Film Screening Claude Lanzmann: Shoah

Shoah © Shoah, Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art

Mon, 27.01.2020

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

International Holocaust Remembrance Day Screening

Marking the 75th anniversary of the liberation of the Nazi concentration camp Auschwitz-Birkenau by the Red Army on 27 January 1945, we will be screening Claude Lanzmann’s Shoah. By doing so, we will join many organisations and institutions worldwide in remembering the victims of the Holocaust and keeping the memory of the genocide of the Jews alive to prevent from it ever happening again. It is for this purpose that in 2005 the United Nations designated the 27th of January as International Holocaust Remembrance Day. With this screening we would like to offer a space to remember and to learn alongside all others doing so on this day.

The film will be introduced by Toby Haggith, Senior Curator, Department of Second World War and Mid-20th Century Conflict (Imperial War Museums), who will also be participate in a discussion with Rainer  Schulze, Professor Emeritus of Modern European History (University of Essex), following the screening.

 
Schedule

Claude Lanzmann divided Shoah into two parts. In order to allow for more breaks we will show the film in four parts followed by the discussion.

Part 1                    09:45–12:20
Part 2                    12:35–14:35
Part 3                    15:05–17:45
Part 4                    18:00–20:25
Discussion             20:35–ca 21:30

In order to keep the level of disturbance low in the cinema we would like to kindly ask you to arrive at the indicated start times.

We will provide tea and coffee for the breaks, which will be available outside the cinema. (We welcome it if you bring your own re-usable cup and food.)

Book tickets through Eventbrite About the Film

More than ten years (1974-1985) in the making, Shoah (the Hebrew word for ‘Annihilation’) brings together testimonies from both the victims of the National Socialist extermination of European Jews and from its perpetrators and observers. Many of them tell their story for the first time in 30 years. According to Claude Lanzmann, Shoah is not a film about survival but a “testimonial of death”. He not only asks the witnesses to recall their experiences; his questioning technique prompts his interviewees to relive the past events. Lanzmann’s questions revolve around events at the sites where Jews were murdered –Chelmno, Treblinka, Auschwitz-Birkenau and the Warsaw Ghetto– laying open the bureaucratic mechanism of extermination, which began in the ghettos and was eventually implemented in the concentration and extermination camps. In its nine and a half hours, the film only makes use of only one archive document. Otherwise it exclusively relies on witness statements and newly filmed footage of the death sites showing them as they were at the end of the seventies and the beginning of the eighties. This was a radically new approach. Much of the film’s powerful effect stems from the montage of testimonies and the footage of the places referred to in their memories. “I travelled to the places on my own and I realized that you have to combine the two aspects. You have to know and see, and you have to see and know. That’s why the problem with the places is so immense. It is a down-to-earth film, a topographical and geographical film.” (Lanzmann)

Shoah, France 1974 – 1985, colour, DCP (16mm), ca. 566 mins, With English subtitles.
Directed by Claude Lanzmann, Camera: Dominique Chapuis, Jimmy Glasberg, William Lubtchansky, Editors: Ziva Postec, Anna Ruiz, Sound: Bernard Aubouy, Michel Vionnet.

 
 
Claude Lanzmann was born in Paris in 1925 and as a teenager experienced the invasion of German troops into France. In 1943 grammar-school pupil Lanzmann joined the resistance in Clermont-Ferrand and went underground to fight the Nazis. After the war, he completed studies in philosophy, earning his doctorate in 1947, and subsequently took a position as a lecturer at Berlin Free University in 1948/49. In 1953 Lanzmann, who belonged to Jean-Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir’s circle, became a permanent collaborator on the legendary political and literary journal Les Temps Modernes. In 1970 he made his first forays into the world of filmmaking, which also document his political engagement against French policies in Algeria. Towards the end of the Algerian War, Lanzmann signed the “Manifeste des 121”, an open letter against French war crimes. In his 1973 film Pourquoi Israel?, Lanzmann explored his own Jewish identity. He began work on Shoah the following year. He died on 5 July 2018.

Toby Haggith is Senior Curator, Department of Second World War and Mid-20th Century Conflict (Imperial War Museums). He is the co-editor, with Joanna Newman, of Holocaust and the Moving Image: Representations in Film and Television Since 1933 (2005). He has been closely involved with the completion and restoration of German Concentration Camps Factual Survey (1945/2014) and has undertaken research on the Belsen Camp Evidence Film.

Rainer Schulze is Professor Emeritus of Modern European History at the University of Essex. He is specialised in twentieth-century German history, history and memory of the Holocaust and the history of forced migrations in twentieth-century Europe. 2000-2007 he worked as one one of the project leaders for the redevelopment of the permanent exhibition at the Gedenkstätte (memorial) Bergen-Belsen. He is the founding editor of the journal "The Holocaust in History and Memory", and introduced and coordinated the annual Holocaust Memorial Week at the University of Essex.



With kind support of the IWM (Imperial War Museums).
 

Back

Film Claude Lanzmann: Shoah

Shoah © Shoah, Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art

Mo, 27.01.2020

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Vorführung zum Internationalen Holocaust-Gedenktag

Anlässlich des 75. Jahrestages der Befreiung des Nazi-Vernichtungslagers Auschwitz-Birkenau durch die Rote Armee am 27. Januar 1945 zeigen wir Claude Lanzmanns Shoah. Damit möchten wir zusammen mit vielen anderen Organisationen und Institutionen weltweit den Opfern des Holocausts gedenken und an den Völkermord an den europäischen Juden erinnern, damit dieser sich nie wiederholt. Mit diesem Ziel haben die Vereinten Nationen 2005 den 27. Januar zum Internationalen Holocaust-Gedenktag erklärt. Mit dieser Vorführung von Shoah möchten wir einen Raum zum Erinnern und zum Lernen bieten während weltweit viele andere das Gleiche tun werden.

