Coordinating Agency for German Schools Abroad (ZfA) and sponsored by Hanoi University were the organizers and hosts of this unique event.

Internationale Deutscholympiade Ein weltweiter Schülerwettbewerb

A global student competition

Auf die Plätze, fertig, los! Alle zwei Jahre kommen Jugendliche aus aller Welt in einer deutschen Stadt zusammen, um ihre Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache und Kultur in einem internationalen Wettbewerb unter Beweis zu stellen. 2014 fand das internationale Finale in Frankfurt/Main statt und Vietnam war zum ersten Mal dabei!

Das Prinzip der Internationalen Deutscholympiade ist einfach: Nach nationalen Qualifizierungsrunden schickt jedes teilnehmende Land zwei Schüler/innen und eine begleitende Lehrkraft zum internationalen Finale nach Deutschland. Während die Jugendlichen ihr Können in der deutschen Sprache beweisen, nehmen die Lehrer/innen an einer Fortbildung teil.
 
Erste Station für die vietnamesischen Schüler/innen war die nationale Vorrunde am 23. März 2014. Hier stellten sie ihre Deutschkenntnisse in einem zeitgemäßen Onlinetest im Multimedia-Zentrum der Hanoi Universität unter Beweis; gefragt waren neben Lese- und Hörverstehen, Wortschatz- und Grammatikkenntnisse.
 
Für die besten Zwölf ging es am 6. April 2014 weiter in die nationale Finalrunde im Goethe-Institut Hanoi. Neben guten Sprachkenntnissen kam es hier vor allem auf Kreativität und Teamfähigkeit an, denn auf dem Programm standen die Erstellung einer Wandzeitung und Gruppenpräsentationen. Alle Finalist/innen waren hochmotiviert dabei und so hatte die Jury die Qual der Wahl die Besten unter den Besten auszuwählen.
 
Internationale Deutscholympiade 2 Als Gewinnerinnen fuhren Dang Mai Phuong und Vu Hoang Lan vom 3.-16. August 2014 zum internationalen Finale nach Frankfurt am Main. Der dritte Preis, ein Intensivkurs am Goethe-Institut Hanoi im Wert von 3.000.000 VND, ging an Nguyen Cao Hong Phuc. Aber auch die anderen Finalist/innen gingen nicht leer aus, auf sie warteten tolle Preise – u.a. Rucksäcke, USB-Sticks, Wörterbücher und T-Shirts.

Veranstalter der Deutscholympiade in Vietnam war der Vietnamesische Deutschlehrerverband (VDLV) in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut Vietnam unter Beteiligung der Zentralstelle für Auslandsschulwesen sowie der freundlichen Unterstützung der Hanoi Universität.