Concert Blind Signal GRMN _ VTNM

Blind Signal VTNM - GRMN © www.blindsignalberlin.com

21. - 22.09.2019, 7 PM

Cooperation between Vietnamese and German sound artists in Hanoi will be continued this autumn in Berlin.

The first phase of the BLIND SIGNAL VTNM - GRMN project took place in April. Six musicians from Berlin and Hanoi came together for a week at the Goethe-Institut. These were Antye Grey-Ripatti aka AGF alias Poemproducer, Julius Holtz, Hương DonNa, Lương Huệ Trinh, Linh Hà and Gil Delindro. The program was initiated and organized by the Belgian-Vietnamese residency program "undecided productions".

The musicians explored the diversity of the tonal spectrum and sonic collaborations and offered public workshops and live shows. After a research phase, they presented the results of their collaboration at three concerts.

The project will enter the second project phase in September, supported by the Musikfonds e.V. In addition to the artists who worked together in Hanoi, Audrey Chen, Els Vandeweyer, Erik K. Skodvin and Sabine Ercklentz from the Berlin music scene will join.
It is going to be a week full of learning new sounds, rehearsing together, playing and at the same time preserving the uniqueness of their own sound art. The nine artists are promoting immersive group listening experiences fully stimulate by noise, silence, frequency, transmission, performativities of media objects, resonance and acoustics, while remaining sensitive to the individual complexities and poetics of each identities.

On Friday and Saturday, September 20 and 21, the artists will be presenting their work in the Kleine Wasserspeicher.

About Blind Signal

An artist exchange project composed of performances, sound installations and live-acts where the audience takes part in a new audiovisual and sound journey. This project is evolutionary and open to the artistic diversity of the musicians involved in the creative process. Time, space, acoustics and geography are the key elements.

The main goal of this project is to offer a bridge linking Berlin-based and Vietnamese sound artists in order to create a mutually beneficial exchange for artist and audience. Offering the participant artists not only the possibility to perform in different contexts, but above all the possibility to collaborate with artists from different backgrounds. We understand that project location has an undeniable impact on creation and this residency will offer sound artists an atypical space where their artistic compositions can reach wider public and creative dimensions, This project aims to develop connections between Vietnam and Germany, hoping that interesting new collaborations might emerge and continue beyond this specific event. by producing several live events where international German-based artists can collaborate with Vietnamese artists, giving all the opportunity to create rich new works.

sound artists

Hương DonNa
is lecturer in the Department of Musical Instruments at the National College of Art Education. Graduated from Music Education at National University of Art Education in 2013, jazz major at the Vietnam National Academy of Music in 2014 and master degree in Cultural Management at the National University of Art Education in 2016. In 2012, she achieved outstanding achievements in scientific research at National University of Art Education. In addition, she also studied courses at DomDom - The Hub For Experimental Music & Art, guided by artists Henrik Frisk, Stefan Östersjö and Trần Kim Ngọc.

During her artistic practice, she always tested the combination of objects in an extremely realistic way, combined traditional instruments with electronic divisions to tell her story.
 
Luong Hue Trinh
After studying in Vietnam National Academy of Music from 1998-2010, Luong Hue Trinh graduated her Bachelor with honors in Jazz Keyboard. In 2003, she was granted as Exceptional Student by the Yamaha Music Foundation, Japan. In 2010, she began to work in Electroacoustic music, and finally it became her main focus. She continued her work in this field under the guidance of Vietnamese composer Nguyen Xuan Son (SonX) and strongly influenced by his music. She participated shortly in DomDom – The Hub for Experimental Music & Art, Hanoi. From 2015-18, she has been awarded a full DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) scholarship for program “New Technique in Composition”, then Master program in Multimedia Composition with mentor Prof. Dr. Georg Hajdu and Composition with Prof. Elmar Lampson at the Hochschule für Musik & Theater Hamburg , Germany.
 www.luonghuetrinh.com

