Film screening The recycling lie

HAN 29.09.2022 The recycling lie © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Thu, 29.09.2022

19:30

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Registration for the film

Under the slogan #ITSTIMETOACT- A NATURE FILM FESTIVAL! the first eco film festival will be held from September 23 to October 07, 2022. It is part of the international activities of Climate Week 2022. Tackling the climate crisis is the major challenge of the 21st century. The festival is initiated by the Spanish Embassy of Hanoi in collaboration with European and Latin American Embassies. NGO "WILDACT" helps to publicize and attract audiences. The hybrid festival can be attended online and at the Goethe-Institut and Casa Italia.

"The Recycling lie" will be the German contribution to the Nature Film Festival. The film "The Recycling lie" by Tom Costello and Benedikt Wermter sheds light on an industry that profits from the plastic pollution crisis instead of solving it. Packaging is increasingly being labeled "100% recyclable" to give us a clear conscience. But what happens to our plastic waste after we throw it away? The answer to this question is appalling since only 9% of plastic packaging is recycled1. This raises concerns that recycling is merely greenwashing.

The authors track down garbage brokers who illegally dump plastic waste abroad, industries that make money from burning garbage, and mafia networks that make as much money from garbage smuggling as they do from human trafficking. Corporations that assure consumers that plastic waste is recyclable disguise the truth that plastic waste is not a valuable resource, but an expensive problem. The fact that 300 million tons of plastic (a plastic chain that would stretch three times around the globe) are produced each year2 emphasizes both the growing global problem of plastic waste and the relevance of this documentary.

Back

Filmvorführung Die Recycling Lüge

HAN 29.09.2022 Die Recycling Lüge © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Do, 29.09.2022

19:30

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Anmeldung für den Film

Unter dem Motto #ITSTIMETOACT– A NATURE FILMFESTIVAL! findet das ERSTE Ökofilmfestival in Vietnam statt: vom 23. September bis 07. Oktober 2022. Es ist ein Beitrag zur internationalen Klimawoche 2022. Die Bewältigung der Klimakrise ist die Hauptaufgabe des 21. Jahrhunderts. Zur Sensibilisierung für das Thema und seine Dringlichkeit hat die spanische Botschaft zusammen mit Botschaften der Europäischen Union und Lateinamerikas diese Filmfestival initiiert. Bei der Umsetzung kooperiert die NGO “WILDACT”. Die Filme können online und im Goethe-Institut und der Casa Italia besucht werden.

„Die Recycling Lüge” ist der deutsche Beitrag. Der Film von Tom Costello und Benedikt Wermter beleuchtet eine Industrie, die von der Plastikverschmutzungskrise mehr profitiert, als sie zu lösen. Auf immer mehr Verpackungen steht "100 % recycelbar" und beschert uns ein gutes Gewissen.  Aber was passiert wirklich mit unserem Plastikmüll, wenn wir ihn weggeworfen haben? Die Antwort auf diese Frage entsetzt, denn nur 9% der Plastik-Verpackungen werden recycelt[1]. Dies wirft die Befürchtung auf, dass Recycling lediglich Greenwashing ist.

Die Autoren kommen Müllmaklern auf die Spur, die Plastikmüll illegal im Ausland abladen, Industrien, die mit der Müllverbrennung Geld verdienen, und Mafia-Netzwerken, die mit dem Müllschmuggel inzwischen genauso viel verdienen wie mit dem Menschenhandel. Konzerne, die den Konsumenten versichern, dass Plastikmüll recycelbar ist, verschleiern die Wahrheit, dass Plastikmüll keine wertvolle Ressource ist, sondern ein teures Problem. Die Tatsache, dass jedes Jahr 300 Millionen Tonnen Plastik (eine Plastikkette, die dreimal um die Erde reichen würde) produziert werden [2], unterstreicht zum einen, dass Plastikmüll weltweit zu einem zunehmenden Problem wird, und zum anderen die Relevanz dieses Dokumentarfilms.

Zurück