Exhibition Opening GUTE AUSSICHTEN - NEW GERMAN PHOTOGRAPHY 2017/2018

GUTE AUSSICHTEN 737x320 Photo: Julian Slagman - Vergissmeinnicht, www.guteaussichten.org

Wed, 28.03.2018

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

On the Edge of the Rainbow: Speaking about Images with Images

“And as much as I’d like to believe there’s a truth beyond illusion, I’ve come to believe that there’s no truth beyond illusion. Because, between ‘reality’ on the one hand, and the point where the mind strikes reality, there’s a middle zone, a rainbow edge where beauty comes into being, where two very different surfaces mingle and blur to provide what life does not: and this is the space where all art exists, and all magic. And—I would argue as well—all love.”

Donna Tartt

The Goldfinch (Boston: Little, Brown and Company, 2013), 863.

 
For the first time in Vietnam, the Goethe-Institut Hanoi presents the exhibition “gute aussichten – new german photography” with 53 excellent works of 8 prize winners in the most prestigious competition for young photographers in Germany 2017/2018.

Through eight stories behind all these images, an exciting journey with unforgettable experiences "on the edge of the rainbow" is promised for those who share their love for photography. A Japanese woman who lives in Germany re-constructs the stories of Japanese and German families; a collector of images whose family originally came from Holland describes photography as a member of his family; the son of Portuguese parents who was born in Germany examines Portugal by following his childhood memories “from the back seat.” A photographer who was born in rural Germany sets out in search of the future; an artist who was born in Uzbekistan but has been based in Germany since she was twenty focuses on Germans whose parents are immigrants and who do not appear to be “German.” An alchemist reveals the magical world of an everyday object in her dark room; a young man looks for images to express the unspeakable; a young woman shows us how constructed our reality is in an almost painful way.

These photographers have one thing in common: the key to their worlds of images lies solely in our imagination. In other words, it is far away from our supposed reality, thus opening our senses to the unknown.

At the opening, two renowned German photographers will be present: Rebecca Simpson and Jewgeni Roppel. They will introduce into the exhibition "Gute Aussichten".

Rebecca Sampson © Rebecca Sampson Rebecca Sampson (*1984), the winner of gute Aussichten – New German Photography 2011 and gute Aussichten Deluxe 2017, studied photography in Berlin at the Fotoschule Schiffbauerdamm and the Ostkreuzschule for Photography & Design. Since 2009 her photos have been are exhibited in Europe, India, Mexico and the USA.

Jewgeni Roppel © Jewgeni Roppel Jewgeni Roppel (*1983), the winner of gute Aussichten – New German Photography 2015 and 2016, studied visual communication in Hildesheim and graphic design at the University of Wiscosin, Stout in the US[EW1] . He hoilds two Master degress, from Burg Giebichenstein Halle and the University of Bielefeld.Since 2009 his works have been exhibited in 65 solo and group exhibitions in Asia, Europe, the Mideast, the US. Roppel contributes to several magazines, such as Die Zeit, Der Spiegel, Camera Austria etc
 [EW1]Ort ? oder unI.
 

ABOUT THE PROJECT “GUTE AUSSICHTEN – NEW GERMAN PHOTOGRAPHY” 

gute aussichten – new german photography is a project set up in 2004 by Josefine Raab and Stefan Becht as a private initiative in support of talented young photographers. The annual competition is the core activity of the project to showcase the final portfolios submitted to all German universities, universities of applied sciences and academies offering a photography degree course. A maximum of five projects per institution are eligible for entry to the competition. The winners, who are selected by a jury of well-known experts, can look forward to a public launch in a wide range of exhibitions, promotional campaigns and media. During the twelve years since the launch, the activities have been constantly expanded. According to SPIEGEL magazine, gute aussichten is “Germany’s most renowned competition for young photographers”.
 

THE PRIZE WINNERS 2017/2018  

 

Back

Ausstellungseröffnung GUTE AUSSICHTEN – JUNGE DEUTSCHE FOTOGRAFIE 2017/2018

GUTE AUSSICHTEN 737x320 Foto: Julian Slagman - Vergissmeinnicht, www.guteaussichten.org

Mi, 28.03.2018

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Am Rand des Regenbogens: Mit Bildern über Bilder sprechen

Und so gern ich an eine Wahrheit jenseits der Illusion glauben würde, glaube ich doch inzwischen, dass es sie nicht gibt. Denn zwischen der „Realität“ auf der einen Seite und dem Punkt, an dem der Geist die Realität trifft, gibt es eine mittlere Zone, einen Regenbogenrand, wo die Schönheit ins Dasein kommt, wo zwei sehr unterschiedliche Oberflächen sich mischen und verwischen und bereitstellen, was das Leben nicht bietet: und das ist der Raum, in dem alle Kunst existiert und alle Magie. Und - das würde ich noch behaupten – alle Liebe.“

Donna Tartt

„Der Distelfink“. Ins Deutsche übertragen von Rainer Schmidt und Kristian Lutze. 1. Auflage. München 2013, S. 1021.


