Fashion show Miên (in the long view)

MIEN © Vu Thao

Mon., 26.10.2020, 8 pm.

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str.
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Latest fashion collection by KILOMET109

Concept, design and production: Thảo Vũ and Kilomet 109
Music: Trí Minh

Miên (in the long view) is the latest collection from eco fashion label KILOMET109. Building upon the previous collections Phiêu (Unburdened) and Hạt (Seed), Miên continues the journey of eco textile experimentation and innovation that defines their work. With this collection, Kilomet109 has expanded the geographical area and the number of artisan communities with whom they collaborate, moving beyond the remote mountainous villages of North West Vietnam to now also include artisans and techniques from the Central Highlands and the Mekong Delta.
 
The collection includes many traditional Vietnamese textile techniques that have been modernized and reimagined through a process of rigorous experimentation. Natural fibers, botanical dyes, and ancient textile approaches are molded and blended, mixed and matched, to make new and beautiful fabrics, all while maintaining the integrity of classical craftsmanship.  For instance, traditional indigo dyeing is mixed with modern digital printing to create a dreamy blue color composition on silk crepe; ebony fruit dye is used in combination with other indigenous plant dyes and an array of natural fabrics to create exciting new shades of color, which both differ and compliment traditional black lacquer silk. 
 
Equally intriguing are the number of new and inventive clothing designs in this collection. Each piece tells its own unique story. The clothes are functional but also playful and flattering, appropriate for work or a night out on the town. The garment structures, silhouettes and handcrafted design details contained in each piece complement and enhance the natural elegance of the textiles.
 
Miên is inspired by contrasts between the fashion culture of both East and West. This is exemplified through the simplicity of Vietnamese traditional dress structure combined with the rigor of modern Western costume. A few examples include: a relaxed and playful H’mong men’s shirt meshed with a vintage European uniform; baggy peasant pants and natty western trouser s are interplayed; the details of handmade hooks are used in combination with an elegantly draped gown.
 
Thao Vu

Vũ Thảo © Vũ Thảo
a fashion designer by training and also a practicing textile artist, is the founder and Design Director of Kilomet109, a sustainable fashion brand from Hanoi. Her art and design work, focuses on sustainable textile practices in contemporary Vietnam. It has been exhibited around the world in prominent international art and design shows, university symposiums, and featured across multiple media channels.
 

Tri Minh

Tri Minh © Nguyễn Minh Sơn Composer, pianist, electronic musician, DJ instructor, music producer and festival director
Trí Minh began his career as a performing artist in the early 1990s and has been experimenting with electronic music both as a soloist and in collaborations with international performing artists in Vietnam and Europe since the late 1990s.
 
In the mid and late 2000s, Tri Minh started sampling his own recordings and sounds, mixing in and performing with various constellations of traditional and later also classical Vietnamese artists. In recent years, Tri Minh has also been composing for documentary and short films.

Kilomet109 was founded in 2012 as a fashion label and social enterprise that blends contemporary design with traditional Vietnamese craftsmanship. Their work uses design innovation as a means of raising public awareness about at risk rural minority communities in Vietnam, and supporting the preservation of craft villages.
Kilomet109 collaborates with communities of indigenous artisan women, representing different ethnic minority groups throughout Vietnam.  Their collaboration aims to create eco-friendly textiles and dyes that are incorporated into Kilomet109’s collections and art installations. 

Back

Modenschau Miên (langfristig)

MIEN © Vu Thao

Mo., 26.10.2020, 20 Uhr

Goethe-Institut Hanoi

56-58-60 Nguyen-Thai-Hoc-Str
Ba Dinh
Hanoi

Neue Kollektion von KILOMET109

Konzept, Design und Produktion: Thao Vu und Kilomet108
Musik: Tri Minh

Miên (langfristig)ist die neueste Kollektion des Öko-Modelabels KILOMET109. Aufbauend auf den früheren Kollektionen Phiêu (Unbelastet) und Hạt (Samen) setzt Miên das Experimentieren und den innovativen Umgang mit Öko-Textilien fort. Mit dieser Kollektion hat Kilomet109 das geografische Gebiet und die Anzahl der Handwerkergemeinschaften, mit denen sie zusammenarbeitet über die abgelegenen Bergdörfer im Nordwesten Vietnams hinaus erweitert und Handarbeiter und Techniken aus dem zentralen Hochland und dem Mekong-Delta mit aufgenommen.
 
