Häufig gestellte Fragen
A1-C2

Our German Courses

If you have never studied German before, start at level A1.1. You can book a class online or get in touch with the language office.

If you have previous knowledge of German but are unsure which level is right for you, we welcome you to take our placement test. Take the written part of the placement test online. For a brief oral assessment, one of our teachers will give you a call during our assessment times.

To book a placement test please send an email to the Language Office.
Our German program is offered on 6 main levels: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2.
Depending on the course format the levels are taught as full level or maybe offered as sublevels:
A1.1 & A1.2
A2.1 & A2.2
B1.1 & B1.2 & B1.3
B2.1 & B2.2 & B2.3
C1.1 & C1.2 & C1.3
C2+.

If you have no prior knowledge of German, you will start at A1.1.
Wer noch keine Vorkenntnisse auf Deutsch besitzt, beginnt mit A1.1.
Learning is an individual process. How much time you need to attain a certain level depends on various and individual factors: your commitment, your time input, and your taking advantage of additional practice resources.

Should you already have studied one or more languages, you may learn German faster. It makes a big difference if you participate in a language course in your home country or in Germany, where you will be exposed to the German language outside the classroom.

As a rough guideline, we estimate it will take the following amount of instruction to complete each language level:

A1 : approx. 60-150 hours (80-200 TU*)
A2 : approx. 150-260 hours (200-350 TU*)
B1 : approx. 260-490 hours (350-650 TU*)
B2 : approx. 450-600 hours (600-800 TU*)
C1 : approx. 600-750 hours (800-1000 TU*)
C2 : approx. 750+ hours (1000+ TU*)

* TU = Teaching Unit; a teaching unit consists of 45 minutes of instruction.

Learn more about the CEFR Language Levels A1-C2
  
The Goethe-Institut is the official cultural institute of the Federal Republic of Germany. This means that we focus only on German language and culture. We teach German 100% in German and in doing so offer a completely immersive experience. Our instructors teach with modern and innovative methods that are effective for language learning. These methods create classes that are entertaining, interactive, communicative and fun. Our classrooms are equipped with modern technology - smartboards instead of blackboards. At the Goethe-Institut London, we offer you a flexible learning experience: we offer not only classic face-to-face instruction, but also online learning or a combination of both (Blended Learning). We offer the format that is right for you - no matter how busy your lifestyle is.
To ensure quality and consistency, courses may only be attended by students who are officially enrolled in that course. If you are already enrolled in a course, you may switch into a different course being held in the same semester up until the end of the third session of the course (subject to availability and administration fee).
In addition to on-site classes in Glasgow, there are also online courses available: 
Online Courses and Online Individual Courses.
Please visit the site for the Goethe-Institut Germany for more information.

Our learning concept

The Goethe-Institut teaches German according to the immersion method, which means we strive for our courses to be as much in German as possible. Don't panic! We have decades of experience in over 150 locations worldwide with this method - we know you will succeed!
There is no difference with regards to the progress you will make in a face-to-face versus a blended course - both are designed to cover the same essential content. Although you will not have as much face time in a blended course, the format is designed to make use of in-class and out-of-class time differently in such a way that you will still have the same opportunities to develop your language skills.

For example: In a standard blended learning course, you will attend a 135-minute class once a week at the Goethe-Institut. At home, you will complete online activities designed to take approximately 135 minutes. You can complete these activities at whenever is convenient for you. There are no online meetings which would require you to be online at a certain time.

Our teachers

All teachers at the Goethe-Institut Glasgow are either native speakers or are required to demonstrate a level of C2 proficiency in the German language.
In fact, non-native speakers who mastered the German language are a wonderful source of inspiration for learners and they can give you a first hand insight perfecting your practice.

Attendance

Please get in touch with the Language Dept. to check availability. 

 
If you miss a session, our online classbook will give you all the information you need: a short summary of last every previous class and your homework for the following week.

Assessment

All students who attend at least 70% of their classes, and (for courses with an online component) complete at least 70% of their assignments can receive a certificate of participation for their course.

