Winter Paralympics 2018 When division unites

Marla Stukenberg is Director of the Goethe-Institut Korea. She is responsible for the East Asian region
Marla Stukenberg is Director of the Goethe-Institut Korea. She is responsible for the East Asian region | Photo: Goethe-Institut Korea / Ozak

This year's Winter Paralympics are being held in Pyeongchang, South Korea. Marla Stukenberg is the director of the Goethe-Institut in Korea and talks about cooperation projects of the institute, especially about the cooperation with the Paralympics Zeitung.

Ms Stukenberg, the Goethe-Institut Korea was founded in 1968, and ever since has been committed to mediating between the Korean and German cultures. Is there something particularly similar about Germany and Korea?

Of course, division and reunification is an important shared issue. Despite all our differences, there is a great deal of interest in Korea in Germany’s experiences during and after reunification. In addition to many other aspects, both countries also have a shared enthusiasm for music.

Projects in a divided land

You announced that project work in North Korea since 2004 has been a crucial step towards the Goethe-Institut working in both parts of Korea. At the moment the situation is still very tense. What successes have there been? 

For a few years, a reading room in Pyongyang allowed people to have access to books and magazines from Germany. The Munich Chamber Orchestra was in North Korea for concerts and workshops. Paper restoration workshops were also held with German experts to preserve historically valuable manuscripts from the common history of the divided country. A selection of German films were subtitled in Korean and shown at festivals. Going forward, we hope that the current political situation will ease so that we can actively re-establish our cultural bridges to North Korea.

This year, the Goethe-Institut Korea is a project partner of the Paralympics Zeitung and is ensuring that there will also be a Korean edition in cooperation with the Korean newspaper Hankyoreh. What are your goals and wishes for this partnership?

Disabled sports and issues such as inclusion, participation and independent and self-determined lives for people with disabilities play a socially subordinate role in South Korea. There was not much interest in the 2018 Paralympics held in their own country. Against this background, the Goethe-Institut Korea considered the publication of a Korean edition of the Paralympics Zeitung an opportunity to give disabled sports in Korea more publicity while at the same time promoting journalistic exchange between Germany and Korea. We are very pleased that the Korean edition will be released on 16 March.  

Inclusion through sport

A lot is done in Germany to promote inclusion as well as disabled and rehabilitation sports. Inclusion is a social mission that can be conveyed through sport and culture. Is the same true in Korea?

In Germany, inclusion is also still a work in progress and it’s no different in Korea. The Goethe-Institut will certainly continue to be involved in this field. In 2017, for example, we supported the participation of Berlin’s Thikwa Theater in the Korea International Accessible Dance Festival, which was launched in 2016 by the South Korean Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism in cooperation with embassies and cultural organisations from various countries. The Korean Paralympics motivate us to continue working in this field.

Can the Paralympic Games sustainably improve the situation and increase support by the public and the business world for people with disabilities in South Korea?

We hope that the Paralympics will positively impact society’s image of people with disabilities and their potentials in Korea and worldwide. It remains to be seen whether they will lead to lasting improvements. But the current mood in society, especially under the new government, is certainly a good sign.

The interview was conducted by Jisu Yon, 20, junior reporter at the Paralympics newspaper.

An un-edited version of the interview was published in the Tagesspiegel on 2nd March 2018.

Paralympics 2018 Wenn Teilung vereint

Marla Stukenberg, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in Korea
Marla Stukenberg, Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts in Korea | Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea / Ozak

Dieses Jahr finden die Winter Paralympics im südkoreanischen Pyeongchang statt. Marla Stukenberg leitet das Goethe-Institut in Korea und spricht im Interview über Kooperationsprojekte des Instituts, insbesondere über die Zusammenarbeit mit der Paralympics Zeitung.

Frau Stukenberg, das Goethe-Institut Korea wurde 1968 begründet, seitdem setzt es sich für die Vermittlung zwischen der koreanischen und deutschen Kultur ein. Gibt es etwas, worin sich Deutschland und Korea besonders ähnlich sind?

