Film & Discussion The Next Century Will Be Ours & Bright Nights

A man in a boat © Claudia von Alemann

Sat, 09.04.2022

14:00 - 19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Claudia von Alemann Programme 2

This programme includes two films that have a close relation to Blind Spot. Firstly, The Next Century Will Be Ours (The History of the German Women’s Movement from 1830 to 1860), (Das nächste Jahrhundert wird uns gehören (Die Geschichte der deutschen Frauenbewegung zwischen 1830 und 1860)) (1986/1987), is a two-part historical feature and documentary film made for television and cinema distribution exploring the history and writings of four women protagonists of the early women's movement in nineteenth-century Germany (Luise Otto-Peters, Louise Aston, Kathinka Zitz and Mathilde Franziska Anneke). As in Blind Spot, a woman from the present travels through historical periods and spaces to listen to these women and their stories of struggle. The dialogue of the film is composed of quotations from texts, novels and manifestos written by the four women. The film was shot by the excellent cinematographer Hille Sagel in a deserted film studio, with remarkable sets designed by Jürgen Rieger. British musician, composer and political feminist activist Lindsay Cooper composed the original score for this film.

The second film in this programme is Bright Nights (Nuits Claires, 1988) an essay film shot over Easter 1988 in Paris, where Claudia von Alemann lived and worked for many years. The filmmaker invited two friends, feminist filmmakers Danielle Jaeggi from Paris and Paule Baillargeon from Montréal, who had never met before, to join her to take part in an artistic and psychological experiment. In the confinement of a rented cinema they looked closely at three of their feature films and talked openly and frankly about them, the intentions behind them, and about their aesthetic impact, bearing in mind their roles as mothers, film directors and feminists. In the film they discuss how their film making may influence their daughters and their daughters may in turn influenc their films; they share their dreams, desires, doubts and contradictions, expressing their fears and joys.


Claudia Alemann will be present and will be in discussion with Janet McCabe, Reader in Television and Film Studies, Birkbeck, Univ. of London, and Erika Balsom, Reader in Film Studies, King's College, Univ. of London.
Book Tickets Through Eventbrite

The Next Century Will Be Ours (The History of the German Women’s Movement from 1830 to 1860), (Das nächste Jahrhundert wird uns gehören (Die Geschichte der deutschen Frauenbewegung zwischen 1830 und 1860)), West Germany, 1986/1987, 16mm transferred to digital, 90 minutes, German with English subtitles.
Written, produced and directed by Claudia von Alemann, Co-authors: Manfred Mohl, Margit Czenki, Cinematography: Hille Sagel, Editor: Ursula Höf, Music: Lindsay Cooper. Set designer: Jürgen Rieger.
Main prize of the jury at the Festival International de Films et Videos de Femmes, Montreal/Quebec 1988.  


Bright Nights (Lichte Nächte/Nuits Claires), West Germany, 1988, colour, video transferred to digital, 60 minutes, French with English subtitles.
Written, produced and directed by Claudia von Alemann. Cinematography: Hille Sagel, Sound: Kurt Eggmann, Editor: Monique Dartonne.



 

Back

Film & Diskussion Das nächste Jahrhundert wird uns gehören & Lichte Nächte

Ein Man in einem Boot © Claudia von Alemann

Sa, 09.04.2022

14:00 – 19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Claudia von Alemann Programm 2

Im Rahmen dieses Programms zeigen wir zwei Filme, die einen engen Bezug zu Die Reise nach Lyon haben: Das nächste Jahrhundert wird uns gehören (Die Geschichte der deutschen Frauenbewegung zwischen 1830 und 1860) (1986/1987) ist ein zweiteiliger teilweise historischer Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm für Fernsehen und Kino, der die Geschichte und Schriften von vier weiblichen Protagonistinnen der frühen Frauenbewegung im Deutschland des 19. Jahrhunderts (Luise Otto-Peters, Louise Aston, Kathinka Zitz und Mathilde Franziska Anneke) untersucht. Wie in Die Reise nach Lyon reist eine Frau aus der Gegenwart durch historische Epochen und Räume, um diesen Frauen und ihren Geschichten des Kampfes zu lauschen. Zitate aus ihren Texten, Romanen und Manifesten bilden die Filmdialoge. Gedreht wurde in einem verlassenen Filmstudio, mit bemerkenswerten Sets, die von Jürgen Rieger entworfen wurden. Hinter der Kamera arbeitete die hervorragende Hille Sagel. Die britische Musikerin, Komponistin und politische feministische Aktivistin Lindsay Cooper komponierte die Musik für den Film.

Der zweite Film in diesem Programm ist Lichte Nächte  (Nuits Claires, 1988), ein Essayfilm, der Ostern 1988 in Paris entstand, wo Claudia von Alemann viele Jahre lebte und arbeitete. Die Filmemacherin lud zwei Freundinnen, die feministischen Filmemacherinnen Danielle Jaeggi aus Paris und Paule Baillargeon aus Montréal, die sich vorher nie begegnet waren, zu einem künstlerischen und psychologischen Experiment ein. Im abgeschlossen Raum eines angemieteten Kinos führten sie drei ihrer Spielfilme vor. Sie betrachteten sie genau und sprachen offen und ehrlich über ihre Arbeiten, deren Intentionen und ästhetische Wirkung, dabei ihre Rolle als Mütter, Filmregisseurinnen und Feministinnen berücksichtigend. Im Film diskutieren sie, welchen Einfluss ihr Filmemachen auf ihre Töchter haben könnte und wie diese wiederum ihre Filme beeinflussen könnten; sie teilen ihre Träume, Wünsche, Zweifel und Widersprüche, bringen ihre Ängste und Freuden zum Ausdruck.

Claudia Alemann wird anwesend und mit Janet McCabe, Reader in Television and Film Studies, Birkbeck, Univ. of London, and Erika Balsom, Reader in Film Studies, King's College, Univ. of London, im Gespräch sein.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen

Das nächste Jahrhundert wird uns gehören (Die Geschichte der deutschen Frauenbewegung zwischen 1830 und 1860.
BRD 1986/1987. Farbe, Digitaler Transfer von 16mm, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln.
Drehbuch, Produktion und Regie: Claudia von Alemann, Co-Autor*innen: Manfred Mohl, Margit Czenki, Kamera: Hille Sagel, Schnitt: Ursula Höf, Musik: Szenenbild: Jürgen Rieger
Hauptpreis der Jury beim Festival International de Films et Videos de Femmes, Montreal/Quebec 1988.  



Lichte Nächte/Nuits Claires, BRD 1988. Farbe, Digitaler Transfer von Video, 60 Min. Französisch und Englisch mit englischen Untertiteln.
Drehbuch, Produktion und Regie: Claudia von Alemann. Kamera: Hille Sagel, Ton: Kurt Eggmann, Schnitt: Monique Dartonne.


 

Zurück