Also, we encourage you to sign up for one of our official Goethe-Zertifikat exams, which will provide you with an internationally-recognized certificate to prove your language abilities. Course participants will be able to take an exam for a discounted rate.

More Information on our Exams

Zahlung

At the Goethe-Institut Glasgow we offer the following concessions if you are a full-time student, retired,  registered unemployed (proof required) or a teacher of German. Concessions can only be given at the time of booking and cannot be applied in retrospect.

Discounts cannot be combined and only one form of discount will be given at any one time.
Please review our current terms and conditions for more information regarding our cancellation policies.
We accept cash, cheques, debit and credit cards (Visa & Mastercard).

You can also book your courses and exams online.

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Unsere Deutschkurse

Wenn Sie noch nie Deutsch gelernt haben, fangen Sie auf dem Niveau A1.1 an. Sie können Ihren Kurs direkt online oder im Sprachkursbüro buchen.

Wenn Sie schon einmal Deutsch gelernt haben, sich aber nicht über Ihr Niveau im Klaren sind, dann machen Sie einfach unseren Einstufungstest. Sie können den schriftlichen Teil ganz bequem online machen. Für die mündliche Einstufung rufen unsere Lehrkräfte Sie zu unseren Einstufungszeiten  an.

Buchung eines Einstufungstests: kurze E-Mail and die Sprachabteilung genügt.
Unsere Deutschkurse werden auf 6 Niveaustufen angeboten: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2.
Je nach Format werden die Kurse entweder als ganze  Niveaustufen angeboten oder als Unterstufen:

A1.1 & A1.2
A2.1 & A2.2
B1.1 & B1.2 & B1.3
B2.1 & B2.2 & B2.3
C1.1 & C1.2 & C1.3
C2+

Wer noch keine Vorkenntnisse auf Deutsch besitzt, beginnt mit A1.1.
Lernen ist ein individueller Prozess. Wie viel Zeit Sie persönlich benötigen, um eine Niveaustufe zu erreichen, hängt von verschiedenen, auch individuellen Faktoren ab: von Engagement, Zeiteinsatz und Nutzung zusätzlicher Übungsangebote.

Wenn Sie schon eine oder mehrere Sprachen gelernt haben, lernen Sie Deutsch meist schneller. Es spielt eine große Rolle, ob Sie an einem Sprachkurs in Ihrem Heimatland oder in Deutschland teilnehmen, wo Sie auch außerhalb des Unterrichts Deutsch hören und sprechen können.

Unten erfahren Sie, wie lange Sie ungefähr benötigen, um jedes Sprachniveau zu erreichen, abhängig von Vorkenntnissen und Lernvoraussetzungen:

A1 : ca. 60-150 Stunden (80-200 UE*)
A2 : ca. 150-260 Stunden (200-350 UE*)
B1 : ca. 260-490 Stunden (350-650 UE*)
B2 : ca. 450-600 Stunden (600-800 UE*)
C1 : ca. 600-750 Stunden (800-1000 UE*)
C2 : ca. 750+ Stunden (1000+ UE*)

* UE = Unterrichtseinheiten; Eine Unterrichtseinheit besteht aus 45 Minuten Unterricht.

Erfahren Sie mehr über den Europäischen Referenzrahmen A1 - C2.
Das Goethe-Institut London ist das offizielle Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Das heißt, dass unser Fokus auf der deutschen Sprache und Kultur liegt. Wir unterrichten Deutsch 100% auf Deutsch und bieten somit volle Immersion. Unsere Lehrkräfte unterrichten mit modernen und innovativen Methoden, die effektiv für das Sprachenlernen sind. Dabei gestalten sie auch einen unterhaltsamen und interaktiven Unterricht, der Spaß macht. Unsere Klassenräume sind mit der modernsten Technologie ausgestattet - Kreidetafel war gestern. Am Goethe-Institut London können Sie zudem flexibel lernen: Wir bieten den klassischen Präsenzunterricht, aber auch Blended Learning Kurse an. Das ist ein Mix aus Präsenz- und Online-Phasen und perfekt für jeden, der einen lebendigen Alltag hat. Es gibt viele Gründe, warum unsere Kurse so besonders sind. 
Aus Gründen der Qualitätssicherung können Kurse nur von den schon eingeschriebenen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern besucht werden.
Wenn Sie schon einen Kurs gebucht haben und wechseln möchten, können Sie bis zum Ende der dritten Kurssitzung in einen anderen Kurs im selben Semester umbuchen (wenn Kurse frei sind, Gebühren können anfallen).
Außer Präsenzkursen bietet das Goethe-Institut Glasgow auch Onlinekurse an: 
Online Gruppenkurse und Online Individualkurse.
Auf der Seite des Goethe-Institut Deutschland finden Sie weitere Informationen.

