Film Screening Humphrey Jennings: Spare Time & Angela Schanelec

Schanelec Nachmittag Still: Nachmittag, Regisseurin Angela Schanelec

Thu, 13.09.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

The screening will be followed by a conversation between the season curator Patrick Holzapfel and Angela Schanelec.

Humphrey Jennings: Spare Time

 
The structure of Humphrey Jennings’ first truly free film is a small miracle of poetry. He films in three cities, each the location of a different industry: steel, cotton, and coal. He portrays the leisure activities of the English working class during the prewar period in all three cities. The propagandistic tendency in the film, made as a GPO Film Unit production, is undercut by a sustained sadness, reminding us of the fact that spare time is the time left after many hard hours of work.
 
UK 1939, b/w, 35mm, 15 min, English. Directed by Humphrey Jennings. Print Source: British Film Institute.

Angela Schanelec: Afternoon (Nachmittag)
 
Based on Anton Chekhov’s play „The Seagull“, Afternoon tells the story of a quest for belonging. The location is a beautiful house on a lake near Berlin, where, in the gentle summer heat, relationships languish, convulse, and dissolve. A sense of loss prevails, and finds its counterpart. Will this counterpart be recognized, understood, or misjudged? Austerely, precisely, a fragile vulnerability unfolds, slipping by as casually as a cooling breeze, yet determining lives. Rarely has a film seethed with so much tenderness.
 
Germany 2007, colour, 35mm, 97 min, German with English subtitles. Directed by Angela Schanelec. With Jirka Zett, Miriam Horwitz, Angela Schanelec, Fritz Schediwy, Mark Waschke, Agnes Schanelec, Katharina Linder. Print Source: Goethe-Institut, Rights: Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum for Film and Television, Berlin.

Pleasee note that we do not show any advertisement before our film screenings and start the film at the advertised time.

Book tickets through Eventbrite

This Screening is part of the retrospective "Always Somewhere Else - The Cinema of Angela Schanelec in Dialogue"
 

Back

Filmvorführung Humphrey Jennings: Spare Time & Angela Schanelec

Schanelec Nachmittag Still: Afternoon, Regisseurin Angela Schanelec

Do, 13.09.2018

19:00

Goethe-Institut London

Im Anschluss an die Filmvorführung wird es ein Gespräch zwischen dem Kurator der Reihe, Patrick Holzapfel und Angela Schanelec geben.

Humphrey Jennings: Spare Time

 
Die Struktur von Humphrey Jennings erstem wahrlich freien Film ist in sich ein kleines Wunder einfacher Poesie. Er filmt in drei Städten mit drei unterschiedlichen industriellen Schwerpunkten: Stahl, Baumwolle, Kohle. In diesen Städten portraitiert er das Freizeitverhalten der englischen Arbeiterklasse der Vorkriegszeit. Die propagandistische Grundhaltung des Films, der im Rahmen der GPO Unit entstand, unterläuft der Film mit einer anhaltenden Traurigkeit, die uns daran erinnert, dass „spare time“, die Zeit ist, die übrig ist nach den langen Stunden harter Arbeit.
 
Großbritannien 1939, s/w, 35mm, 15 Min., Englisch. Regie: Humphrey Jennings. Kopie: British Film Institute.

Angela Schanelec: Nachmittag
 
Angelehnt an Anton Tschechows „Die Möwe“ erzählt Schanelec von der Suche nach Zugehörigkeit in einem schönen Haus am See nahe Berlin. Unter dem Eindruck einer sanften Sommerhitze ermatten, verkrampfen und (er-)lösen sich Beziehungen. Dabei gibt es zu jeder Verlorenheit ein Gegenüber. Die Frage ist nur, ob dieses er- oder verkannt wird. Drückend und präzise entblättert sich so eine fragile Verletzlichkeit, die beinahe beiläufig und gleich einer kühlenden Brise am Leben selbst vorbeiführt und genau dadurch Existenzen prägt. Selten hat man einen derart zärtlich brodelnden Film gesehen.
 
Deutschland 2007, Farbe, 35mm, 97 Min, Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln. Regie: Angela Schanelec. Mit Jirka Zett, Miriam Horwitz, Angela Schanelec, Fritz Schediwy, Mark Waschke, Agnes Schanelec, Katharina Linder. Kopie: Goethe-Institut, Rechte: Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen, Berlin.

Wir zeigen keine Werbung vor unseren Vorführungen und starten den Film zur angegebenen Uhrzeit.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
 
Diese Filmvorführung ist Teil der Retrospektive "Always Somewhere Else - Das Kino von Angela Schanelec im Dialog"
 

Zurück