Die Kollektion umfasst traditionelle vietnamesische Textiltechniken, die durch nach verschiedenen Erprobungen modernisiert und neu interpretiert wurden. Naturfasern, botanische Farbstoffe und alte textile Ansätze werden geformt, gemischt, und aufeinander abgestimmt, um neue und schöne Stoffe herzustellen, wobei die Integrität der klassischen Handwerkskunst erhalten bleibt. Zum Beispiel wird traditionelles Indigofärben mit modernem Digitaldruck verbunden, um eine verträumte blaue Farbkomposition auf Seidenkrepp zu erzeugen. Ebenholz-Fruchtfarbstoffe werden mit anderen einheimischen Pflanzenfarbstoffen und einer Reihe natürlicher Stoffe verbunden, um neue aufregende Farbtöne zu erzeugen, die sich von traditioneller schwarzer Lackseide unterscheiden und diese ergänzen.
 
Ebenso faszinierend ist die Anzahl neuer und einfallsreicher Kleidungsdesigns in dieser Kollektion. Jedes Stück erzählt seine eigene Geschichte. Die Kleidung ist funktional, aber auch verspielt und schmeichelhaft, geeignet sowohl für die Arbeit als auch für einen Abend in der Stadt. Die in jedem Stück enthaltenen Kleidungsstrukturen, Silhouetten und handgefertigten Designdetails ergänzen und verstärken die natürliche Eleganz der Textilien.
 
Miên ist inspiriert von Kontrasten zwischen der Modekultur von Ost und West. Dies wird durch die Einfachheit der traditionellen vietnamesischen Kleidungsstruktur in Kombination mit der Strenge moderner westlicher Kostüme veranschaulicht. Einige Beispiele sind: ein entspanntes und verspieltes H'mong-Herrenhemd mit einer europäischen Vintage-Uniform; weite Bauernhosen und schicke Westernhosen spielen zusammen; Die Details handgefertigter Haken werden in Kombination mit einem elegant drapierten Kleid verwendet.

Thao Vu

Vũ Thảo © Vũ Thảo ist Modedesignerin und praktizierender Textilkünstler. Sie hat Kilomet109 als nachhaltige Modemarke gegründet und ist ihr Design Director. Ihre Kunst- und Designarbeiten, die sich auf nachhaltigen Textilpraktiken im zeitgenössischen Vietnam basieren, wurden international in bedeutenden Kunst- und Designshows, bei Universitätssymposien und in mehreren Medienkanälen vorgestellt.
 

Tri Minh

Tri Minh © Nguyễn Minh Sơn Komponist, Pianist, E- Musiker, DJ-Lehrer, Musikproduzent und Leiter vom Musikfestival
Tri Minh begann seine Karriere als darstellender Künstler in den frühen 1990er und experimentiert seit Ende der 1990er sowohl als Solist als auch in Zusammenarbeit mit internationalen darstellenden Künstlern in Vietnam und Europa im Bereich elektronischer Musik.

Mitte und Ende der 2000er Jahre begann Tri Minh seine eigenen Aufnahmen und Sounds als Sample zu verwenden und in verschiedenen Konstellationen mit traditionellen und klassischen vietnamesischen Musikern zu kombinieren. In den letzten Jahren komponiert er für Dokumentar- und Kurzfilme.

Kilomet109 wurde 2012 als Modelabel und soziales Unternehmen gegründet. Es verbindet zeitgenössisches Design mit traditioneller vietnamesischer Handwerkskunst. Designinnovationen werden genutzt, um die Öffentlichkeit für gefährdete ländliche Minderheiten in Vietnam zu sensibilisieren und den Erhalt von Handwerksdörfern zu unterstützen.
Kilomet109 arbeitet mit Gemeinschaften indigener Handwerkerinnen aus verschiedenen ethnischen Minderheiten Vietnams. Die Zusammenarbeit zielt darauf ab, umweltfreundliche Textilien und Farbstoffe zu schaffen, die in die Kollektionen und Kunstinstallationen von Kilomet109 integriert sind.

Zurück