Linh Ha
uses her voice, various percussive instruments, and a looper to create layered soundscapes. Incorporating elements from traditional Vietnamese vocal techniques, personal lyrical content and myriad influences - from pop to avant-garde to techno - her music ranges from dense, lush harmonies to sampled sizzling noise to gently ebbing hopeful lullabies. Her work has primarily occurred in the live realm and she has collaborated with numerous artists, both Vietnamese and foreign, who have lived, worked, or traveled through her hometown of Hanoi. More recently her work has found new support from different organizations such as FAMLAB (funded by British Council), Phu Sa Lab and VCCA. These opportunities allow her to expand not only the reach of her music but also to take in new music and other art from different cultures, bringing new inspiration and fresh energy.
 www.facebook.com/linhhafornow
 www.facebook.com/tinyhanoigiant

Antye Greie-Ripatti
(aka AGF, aka poemproducer) is a vocalist, digital songwriter, producer, performer, e- poet, calligrapher, digital, media artist and curator. She is known for artistic exploration of digital technology through the deconstruction of language and communication.
                             
She has lead workshop and groups shows in Europe and the US. She has a subtle way of bringing in contemporary questions of cultural and political relevance into her work and into her interaction with other artists and the audiences.
 www.poemproducer.com
 
Erik K Skodvin
currently lives and works in Berlin after a long period in Oslo.

He works freelance as graphic designer (miasmah design), mostly for record labels, artists and within music business. He also makes music himself under the aliases svarte greiner & deaf center + runs the record label miasmah.
 miasmah.com
 
Els Vandeweyer
is a Belgian vibraphonist, percussionist, and composer currently living in Berlin. After studying classical percussion in Antwerp and jazz vibraphone in Brussels and Oslo, Els co-founded the IMI Kollektief, whose critically acclaimed album Snug as a Gun was released on Clean Feed in 2006. Today, Els plays regularly in Berlin, including solo performance, group improvisation, and contemporary music (including a performance of Xenakis’s Rebonds b at the A L'ARME! Festival in Berlin).
 www.elsvandeweyer.com
 
Sabine Erckelentz
lives and works as a composer, musician and performer in Berlin. She first studied law at the FU Berlin, later trumpet / popular music at the Academy of Music Hanns-Eisler. Her works are often located in the musical border areas and beyond fixed genre boundaries. In addition to the usage of extended playing techniques on the trumpet, she often uses live electronics in her concert performances. In doing so, "the music-making body on stage", "the interaction between performer and the media" as well as "the interconnection of the performers with each other" are frequently recurring themes.
 
Audrey Chen
is a 2nd generation Chinese/Taiwanese-American musician. She turned to the cello at age 8 and voice at 11. After years of classical and conservatory training in both instruments, with a resulting specialization in early and new music, in 2003 she begins new negotiations with sound in order to discover a more individually honest aesthetic.

Since then, using the cello, voice and occasional analog electronics, Chen’s work delves deeply into her own version of narrative and non-linear storytelling. A large component of her music is improvised and her approach to this is extremely personal and visceral. Her playing explores the combination and layering of the homemade analog synthesizer, preparations and traditional and extended techniques in both the voice and cello. She works to join these elements into a singular ecstatic personal language.
 www.audreychen.com
 
Julius Holtz
is sound artist and composer, inhabiting the intersection of club culture, sound art and film score. Through recontextualization of various formats and media, Holtz develops new fields of artistic experiments. Breaking new ground within the field of electronic music, he employs cutting edge technologies and creates 3D-sound installations. His portfolio contains music for ensembles, fine artists and choreographers. His works are internationally being presented at prestigious festivals and institutions such as Centro de Cultura Digital (Vakuum, Mexico City, 2014), Hamburger Bahnhof (Moriba lIlumine, Berlin 2017) Martin-Gropius-Bau (Cloud Seeding, Berlin 2018).
 juliusholtz.de

Curator

Emilie Beffara
is musical & cultural producer in the fields of sound art and electronic music. She is co-founder of Blind Signal, which is a series of experimental, electroacoustic and contemporary music events in the beautiful space of the former church Galiläakirche, Berlin. Blind Signal facilitates artists’ performances inside this special venue, with its unique acoustic qualities. The church embraces two temporalities, architecture from early 20th century and a stage and surround sound system made for sound art.

