Migration Across The Sea – why the fate of refugees concerns us all

Wolfgang Bauer
Photo: Hein Heiss Suhrkamp

In April 2016 Wolfgang Bauer’s reportage ‘Crossing the Sea: With Syrians on the Exodus to Europe’ was published in English translation by And Other Stories. The author will discuss his book, and the way Europe has dealt with the fate of hundreds of thousands of refugees, with Daniel Trilling at the Goethe-Institut London and with Alison Phipps at the Goethe-Institut Glasgow.
 

 ‘I’m a journalist, not an activist. I’m a storyteller and I try to tell these stories so precisely and so authentically that readers can empathise with my protagonists, that they really believe that they have been thrust into these people’s bodies, into their minds’, said Bauer in an interview with Phlipp Ruch and Jakob Schrenk in July 2015. He aims to portray individual stories and to make them understandable, while avoiding a false sense of pathos.  ‘Not all reportage is good.  Sometimes I get annoyed with stories by colleagues who only portray the protagonists as sad victims’.

This palpable focus on individual people is also reflected in his answer to the question of what a journalist can achieve: ‘Everything and nothing.  And mostly something inbetween.  I think it’s great if I sometimes succeed in influencing individual fates.  I’m sceptical about any impact which goes beyond that’.

Major changes start with personal reflection and participation.  Bauer shares this view with his colleague Daniel Trilling who stated ‘Citizens can help to change the direction of government policy,’ in his recent article Perspectives on the Refugee Crisis in the TLS.

Have you read Crossing the Sea by Wolfgang Bauer, or the essays and reportage by Daniel Trilling?  Have you come across similar recent publications?  We would love to hear your comments!

Migration Über das Meer – warum das Schicksal der Flüchtlinge uns betrifft

Wolfgang Bauer
Foto: Hein Heiss Suhrkamp

Im April 2016 ist Wolfgang Bauers Reportage „Über das Meer – mit Syrern auf der Flucht nach Europa“ in englischer Übersetzung beim Verlag And Other Stories erschienen. Der Autor stellt sein Buch in den Goethe-Instituten in Glasgow und London vor und spricht dabei in London mit Daniel Trilling und in Glasgow mit Alison Phipps über sein Buch und den Umgang Europas mit dem Schicksal Hunderttausender Flüchtlinge.
 

Wolfgang Bauer sagte im Juli 2015 in einem Interview mit Philipp Ruch und Jakob Schrenk über sich und seine Arbeit: „Ich bin Journalist, nicht Aktivist. Ich bin Geschichtenerzähler, und ich versuche, so genau und – wenn man so will – auch so wahrhaftig zu erzählen, dass sich der Leser in meine Protagonisten einfühlen kann, dass er wirklich glaubt, in ihren Körpern, in ihren Köpfen zu stecken.“ Er setzt bewusst darauf, einzelne Schicksale zu zeigen und begreiflich zu machen, meidet dabei jedoch falsches Pathos: „Nicht jede Reportage ist gut. Ich ärgere mich manchmal über Geschichten von Kollegen, in denen die Protagonisten nur als edle Opfer vorkommen.“

Dieser konkret greifbare Fokus auf den einzelnen Menschen spiegelt sich auch wieder in seiner Antwort auf die Frage, was ein Journalist erreichen kann: „Alles und nichts. Und meistens etwas dazwischen. Ich finde es schön, wenn es mir manchmal gelingt, Einzelschicksale zu beeinflussen. Ich bin skeptisch, was eine Wirkung angeht, die darüber hinausgeht.“

Große Veränderungen beginnen mit persönlicher Auseinandersetzung und Anteilnahme. Diese Beobachtung teilt er mit seinem Kollegen Daniel Trilling, der jüngst in seinem Essay „Perspektiven der Flüchtlingskrise“ feststellte: „Citizens can help to change the direction of government policy.“

 

Haben Sie das Buch „Über das Meer“ von Wolfgang Bauer und die Essays und Reportagen von Daniel Trilling gelesen? Kennen Sie ähnliche aktuelle Veröffentlichungen? Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Hinweise und Kommentare!