Promotion of German literature and its translation New Books in German – the 20th anniversary of a unique literary project

NBG Covers
Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Magnus Pölcher

Twenty years ago an initiative of the many associates inhabiting the worlds of publishing, books and culture led to the founding of a unique project.  One of the project’s original co-founders looks back to those decisive spring and summer weeks of 1996.

Regine Friederici remembers well those times in the mid-1990s: “The number of translations from German had reduced significantly and British as well as American publishers seldom had editors who could recommend titles from German-speaking countries for translation”.  As the Head of Information and Library Services at the Goethe-Institut London, Regine, together with her colleague Helga Wilderotter-Ikonomou, was responsible for the promotion of German literature and its translation.

Regine Friederici and Rosemary Smith Foto: Goethe-Institut London

Colleagues from the Goethe-Institut, the Translators‘ Association, the British Centre for Literary Translation and the Austrian, German and Swiss embassies had been observing this development with great concern and sought to find ways to inform publishers about interesting new German language titles on the market.  The German Embassy invited these parties to a meeting at the Goethe-Institut London on June 18, 1996.

At this meeting it was decided to launch a new publication which would contain book reviews and recommendations for translations of new German titles, and be sent directly to publishers.  The task of coming up with a concept for such a magazine was given to a working group consisting of Regine Friederici, plus Rosemary Smith and Gordon Fielden of the Translators’ Association, Terry Hale from the British Centre for Literary Translation, and the literary agent Tanya Howarth.  The German Embassy, Pro Helvetia and the Austrian embassy pledged to contribute financial support.

Terry Hale Photo: Goethe-Institut London/Magnus Pölcher

As a first step German publishers were asked to send their planned new publications – in book format or manuscript – to the Goethe-Institut Library.  The timing of the planned publication should coincide with the launching of new titles on the German book market at the Leipzig Book Fair in spring and the Frankfurt Book Fair in autumn.  Tanja Howarth brought together the working group and young designers who worked on the layout for the first issue of New Books in German.

When the first edition of the series appeared in spring 1997, none of the parties involved dared to hope that New Books in German would be so successful in Great Britain, the USA and more recently in Spanish translation.
 
 
About New Books in German:

The biannual New Books in German (NBG) magazine is aimed at editors working in British and American publishing houses, and supports them by providing a selection of new German titles for translation. The spring edition appears in time for the London Book Fair and the autumn edition coincides with the Frankfurt Book Fair.  There are 4,500 copies of the printed version of the magazine which are also sent to translators, bookshops, universities and libraries and enables its readers to gain an overview of newly published literature and non-fiction. The contents are also made available on the magazine’s website.
 

Have you heard of New Books in German?  Do you have a favourite translation of German into English?  We would love to hear from you!

Literatur- und Übersetzungsförderung New Books in German – 20. Jubiläum eines einzigartigen Literaturprojekts

New Books in German Covers
Foto: Goethe-Institut London/Magnus Pölcher

Eine Initiative zahlreicher Partner aus der Verlags-, Buch- und Kulturszene führte vor zwanzig Jahren zur Gründung eines einzigartigen Projekts. Eine der Mitbegründerinnen des Projekts, Regine Friederici blickt zurück auf die entscheidenden Wochen im Frühjahr und Sommer des Jahres 1996.

Regine Friederici erinnert sich gut an die Zeit Mitte der neunziger Jahre: „Die Zahl der Übersetzungen aus dem Deutschen war signifikant zurückgegangen und britische wie auch US-Amerikanische Verlage verfügten selten über Lektorinnen und Lektoren, die Titel aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum für eine Übersetzung vorschlagen konnten.“ Als Leiterin der Informations- und Bibliotheksarbeit am Goethe-Institut London war sie gemeinsam mit Ihrer Kollegin Helga Wilderotter-Ikonomou zuständig für die Literatur- und Übersetzungsförderung.

Regine Friederici und Rosemary Smith Foto: Goethe-Institut London

Mitarbeiter des Goethe-Instituts, der Translators Association, des British Center for Literary Translation und der Botschaften Österreichs, Deutschlands und der Schweiz  sahen diese Entwicklung mit großer Besorgnis und suchten gemeinsam nach Lösungen, wie Verleger über interessante deutschsprachige Neuerscheinungen informiert werden könnten. Auf Einladung der Deutschen Botschaft trafen sie sich dazu am 18. Juni 1996 im Goethe-Institut London.

In dieser Sitzung wurde die Erarbeitung einer Publikation beschlossen, die Buchbesprechungen und Übersetzungsempfehlungen von Neuerscheinungen enthalten und direkt an die Verleger geschickt werden sollte. Eines solches Magazin zu konzipieren war in den folgenden Wochen die Aufgabe einer Arbeitsgruppe, der neben Regine Friederici auch Rosemary Smith und Gordon Fielden von der Translators Association, Terry Hale vom British Centre for Literary Translation, die Literaturagentin Tanya Howarth angehörten. Die Deutsche Botschaft, Pro Helvetia und die Österreichische Botschaft sagten finanzielle Unterstützung zu.

Terry Hale Foto: Goethe-Institut London

In einem ersten Schritt wurden deutschsprachige Verlage gebeten, ihre geplanten Neuerscheinungen - in Buchform oder als Manuskript - an die Bibliothek des Goethe-Instituts zu schicken. Der Rhythmus der geplanten Publikation sollte den Neuerscheinungen auf dem deutschen Buchmarkt zur Leipziger Buchmesse im Frühjahr und zur Frankfurter Buchmesse im Herbst folgen. Tanja Howarth brachte die Arbeitsgruppe mit jungen Designern zusammen, die das Layout für die erste Nummer von „New Books in German“ entwarfen.

Als die erste reguläre Ausgabe im Frühjahr 1997 erschien, wagte wohl keiner der beteiligten Akteure zu hoffen, dass „New Books in German“ über so viele Jahre so erfolgreich in Großbritannien, den USA und zuletzt auch in spanischer Übersetzung sein würde.  

Über New Books in German:
Das halbjährlich erscheinende Magazin New Books in German (NBG) wendet sich an Verlagslektorinnen und –lektoren in Großbritannien und den USA und unterstützt diese bei der Auswahl von deutschsprachigen Neuerscheinungen für Übersetzungen. Die Frühjahrsausgabe erscheint rechtzeitig zur London Book Fair, die Herbstausgabe zur Frankfurter Buchmesse. Die gedruckte Ausgabe wird in einer Auflage von 4.500 Exemplaren auch an Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer, Buchhandlungen, Universitäten und Bibliotheken verschickt und ermöglicht einen Überblick über deutschsprachige Neuerscheinungen von Literatur und Sachbüchern. Sämtliche Inhalte sind auch über die Webseite des Magazins verfügbar.
 

Kennen Sie New Books in German? Haben Sie eine Lieblingsübersetzung aus dem Deutschen ins Englische? Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Kommentare!