 

Back

Konzert Blind Signal GRMN _ VTNM

Blind Signal VTNM - GRMN © www.blindsignalberlin.com

21. - 22.09.2019, 19 Uhr

Zusammenarbeit zwischen vietnamesischen und deutschen Klangkünstler*innen in Hanoi findet im Herbst in Berlin ihre Fortsetzung.

Im April fand die erste Phase des Projekts BLIND SIGNAL VTNM – GRMN statt. Sechs Musiker*innen aus Berlin und Hanoi kamen für eine Woche am Goethe-Institut zusammen. Das waren Antye Greie-Ripatti aka AGF aka Poemproducer, Julius Holtz, Hương DonNa, Lương Huệ Trinh, Linh Hà und Gil Delindro. Das Programm wurde von dem belgisch-vietnamesischen Residenzprogramm „undecided productions“ initiiert und organisiert.
 
Die Musikerinnen erkundeten die Vielfalt des klanglichen Spektrums und klanglicher Zusammenarbeiten und boten öffentliche Workshops und Liveshows an. Nach einer Recherchephase präsentierten sie bei drei Konzerten die Ergebnisse ihrer Zusammenarbeit.

Das Projekt findet im September seine Fortsetzung. Der Musikfonds e.V. Berlin fördert diese zweite Projektphase. Neben den Künstler*innen, die in Hanoi zusammen waren, kommen Audrey Chen, Els Vandeweyer, Erik K Skodvin und Sabine Ercklentz aus der Berliner Musikszene dazu.

Sie alle werden eine Woche neue Klangerfahrungen erarbeiten, zusammen proben, sich aufeinander einspielen und gleichzeitig die Einzigartigkeit der eigenen Klangkunst bewahren. Die neun Künstler*innen stehen für ein ganzheitliches Hören ein, das stimuliert wird durch Geräusche, Frequenzen, den performativen Charakter von Medienobjekten, ohne dabei die Komplexität und die Poetik der Körper aus den Augen zu verlieren.

Am Freitag und Samstag, 20. und 21. September, werden die Künstler*innen ihre Arbeiten im Kleinen Wasserspeicher präsentieren.

Über Blind Signal

Ein Künstler*innenaustausch als Projekt, bestehend aus Performances, Soundinstallationen und Liveacts, bei denen das Publikum sich auf eine neuartige audiovisuelle und akustische Reise begibt. Dieses Projekt ist evolutionär und bietet Raum für die künstlerische Diversität der Musiker*innen, die an diesem Prozess beteiligt sind. Die Schlüsselelemente heißen Zeit, Raum, Akustik und Geografie.

Mit diesem Projekt soll eine Brücke zwischen in Berlin lebenden und vietnamesischen Klangkünstler*innen geschaffen werden, von der Musiker*innen und Publikum gleichermaßen profitieren. Die teilnehmenden Künstler*innen bekommen nicht nur die Möglichkeiten in verschiedenen Kontexten zu performen, sondern auch mit Künstler*innen mit unterschiedlicher Herkunft zusammen zu arbeiten. Der Projektort besitzt einen großen Einfluss auf das kreative Schaffen. Diese Künstler*innenresidenz bietet den Musiker*innen eine ungewöhnliche Umgebung an, in der die kunstvollen Kompositionen sich stärker kreativ entfalten und eine größere Reichweite beim Publikum erreichen können. Dieses Projekt möchte eine Verbindung zwischen Vietnam und Deutschland entwickeln und darüber hinaus mehrere Liveevents veranstalten, bei denen internationale, in Deutschland lebende Künstler*innen mit vietnamesischen kooperieren können – und für alle die Möglichkeit geschaffen wird, interessante und üppige neue Arbeiten zu kreieren.

Klangkünstler*innen

Hương DonNa
ist Dozentin in der Abteilung für Musikinstrumente am National College of Art Education. 2013 Abschluss in Musikpädagogik an der Nationalen Universität für Kunsterziehung, 2014 den Schwerpunkt Jazz an der Nationalen Musikakademie in Vietnam und 2016 den Master in Kulturmanagement an der Nationalen Universität für Kunsterziehung. 2012 erzielte sie herausragende Leistungen in der wissenschaftlichen Forschung an der National University of Art Education. Darüber hinaus studierte sie Kurse bei DomDom - The Hub For Experimental Music & Art unter der Leitung der Künstler Henrik Frisk, Stefan Östersjö und Trần Kim Ngọc.

