Exhibition "A Girl Named K..." An exhibition by Franca Bartholomäi

A GIRL NAMED K © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Exhibition is closed on 16., 17. and 19.10.2019
and opened again on 18., 20. and 25 – 27.10.2019

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Inspired by Vietnamese national epic Truyện Kiều - The Girl Kiều, artist Franca Bartholomäi created a wall installation of woodcuts and papercuts that offers a whole new view on the time-honored epic.

Exhibition is closed on 16, 17 and 19.10.2019 due to internal events and open again on 18, 20 and 25 – 27.10.2019

Kiều’s name is deliberately abbreviated in the exhibition title, A Girl Named K, since Franca Bartholomäi’s mission was not to create a faithful illustration of Nguyễn Du’s book Truyện Kiều – The Girl Kiều. Instead, she incorporated her own point of view. The woodcuts and papercuts are no renditions of Truyện Kiều, but rather bear Franca Bartholomäi’s own signature: Her metaphorically charged arrangements wed Nguyễn Du’s material and poetic imagery with Bartholomäi’s own associations and reflections on the subject.
In her cuts, Franca Bartholomäi works with her notion of Kiều as well as the overarching themes of the great lyrical epic, from shame, guilt, and humiliation to dignity and hope and a quest for warmth, security, and love.
 
Franca Bartholomäi’s black and white art exudes as sense of calm, a counterpole to the frantic pace of events in Truyện Kiều as well as to our own everyday lives. Her art invites us to ponder and muse, and perhaps discover a new aspect of Kiều’s story.
 
 
Franca Bartholomäi (* 1975)
has been working as a freelance artist since 2003. Her specialties include woodcuts, merging modern approaches with revered medieval craftsmanship. Having studied painting and graphic design at Burg Giebichenstein in Halle, she has been teaching graphic design since 2010. She won numerous scholarships and was awarded the Landeskunstpreis Sachsen-Anhalt in 2013. Bartholomäi’s patrons include the art collection at the German Bundestag, the State of Saxony-Anhalt, and the Public Library New York.
 

Back

Ausstellung „Das Mädchen K...“ Ausstellung von Franca Bartholomäi

DAS MÄDCHEN K © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Ausstellung ist am 16., 17. und 19.10.2019 geschlossen
und eröffnet wieder am 18., 20. und 25 – 27.10.2019.

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Angeregt von der Lektüre des vietnamesischen Nationalepos‘ Truyện Kiều - Das Mädchen Kiều – hat die Künstlerin Franca Bartholomäi eine Wandinstallation mit Holz- und Papierschnitten erschaffen, die dazu einladen, die Geschichte mit anderen Augen zu sehen.

Ausstellung ist am 16, 17 und 19.10.2019 wegen interner Veranstaltungen geschlossen und eröffnet wieder am 18, 20 und 25 – 27.10.2019.

Im Titel ihrer Ausstellung Das Mädchen K wird Kiềus Name nicht ausgeschrieben, und das bewusst. Franca Bartholomäi hat keine Illustrationen zu Nguyễn Dus Buch Truyện Kiều - Das Mädchen Kiều - angefertigt, sondern ihre eigene Sichtweise einfließen lassen. Die Holz- und Scherenschnitte sind keine Nachbildungen von Truyện Kiều, sondern tragen Franca Bartholomäis Handschrift: In ihren metaphorisch aufgeladenen Arrangements kommen sowohl Nguyễn Dus Stoff und bildhafte Lyrik als auch Bartholomäis Assoziationen und Reflektionen zusammen. 
 
In ihren Schnitten finden sich Franca Bartholomäis Auseinandersetzungen mit dem Mädchen Kiều und den Themen des großen lyrischen Epos wie Scham, Schuld, Erniedrigung, Würde und Hoffnung, Suche nach Wärme, Geborgenheit und Liebe.
 
Mit ihren schwarz-weißen Werken schafft Franca Bartholomäi einen Ruhepol, einen Ausgleich zu den hektischen Geschehnissen in Truyện Kiều und auch unserem Alltag. Sie laden dazu ein, weiterzudenken, darin zu schwelgen und vielleicht auch was Neues in Kiềus Geschichte zu entdecken.
 
 
Franca Bartholomäi (* 1975)
ist seit 2003 als freischaffende Künstlerin tätig. Zu ihrem Spezialgebiet zählt unter anderem der Holzschnitt, in dem sich traditionelles, typisch mittelalterliches Kunsthandwerk und die Gegenwart verbinden. Nach ihrem Studium von Malerei und Grafik an der Burg Giebichenstein in Halle ist sie ebenda seit 2010 Lehrbeauftragte im Fachgebiet Grafik. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Stipendien und bekam 2013 den Landeskunstpreis Sachsen-Anhalt. Zu Bartholomäis Ankäufern zählen u.a. die Kunstsammlung des Deutschen Bundestages, das Land Sachsen-Anhalt und die Public Library New York.

Zurück