Der Film wird von Toby Haggith, Senior Curator, Department of Second World War and Mid-20th Century Conflict (Imperial War Museums) eingeführt, der im Anschluss an die Filmvorführung auch an einer Diskussion mit Rainer Schulze, emeritierter Professor für moderne europäische Geschichte (University of Essex), teilnehmen wird.

Zeitplan

Claude Lanzmann hat Shoah in zwei Abschnitte aufgeteilt. Um mehr Pausen zu ermöglichen, zeigen wir den Film in vier Teilen, gefolgt von der Diskussion. 
 
Teil 1                     09:45–12:20
Teil 2                     12:35–14:35
Teil 3                     15:05–17:45
Teil 4                     18:00–20:25 
Diskussion             20:35–ca 21:30

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen Über den Film

Shoah (das hebräische Wort für "Vernichtung") entstand über einen Zeitraum von über elf Jahren (1974 – 1985) und  bringt Zeugenaussagen sowohl der Opfer der nationalsozialistischen Vernichtung der Juden in Europa als auch von Tätern und Beobachtern des Völkermords an den europäischen Juden zusammen. Viele von ihnen erzählen zum ersten Mal seit 30 Jahren ihre Geschichte. Laut Claude Lanzmann ist Shoah kein Film über das Überleben, sondern ein „Zeugnis des Todes“. Er bittet die Zeugen nicht nur, sich an ihre Erfahrungen zu erinnern; seine Fragetechnik veranlasst die Befragten, die vergangenen Ereignisse noch einmal zu erleben. Seine Fragen beziehen sich auf Ereignisse an den Orten, an denen Juden ermordet wurden - Helmno, Treblinka, Auschwitz-Birkenau und das Warschauer Ghetto. Sie legen den bürokratischen Mechanismus der Vernichtung offen, der in den Ghettos begann und schließlich in den Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagern weiteführt wurde. In seinen neuneinhalb Stunden verwendet der Film nur ein Archivdokument. Ansonsten stützt es sich ausschließlich auf Zeugenaussagen und neu aufgenommenes Filmmaterial der Todesorte, das diese in ihrem Zustand am Ende der siebziger und Anfang der achtziger Jahre zeigt. Dies war ein radikal neuer Ansatz, und die starke Wirkung des Films resultiert aus der Montage von Zeugenaussagen und den Aufnahmen der Orte, auf die sich die Erinnerungen der Zeugen beziehen. „Ich bin alleine zu den Orten gereist und habe festgestellt, dass man beide Aspekte kombinieren muss. Man muss wissen und sehen und man muss sehen und wissen. Deshalb ist das Problem mit den Orten so groß. Es ist ein bodenständiger Film, ein topografischer und geografischer Film. “(Lanzmann)
 
Shoah, Frankreich 1974 – 1985, Farbe, DCP (16mm), ca. 566 Minuten, mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Claude Lanzmann, Kamera: Dominique Chapuis, Jimmy Glasberg, William Lubtchansky, Schnitt: Ziva Postec, Anna Ruiz, Ton: Bernard Aubouy, Michel Vionnet.

 
Claude Lanzmann wurde 1925 in Paris geboren und erlebte als Teenager den Einmarsch deutscher Truppen nach Frankreich. 1943 schloss sich der Gymnasiast dem Widerstand in Clermont-Ferrand an und ging in den Untergrund gegen die Nazis. Nach dem Krieg schloss er ein Studium der Philosophie ab, promovierte 1947 und begann 1948/49 an der Freien Universität Berlin zu lehren. 1953 wurde Lanzmann, der zum Kreis von Jean-Paul Sartre und Simone de Beauvoir gehörte, ständiger Mitarbeiter der legendären politischen und literarischen Zeitschrift Les Temps Modernes. 1970 unternahm er erste Streifzüge in die Welt des Filmemachens, die auch sein politisches Engagement gegen die französische Politik in Algerien dokumentieren. Gegen Ende des Algerienkrieges unterzeichnete Lanzmann das „Manifeste des 121“ gegen französische Kriegsverbrechen. In seinem Film Pourquoi Israel? Von 1973 erkundete Lanzmann seine eigene jüdische Identität. Ein Jahr später begann er mit der Arbeit an Shoah. Er starb am 5. Juli 2018.

Toby Haggith ist Senior Curator, Department of Second World War and Mid-20th Century Conflict (Imperial War Museums). Zusammen mit Joanna Newman ist er Mitherausgeber von Holocaust and the Moving Image: Representations in Film and Television Since 1933 (2005). Er war eng mit der Vervollständigung und Restaurierung des britischen Dokumentarfilms German Concentration Camps Factual Survey (1945/2014) befasst und Recherchen zum Belsen Camp Evidence Film durchgeführt.

Rainer Schulze ist emeritierter Professor für moderne europäische Geschichte an der Universität Essex. Sein Schwerpunkt liegt auf der deutschen Geschichte des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts, der Geschichte und Erinnerung an den Holocaust und der Geschichte der Zwangsmigrationen im Europa des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts. 2000-2007 arbeitete er als einer der Projektleiter bei der Neugestaltung der Dauerausstellung in der Gedenkstätte Bergen-Belsen. Er ist der Gründungsherausgeber der Zeitschrift "The Holocaust in History and Memory" und begründete und koordinierte die jährliche Holocaust-Gedenkwoche an der Universität Essex.



Mit freundlicher Unterstüzung von IWM (Imperial War Museums).

 

Zurück