Unser Lernkonzept

Das Goethe-Institut unterrichtet nach dem Immersionskonzept, das heißt, unsere Kurse werden (fast!) ausschließlich auf Deutsch unterrichtet. Keine Panik! Wir haben jahrzehntelange Erfahrung in mehr als 150 Orten weltweit mit diesem Konzept - wir sind uns sicher: Sie werden es schaffen!
Es gibt keinen Unterschied zwischen Präsenzkursen und Blended-Learning-Kursen in Hinsicht auf Lernergebnisse - bei beiden Kursarten lernt man genauso viel. Obwohl man nicht so viel Präsenzunterricht in einem Blended-Learning-Kurs hat, benutzt das Format die Präsenzzeit und das Lernen zu Hause so, dass man die gleichen Möglichkeiten hat, seine Sprachkenntnisse zu entwickeln.

In einem Standard Blended-Learning-Kurs beispielsweise besuchen Sie einmal wöchentlich den Kurs im Goethe-Institut (135 Minuten). Von Zuhause erledigen Sie Online-Aufgaben, die auf ca. 135 Minuten konzipiert sind. Diese können Sie sich flexibel einteilen. Es gibt keine Online-Sitzung mit dem Kurs.

Unsere Lehrkräfte

Alle Lehrkräfte am Goethe-Institut Glasgow sind entweder Muttersprachlerinnen oder verfügen über einen offiziellen Nachweis, dass sie C2 Deutschkenntnisse besitzen.
Tatsächlich sind Nicht-Muttersprachler, die Deutsch bis zu so einem hohen Niveau gelernt haben, eine großartige Inspiration für unsere Lernenden und können viele Tipps&Tricks zum Sprachenlernen aus erster Hand geben.

Anwesenheit

Bitte setzen Sie sich mit der Sprachabteilung in Verbindung,

 
Wenn Sie eine Sitzung verpassen, können Sie jederzeit im Online Klassenbuch alle wichtigen Informationen nachlesen: ine Übersicht über den Inhalt des Unterrichts sowie die Hausaufgaben für die nächste Stunde.

Werde ich am Ende des Kurses eine Bestätigung bekommen?

Alle Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer, die an mindestens 70% des Unterrichts teilgenommen und 70% der Onlineaufgabe (bei Blended Learning Kursen) erledigt haben, können nach Ende des Kurses eine Teilnahmebestätigung erhalten.

Wir ermutigen unsere Deutschlernenden außerdem an unseren Goethe-Zertifikaten teilzunehmen, die einen international anerkannten Nachweis Ihrer Sprachkenntnisse darstellen. Kundinnen und Kunden des Goethe-Instituts erhalten einen Sonderpreis.

Weitere Informationen zu unseren Prüfungen

Zahlung

Das Goethe-Institut London bietet die folgenden Rabatte für Vollzeit-Studierende, Rentner*innen, Arbeitssuchende für Sprachkurse (mit Nachweis) und Deutschleher*innen. Rabatte können nur zum Zeitpunkt der Buchung geltend gemacht und nicht im Nachhinein angwendet werden.

Rabatte können nicht miteinander kombiniert werden; nur ein Rabatt pro Buchung ist anwendbar.
Lesen Sie bitte unsere aktuellen Geschäftsbedingungen, um mehr über Rücktritt, Stornierung, und Umbuchung zu erfahren
Wir akzeptieren Bargeld, Schecks, Debit-Karten und Kreditkarten (Visa & Mastercard).

Außerdem können Sie Kurse und Prüfungen online buchen.