Das Goethe-Institut Hanoi präsentiert erstmals in Vietnam die Ausstellung des renommierten deutschen Nachwuchsförderpreises „gute aussichten – junge deutsche fotografie“ mit den 53 ausgezeichneten Werken der 8 Preisträger im Wettbewerb 2017/2018.

Durch acht Geschichten hinter all diesen Bildern haben alle Liebhaber der Fotografie die Möglichkeit, eine aufregende Reise „an den Rändern des Regenbogens“ mit den unvergesslichen Erlebnissen zu machen. Eine Japanerin, die in Deutschland lebt, rekonstruiert japanische und deutsche Familiengeschichten; ein Bildersammler, dessen Familie aus Holland stammt, erklärt Fotografie zu einem Familienmitglied; ein in Deutschland geborener Sohn portugiesischer Eltern beleuchtet Portugal, indem er seinen Kindheitserinnerungen "vom Rücksitz" aus folgt. Ein Fotograf, gebürtig in der deutschen Provinz, begibt sich auf die Spur der Zukunft; eine in Usbekistan geborene Bildfinderin setzt Deutsche mit Migrationshintergrund in Szene, die im Auge der Betrachter nicht "Deutsch" sind. Eine Alchimistin der "dunklen Kammer" öffnet die Tür zur magischen Welt eines alltäglichen Gegenstands; ein junger Mann sucht Bilder für das Unaussprechliche; eine junge Frau führt uns die Konstruktion unserer Wirklichkeiten fast schmerzhaft vor Augen.

Allen gemeinsam ist, dass der Schlüssel zu ihren Bildräumen in unserer Vorstellung liegt. Also jenseits einer vermeintlichen Realität, dort, wo wir unsere Sinne öffnen für das, was wir nicht kennen und nicht wissen.

Zur Eröffnung sind zwei herausragende deutsche Fotografen anwesend: Rebecca Sampson und Jewgeni Roppel. Sie führen in die Ausstellung ein.

Rebecca Sampson © Rebecca Sampson Rebecca Sampson (*1984), Gewinnerin von gute Aussichten – Junge deutsche Fotografie 2011 und von gute Aussichten Deluxe 2017, hat in Berlin Fotografie an der Fotoschule am Schiffbauerdamm und an der Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie und Design studiert. Seit 2009 bis heute wurden ihre Fotos in 24 Ausstellungen in Europa, Indien, Mexico und den USA gezeigt.

Jewgeni Roppel © Jewgeni Roppel Jewgeni Roppel (*1983), Gewinner von gute Aussichten – Junge deutsche Fotografie 2015 und 2016, hat visuelle Kommunikation in Hildesheim und Grafik & Design an der University of Wiscosin, Stout in den USA studiert. Nach seinem Master an der Burg Giebichenstein in Halle schloss er ein zweites Masterstudium in Fotografie und Bildmedien an der Fachhochschule Bielefeld ab. Seit 2009 hat er an 65 Solo- und Gruppenausstellungen in Asien, Europa, dem Nahen Osten und den USA teilgenommen. Roppel kooperiert mit zahlreichen Magazinen und Zeitungen, darunter: Die Zeit, Der Spiegel.
 

ÜBER DAS PROJEKT „GUTE AUSSICHTEN – JUNGE DEUTSCHE FOTOGRAFIE“ 

gute aussichten – junge deutsche fotografie wurde 2004 von Josefine Raab und Stefan Becht gegründet. Jedes Jahr wurden die Professoren aller deutschen Hochschulen und Akademien, die einen Studiengang Fotografie anbieten, dazu eingeladen, uns maximal fünf ihrer Abschlussarbeiten zu schicken. Eine namhaft besetzte Jury kürt aus den Einsendungen die besten Portfolios, die anschließend national und international in verschiedenen Ausstellungen, Aktionen und Medien der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt werden. In den letzten 12 Jahren wurden die Aktivitäten beständig ausgeweitet. Laut dem Magazin „Der Spiegel“ ist gute aussichten „der renommierteste Wettbewerb für junge Fotografen“ in Deutschland.
 

PREISTRÄGER 2017/2018 

 

Zurück