Film Festival Essay Film Festival 2017: Session #2

W.Dütsch_Fritz Lang Still © W. Dütsch: Fritz Lang

Sat, 25.03.2017

Birkbeck Cinema

43 Gordon Square
WC1H 0PD London

Thinking Cinema on Television: Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR), ca. 1975 (Screening 1)

The first programme in this series will be introduced by programme curator Volker Pantenburg and followed by a conversation with Werner Dütsch.
 
Please note that this event takes place at the Birkbeck Cinema.

 
Filmemigration aus Nazi-Deutschland- Teil 1 (Film Emigration from Nazi Germany - Part 1), Günter Peter Straschek, Germany, 1975, 16mm (transferred to digital), 60 mins, German with English subtitles.
 
Günter Peter Straschek (1942–2009) belonged to first group of students of the Deutsche Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb). He started studying film in 1966 together with Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Holger Meins, Helke Sander, and others. His student film Ein Western für den SDS was confiscated by the director of the school, and the ensuing occupation of the director’s office led to the relegation of Straschek and other students in 1968.
 
This is the first episode of a five-part series consisting of comprehensive interviews with people who had worked in the German film industry before they were forced into exile during the Nazi period. Apart from some radio features and articles, this 290-minute TV programme remains the only published trace of Günter Peter Straschek’s lifelong work on the emigration of film personnel. He intended to publish a three-volume book, encompassing all available data about 3,000 emigrants originating from the centre and peripheries of film production. However, this book never materialised.
 
Fritz Lang, Werner Dütsch, Germany, 1974/1990, 16mm (transferred to digital), 45 mins, German with English subtitles.
 
Werner Dütsch was one of the most prolific commissioning editors at the WDR film department, producing work by Helmut Färber, Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky and many others. His Fritz Lang is a reworked version of an earlier program on the German director (Die schweren Träume des Fritz Lang, 1974). Like other commissioning editors at the WDR, Dütsch not only organised TV-retrospectives, and initiated and co-produced work by others, but he also worked as an author and director. Fritz Lang is organised as a dialogue between two voices (Dütsch and Martina Müller), addressing the main themes and obsessions of the director. The film is full of concise observations: “There is a lot of killing in Lang’s films; with energy, skill, and arrogance. Images of bodies, falling heavy and helplessly, follow. As if the dead, with their specific weight, wanted block the way of the living.”
 
About Werner Dütsch:

Born in 1939, Werner Dütsch was commissioning editor for fiction films, documentaries and programmes about cinema at the WDR (West German Broadcasting Station) in Cologne for over three decades, and for over two decades he taught at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (KHM). He has also worked for the Documentary Film Week in Duisburg for many years. He is the author of Im Banne der roten Hexe - Childhood, Youth and the Magic of Cinema in Postwar Germany (2016) and co-author of Lola Montez - eine Filmgeschichte (2002).
 
About Volker Pantenburg:

Volker Pantenburg is professor for Film Studies at Freie Universität Berlin. He has published widely on essayistic film and video practices, experimental cinema, and contemporary moving image installations. Recent book publications include: Farocki/Godard. Film as Theory (Amsterdam: Amsterdam UP 2015); Cinematographic Objects. Things and Operations (Berlin: August 2015, Editor); and Screen Dynamics. Mapping the Borders of Cinema (Vienna: Austrian Film Museum 2012; Co-Editor). In 2015, he co-founded the “Harun Farocki Institut,” a non-profit organisation designed as a platform for researching Farocki’s visual and discursive practice and supporting new projects that engage with the past, present and the future of image cultures.

Back to event series
Book Tickets

Back

Filmfestival Essay Film Festival 2017: Session #2

W.Dütsch_Fritz Lang Still © W. Dütsch: Fritz Lang

Sa, 25.03.2017

Birkbeck Cinema

43 Gordon Square
WC1H 0PD London

Thinking Cinema on Television: Westdeutscher Rundfunk (WDR), ca. 1975 (Screening 1)

Das erste Programm in dieser Serie wird von dem Programmkuratoren Volker Pantenburg vorgestellt. Anschließend gibt es ein Gespräch mit Werner Dütsch.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass diese Veranstaltung im Birkbeck Cinema stattfindet.
 