Während ihrer künstlerischen Praxis testete sie die Kombination von Objekten immer auf äußerst realistische Weise und kombinierte traditionelle Instrumente mit elektronischen Einteilungen, um ihre Geschichte zu erzählen.
 
Luong Hue Trinh
Nachdem Luong Hue Trinh von 1998 bis 2010 an der Nationalen Musikakademie in Vietnam studiert hatte, schloss sie ihren Bachelor mit Auszeichnung in Jazz-Keyboard ab. 2003 wurde sie von der Yamaha Music Foundation, Japan, als Ausnahmestudentin ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2010 begann sie, sich mit elektroakustischer Musik zu beschäftigen, welches schließlich ihr Hauptaugenmerk wurde. Sie setzte ihre Arbeit auf diesem Gebiet unter der Leitung des vietnamesischen Komponisten Nguyen Xuan Son (SonX) fort und war stark von seiner Musik beeinflusst. Sie nahm in Kürze an DomDom - The Hub for Experimental Music & Art in Hanoi teil. Von 2015-18 erhielt sie ein Vollstipendium des DAAD (Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst) für das Programm „Neue Technik in der Komposition“, an dem sie das Masterstudium Multimedia-Komposition bei Mentor Prof. Dr. Georg Hajdu und Komposition bei Prof. Elmar Lampson am die Hochschule für Musik & Theater Hamburg anschloss.
 www.luonghuetrinh.com

Linh Ha
verwendet ihre Stimme, verschiedene Schlaginstrumente und einen Looper, um überlagernde Klanglandschaften zu kreieren. Unter Einbeziehung von Elementen traditioneller vietnamesischer Gesangstechniken, persönlichen lyrischen Inhalten und unzähligen Einflüssen - von Pop über Avantgarde bis hin zu Techno - reicht ihre Musik von dichten, üppigen Harmonien über gesampelten, knisternden Geräuschen bis hin zu leisen, hoffnungsvollen Wiegenliedern. Ihre Arbeit fand hauptsächlich im Live-Bereich statt und sie hat mit zahlreichen vietnamesischen und ausländischen Künstlern zusammengearbeitet, die in ihrer Heimatstadt Hanoi gelebt, gearbeitet oder gereist sind. In jüngerer Zeit fand ihre Arbeit neue Unterstützung von verschiedenen Organisationen wie FAMLAB (finanziert vom British Council), Phu Sa Lab und VCCA. Diese Möglichkeiten ermöglichen es ihr, nicht nur die Reichweite ihrer Musik zu verggrößern, sondern auch neue Musik und andere Kunst aus verschiedenen Kulturen aufzunehmen, um neue Inspiration und frische Energie zu bringen.
 www.facebook.com/linhhafornow
 www.facebook.com/tinyhanoigiant

Antye Greie-Ripatti
(alias AGF, alias Poemproducer) singt, schreibt Songs, produziert, performt, auf der Bühne im elektronischen Medien auf vielfältigste Weisen. Sie ist bekannt für ihre künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit digitaler Technologie durch Dekonstruktion von Sprache und Kommunikation.
 
Sie hat Workshops und Gruppenausstellungen in Europa und den USA geleitet. Sie bringt auf subtile Weise, aktuelle Fragen des kulturellen und politischen Horizonts in ihre Arbeit ein und in ihren Umgang mit anderen Künstlern und dem Publikum.
 www.poemproducer.com
 
Erik K Skodvin
lebt Berlin nach einem längeren Aufenthalt in Oslo. Er arbeitet als freischaffender Grafikdesigner, größtenteils für Recordlabels, Künstler*innen und in der Musikszene. Unter den Namen svarte greiner & deaf center produziert er selbst Musik mit seinem Recordlabel miasmah recordings.
 miasmah.com
 