Ein wichtiges gemeinsames Thema ist natürlich das Thema Teilung und Wiedervereinigung. Trotz aller Unterschiede herrscht in Korea ein großes Interesse an den deutschen Erfahrungen während und nach der Wiedervereinigung. Neben vielen anderen Aspekten verbindet beide Länder insbesondere auch die Begeisterung für Musik.

projekte im geteilten land

Sie teilten mit, dass mit der Projektarbeit in Nordkorea seit 2004 ein entscheidender Schritt zur Arbeit des Goethe-Instituts in beiden Teilen Koreas gemacht wurde. Derzeit ist die Lage nach wie vor sehr angespannt – was waren Erfolge? 

Für einige Jahre erlaubte ein Lesesaal in Pjöngjang den Zugang zu Büchern und Zeitschriften aus Deutschland. Das Münchner Kammerorchester war für Konzerte und Workshops in Nordkorea. Auch wurden mit deutschen Experten Workshops zur Papierrestaurierung durchgeführt, damit historisch wertvolle Manuskripte aus der gemeinsamen Geschichte des geteilten Landes erhalten bleiben. Ausgewählte deutsche Filme wurden koreanisch untertitelt und auf Festivals gezeigt. Für die Zukunft hoffen wir, dass sich die aktuelle politische Lage entspannt und wir die kulturellen Brücken nach Nordkorea wieder aktiv begehen können.

Dieses Jahr ist das Goethe-Institut Korea Projektpartner der „Paralympics Zeitung“ – und sorgt dafür, dass es auch eine koreanische Ausgabe in Zusammenarbeit mit der koreanischen Zeitung „Hankyoreh“ geben wird. Was sind Ihre Ziele und Wünsche für die Kooperation?

Der Behindertensport und auch Themen wie Inklusion, Teilhabe und selbstständiges und selbstbestimmtes Leben von Menschen mit Behinderungen spielen in Südkorea gesellschaftlich eine untergeordnete Rolle. Auch das Interesse an den Paralympics 2018 im eigenen Land war nicht sehr ausgeprägt. Vor diesem Hintergrund sah das Goethe-Institut Korea in der Herausgabe einer koreanischen Ausgabe der „Paralympics Zeitung“ die Chance, dem Behindertensport in Korea mehr Öffentlichkeit zu verschaffen und gleichzeitig den journalistischen Austausch zwischen Deutschland und Korea zu fördern. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass die koreanische Ausgabe am 16. März erscheinen wird.  

INKLUSION DURCH SPORT

In Deutschland wird viel für Inklusion und auch für Behinderten- und Rehabilitationssport getan. Inklusion ist eine gesellschaftliche Aufgabe, die über Sport und Kultur transportiert werden kann – wie steht es da in Korea?

Auch in Deutschland ist Inklusion ja nach wie vor „work in progress“ – nicht anders ist es in Korea. Das Goethe-Institut wird sich sicher auch weiterhin in dem Bereich engagieren. 2017 haben wir zum Beispiel bereits die Teilnahme des Berliner Theaters Thikwa am Korea International Accessible Dance Festival unterstützt, welches 2016 vom südkoreanischen Ministerium für Kultur, Sport und Tourismus in Zusammenarbeit mit Botschaften und Kulturorganisationen verschiedener Länder ins Leben gerufen wurde. Die koreanische Ausgabe der Paralympics motiviert uns sehr, weiter an diesem Thema zu arbeiten.

Können die Paralympischen Spiele die Situation und die öffentliche, sowie wirtschaftliche Unterstützung von Menschen mit Behinderung nachhaltig in Südkorea verbessern?

Wir hoffen, dass durch die Paralympischen Spiele im eigenen Land wie auch weltweit das gesellschaftliche Bild von Menschen mit Behinderungen und ihren Möglichkeiten positiv beeinflusst wird. Inwieweit dies auch zu nachhaltigen Verbesserungen führt, bleibt abzuwarten. Die derzeitige gesellschaftliche Stimmung, insbesondere unter der neuen Regierung, bietet aber sicher gute Voraussetzungen dafür.

Die Fragen stellte Jisu Yon, 20, Nachwuchsreporterin bei der Paralympics Zeitung.

Die ungekürzte Fassung des Interviews ist am 02. März 2018 im Tagesspiegel erschienen.