Filmemigration aus Nazi-Deutschland - Teil 1
, Günter Peter Straschek, Deutschland, 1975, 16mm (digitaler Transfer), 60 Min, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln.
 
Günter Peter Straschek
 (1942–2009) gehörte zum ersten Studenten-Jahrgang der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (dffb). 1966 begann er unter anderen zusammen mit Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Holger Meins und Helke Sander, Film zu studieren. Strascheks Seminarfilm Ein Western für den SDS wurde durch den Direktor der Akademie konfisziert, die anschließende Besetzung seines Büros führte 1968 zur Relegation von Straschek und weiteren Studenten.

Dies ist die erste Folge einer fünfteiligen Serie. In umfangreichen Interviews werden Emigranten über ihre Arbeit in der deutschen Filmindustrie befragt, die wegen des nationalsozialistischen Regimes ins Exil gehen mussten. Abgesehen von einigen Radioarbeiten und Texten bleibt diese 290 minütige Fernsehsendung die einzige öffentliche Spur von Günter Peter Strascheks lebenslanger Arbeit über Emigration von Filmschaffenden. Ein dreibändiges Buch hätte alles zugängliche Material über 3000 Emigranten aus allen Bereichen der Filmproduktion umfassen sollen. Dieses Buch ist jedoch nie erschienen.

Fritz Lang, Werner Dütsch, Deutschland, 1974/1990, 16mm (digitaler Transfer), 45 Min, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln.

Werner Dütsch war einer der produktivsten Redakteure der WDR Filmredaktion und produzierte Arbeiten von Helmut FärberHarun FarockiHartmut Bitomsky und vielen anderen. Sein Fritz Lang ist eine überarbeitete Version eines früheren Programms des deutschen Regisseurs (Die schweren Träume des Fritz Lang, 1974). Wie auch andere Chefredakteure, organisierte Dütsch nicht nur TV Retrospektiven, initiierte und co-produzierte die Arbeit anderer, sondern arbeitete auch selbst als Autor und Regisseur. Fritz Lang ist angelegt als ein Dialog zwischen zwei Stimmen (Dütsch und Martina Müller), die die Hauptthemen und Obsessionen des Regisseures behandeln. Der Film ist voll von präzisen Beobachtungen: „Es wird oft getötet in Langs Filmen; mit Energie, Geschicklichkeit und Arroganz. Dann folgen Bilder der schwer und hilflos niederstürzenden Körper. Als wollten die Toten sich mit ihrem besonderen Gewicht den Lebenden in den Weg legen.“
 
Über Werner Dütsch:

Werner Dütsch
 wurde 1939 in Berlin geboren. Er war drei Jahrzehnte lang leitender Redakteur für Spielfilm, Dokumentation und Programme über Kino beim WDR (Westdeutscher Rundfunk) in Köln und unterrichtete zwei Jahrzehnte lang an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (KHM). Viele Jahre lang arbeitete er auch für die Duisburger Filmwoche. Er ist der Autor von Im Banne der roten Hexe – Film als Lebensmittel (2016) und Co-Autor von Lola Montez - eine Filmgeschichte (2002).
 
Über Volker Patenburg:

Volker Pantenburg
 ist Professor für Filmwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin. Er hat zu essayistischen Film- und Videopraktiken, Experimentalfilm und zeitgenössischen Installationen publiziert. Unter den jüngsten Buchpublikationen finden sich: Farocki/Godard. Film as Theory (Amsterdam: Amsterdam UP 2015); Cinematographic Objects. Things and Operations (Berlin: August 2015, Herausgeber); und Screen Dynamics. Mapping the Borders of Cinema (Wien: Österreichisches Filmmuseum 2012; Mitherausgeber). Im Jahre 2015 hat er das “Harun Farocki Institut” mitbegründet, eine  Plattform zur Erforschung von Farockis visueller und diskursiver Praxis, die auch neue Projekte unterstützt, die sich mit Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft von Bildkulturen auseinandersetzten.

Zurück zur Veranstaltungsreihe
Book Tickets

Zurück