Film + Introduction Bulky Trash + Who’s Afraid of the Bogeyman?

Four men in a row © DEFA-Stiftun, Heiko Koinzer

Thu, 22.09.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Portraits from an Other Germany:  Programme 1

To begin the season, we will look at some of Misselwitz’s most timely work, filmed in the years leading up to the fall of the Berlin Wall. In Bulky Trash (1990) the signs of the times are ever present, with protests against the GDR’s leadership forming the tumultuous background against which the four young musicians at the centre of the film live their lives. Through their punk band, Bulky Trash, ideas around youth culture are explored, as well as questions of how young people relate to older generations, and how they view the possibility of German reunification. 

Who’s Afraid of the Bogeyman? (1989) focuses on coal delivery workers, with the female owner of a family coal business at the forefront. Rather than an overly sentimental view of the work they do, we instead gain an understanding of the problems faced by these workers. Misselwitz’s emphasis on their private lives would have previously been considered taboo in East German cinema, not least due to the discussions of alcoholism, suicide and the possibility of escaping to the West. 

NB: "In German, the title of the film refers to a rhyme in a common children’s game with roots in the Middle Ages. Now, and for centuries, it has also had racist overtones. We think the English word 'bogeyman' best parallels and captures the intentions of the director." – DEFA Film Library 2021



This screening will be introduced by Emily Mason. 

Book Tickets Through Eventbrite

Bulky Trash (Sperrmüll)
GDR, 1990, colour, DCP, 78 mins, German with English subtitles. 
Directed by Helke Misselwitz, Screenplay: Gerd Kroske, Helke Misselwitz, Camera: Thomas Plenert, Editing: Gudrun Steinbrück, Sound: Andreas Kaufmann. 


Who is Afraid of the Bogey Man? (Wer fürchtet sich vorm Schwarzen Mann)
GDR, 1989, b/w, DCP (35mm), 52 mins, German with English subtitles. 
Directed by Helke Misselwitz, Screenplay: Helke Misselwitz, Thomas Plenert, Director of Photography: Thomas Plenert, Editing: Gudrun Plenert (= Steinbrück), Music: Brigitte Unterdörfer, Sound: Ronald Gohlke



 

Back

Film + Einführung Sperrmüll + Wer fürchtet sich vorm Schwarzen Mann

Vier Männer hintereinander © DEFA-Stiftun, Heiko Koinzer

Do, 22.09.2022

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Portraits from an Other Germany:  Programm 1

Zu Beginn der Saison werden wir uns einige der aktuellsten Arbeiten von Misselwitz ansehen, die in den Jahren vor dem Fall der Berliner Mauer gedreht wurden. In Bulky Trash (1990) sind die Zeichen der Zeit allgegenwärtig: Proteste gegen die DDR-Führung bilden den turbulenten Hintergrund, vor dem die vier jungen Musiker im Mittelpunkt des Films ihr Leben führen. Durch ihre Punkband Bulky Trash werden Ideen zur Jugendkultur sowie Fragen untersucht, wie junge Menschen mit älteren Generationen umgehen und wie sie die Möglichkeit einer deutschen Wiedervereinigung sehen.

Wer hat Angst vor dem Bogeyman? (1989) konzentriert sich auf Kohlelieferanten, wobei die Besitzerin eines Familienunternehmens für Kohle im Vordergrund steht. Anstatt einen übermäßig sentimentalen Blick auf ihre Arbeit zu werfen, gewinnen wir stattdessen ein Verständnis für die Probleme, mit denen diese Arbeiter konfrontiert sind. Misselwitz’ Betonung des Privatlebens wäre im ostdeutschen Kino nicht zuletzt wegen der Diskussionen um Alkoholismus, Suizid und Fluchtmöglichkeiten in den Westen bislang tabu gewesen.

Anmerkung: „Der Titel des Films bezieht sich auf Deutsch auf einen Reim in einem gängigen Kinderspiel mit Wurzeln im Mittelalter. Jetzt und seit Jahrhunderten hat es auch rassistische Untertöne. Wir finden, das englische Wort 'Bogeyman' passt am besten zu den Intentionen des Regisseurs.“ – DEFA-Filmarchiv 2021



Diese Vorführung wird von Emily Mason eingeführt.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen

Bulky Trash (Sperrmüll)
GDR, 1990, colour, DCP, 78 mins, German with English subtitles. 
Directed by Helke Misselwitz, Screenplay: Gerd Kroske, Helke Misselwitz, Camera: Thomas Plenert, Editing: Gudrun Steinbrück, Sound: Andreas Kaufmann. 

Who is Afraid of the Bogey Man? (Wer fürchtet sich vorm Schwarzen Mann)
GDR, 1989, b/w, DCP (35mm), 52 mins, German with English subtitles. 
Directed by Helke Misselwitz, Screenplay: Helke Misselwitz, Thomas Plenert, Director of Photography: Thomas Plenert, Editing: Gudrun Plenert (= Steinbrück), Music: Brigitte Unterdörfer, Sound: Ronald Gohlke



 

Zurück