Els Vandeweyer
ist Vibraphonistin, Perkussionistin und Komponistin. Sie ist in Belgien aufgewachsen und lebt in Berlin. Nach dem Studium der klassischen Perkussion in Antwerpen, Jazz in Brüssel und Oslo, gehört Vandeweyer zu den Gründern des IMI Kollektief. Mit dem Album „Snug as a Gun“, das auf Clean Feed (2006) veröffentlicht wurde, war sie sehr erfolgreich. Die Künstlerin entwickelt Solo-Performances und ist ebenso an Gruppenimprovisationen und in Ensembles der Zeitgenössischen Musik beteiligt.
 www.elsvandeweyer.com
 
Sabine Erckelentz
lebt und arbeitet als Komponistin, Musikerin und Performerin in Berlin. Sie studierte zunächst Jura an der FU Berlin, später Trompete/Popularmusik an der Hochschule für Musik Hanns-Eisler. Ihre Arbeiten bewegen sich häufig in musikalischen Grenzbereichen und über feste Genregrenzen hinweg. Neben dem Einsatz von erweiterten Spieltechniken auf der Trompete verwendet sie häufig Live-Elektronik bei ihren Konzertperformances. Dabei sind „der musizierende Körper auf der Bühne“, „die Interaktion von Performerin und Medien“ sowie „die Vernetzung der Performern untereinander“ häufig wiederkehrende Themen.
 
Audrey Chen
ist eine chinesisch / taiwanesisch-amerikanische Musikerin der zweiten Generation. Sie wandte sich mit 8 Jahren dem Cello zu und mit 11 dem Gesang. Nach jahrelanger klassischer und konservatorischer Ausbildung mit der daraus resultierenden Spezialisierung auf frühe und neue Musik begab sie sich 2003 auf einen neuen Weg, um sich neu mit Klang auseinanderzusetzen, um eine individuellere und wahrere Ästhetik zu entdecken.
 
Seitdem vertieft sich Chens Arbeit mit Cello, Stimme und gelegentlicher analoger Elektronik tief in ihre eigene Version von narrativem und nichtlinearem Storytelling. Ein großer Teil ihrer Musik ist improvisiert und ihre Herangehensweise ist äußerst persönlich und viszeral. In ihren Arbeiten untersucht sie die Kombination und Schichtung des hausgemachten analogen Synthesizers, der Vorbereitungen und traditioneller und erweiterter Techniken sowohl in der Stimme als auch im Cello. Sie arbeitet daran, diese Elemente zu einer einzigartigen ekstatischen persönlichen Sprache zusammenzufügen.
 www.audreychen.com
 
Julius Holtz
ist Klangkünstler und Komponist und verbindet Clubkultur, Klangkunst und Filmmusik. Durch Rekontextualisierung verschiedener Formate und Medien begibt sich Holtz auf neue Felder künstlerischer Experimente. In der elektronischen Musik verwendet er neueste Technologien und erstellt u.a. 3D-Sound-Installationen. Sein Portfolio umfasst Musik für Ensembles, bildende Künstler und Choreographen. Seine Werke werden international auf renommierten Festivals und Institutionen wie dem Centro de Cultura Digital (Vakuum, Mexico City, 2014), dem Hamburger Bahnhof (Moriba lIlumine, Berlin 2017) und dem Martin-Gropius-Bau (Cloud Seeding, Berlin 2018) präsentiert.
 juliusholtz.de

Kuratorin

Emilie Beffara
ist Musik- und Kulturproduzentin für Klangkunst und elektronische Musik. Sie hat Blind Signal mitbegründet, eine Reihe experimenteller, elektroakustischer und zeitgenössischer Musikveranstaltungen im Gebäude der ehemaligen Kirche Galiläakirche. Blind Signal ermöglicht Künstlern die Aufführungen von Klangarbeiten in diesem besonderen Ortes mit seinen einzigartigen akustischen Qualitäten. Die Kirche bietet architektonisch einen Raum aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert und modernste Tontechnik von heute. Künstler kombinieren die natürlichen Resonanzen der Kirche mit dem Surround-Sound-Setup und der intimen kirchlichen Atmosphäre.

 

Zurück