Film Screening Angela Schanelec: Passing Summer & Edward Yang: The Terrorizers (Kong bu fen zi)

At the window Still: Passing Summer, Director: Angela Schanelec

Tue, 25.09.2018

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Angela Schanelec: Passing Summer (Mein Langsames Leben)
 
Schanelec’s fourth feature asks the following question: Should I stay or should I go? One could, one would have, one wanted to – and while thinking it all through, one ends up living an isolated life; almost out of focus, fading into the bourgeois everything-and-nothing flair of Berlin. While a friend goes to Rome for half a year Valerie stays in Berlin. The film stays with her. Each scene could be the start of a romance, of a relationship charged with strong emotions. But in Schanelec's work, big feelings remain a mere possibility, revealing themselves in what might be lost in and outside the cinema.
 
Gemany 2000, colour, 35mm, 85 min, German with English subtitles. Directed by Angela Schanelec. With Ursina Lardi, Andreas Patton, Anne Tismer, Wolfgang Michael, Sophie Aigner, Clara Enge, Nina Weniger, Devid Striesow, Angela Schanelec, Rüdiger Vogler. Print Source: Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum for Film and Television, Berlin.

Edward Yang: The Terrorizers (Kong bu fen zi) (approximate start time: 8:30PM)

The experience of a city as worn-out emotion: in the mid-1980s, Edward Yang, trailblazer of the New Taiwanese Cinema, is at the peak of his craft. His cinema reflects an aesthetical and political liberation of a country searching for its own identity in the wake of a brutal history. In the fashion of an unfinished portmanteau film, Yang shows a number of different incidents in Taipei. Many of the episodes revolve around guilt and violence. From the very beginning, images and stories connect through the associative, petrified dynamics of an invisible sickness and alienation. Police sirens ring out. People lie motionless in the street. Yet, there is no hysteria; just a cut to another daily routine.
 
Taiwan 1986, colour, DCP (35mm), 109 min, Mandarin, Taiwanese with English subtitles. Directed by Edward Yang. With Cora Miao, Li-chun Lee, Shih-jye Jin, An Wang, Ming Liu, An-shun Yu, Bao-ming Gu, Shao-chun Ma, Chia-ching Huang. Print Source: Central Motion Picture Corporation, Taipei City.

We encourage you two watch both films as the programme intends to present them as a pair. But if you can only come to the second flim, please check the approximate start time above.

Pleasee note that we do not show any advertisement before our film screenings and start the film at the advertised time.


Book Tickets Through Eventbrite

This Screening is part of the retrospective "Always Somewhere Else - The Cinema of Angela Schanelec in Dialogue"
 

Back

Filmvorführung Angela Schanelec: Mein Langsames Leben & Edward Yang: Die Spur des Schreckens (Kong bu fen zi)

Am Fenster Still: Mein langsames Leben, Regisseurin: Angela Schanelec

Di, 25.09.2018

18:45

Goethe-Institut London

Angela Schanelec: Mein Langsames Leben
 
Ist es ein Bleiben oder ein Gehen, man fragt es sich in Angela Schanelecs vierten Spielfilm. Man könnte, man hätte, man wollte und dabei bleibt man isoliert zwischen den Schärfen, vor der Unschärfe, verschwimmend im bürgerlichen Nichts und Alles von Berlin. Eine Freundin geht für ein halbes Jahr nach Rom. Valerie bleibt in Berlin. Schanelec tut es ihr gleich. Jede Szene erahnt sich wie eine kommende Romanze. Der Film könnte beständig von den großen Gefühlen erzählen, viele Szenen könnten der Ausgangspunkt für eine Beziehungsgeschichte sein, aber er findet seine großen Gefühle im Konjunktiv, in dem, was es nicht nur im Kino zu verlieren gibt.

Deutschland 2000, Farbe, 35mm, 85 Min., Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln. Regie: Angela Schanelec. Mit Ursina Lardi, Andreas Patton, Anne Tismer, Wolfgang Michael, Sophie Aigner, Clara Enge, Nina Weniger, Devid Striesow, Angela Schanelec, Rüdiger Vogler. Kopie: Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen, Berlin.

Edward Yang: Die Spur des Schreckens (Kong bu fen zi) (ungefähre Anfangszeit 20:30 Uhr)
 

Die Erfahrung der Stadt als abgenutzte Emotion. Mitte der 1980er befindet sich Edward Yang, Vorreiter des Neuen Taiwanischen Kinos, am Höhepunkt seines Schaffens. Sein Kino repräsentiert eine ästhetisch-politische Befreiung dieses von der Geschichte so brutal heimgesuchten Landes auf der Suche nach einer eigenen Identität. Der Film erzählt im Stil eines unvollendeten Episodendramas von verschiedenen Ereignissen in Taipeh. Vieles dreht sich dabei um Schuld und Gewalt. Von Beginn an verbinden sich die Bilder über die assoziative, erstarrte Dynamik einer unsichtbaren Krankheit und Entfremdung. Man hört Polizeisirenen. Menschen liegen bewegungslos auf der Straße. Aber keine Hysterie, nur ein Schnitt auf einen anderen Alltag.
 
Taiwan 1986, Farbe, DCP (35mm), 109 Min., Mandarin, Taiwanesisch mit englischen Untertiteln. Regie: Edward Yang. Mit Cora Miao, Li-chun Lee, Shih-jye Jin, An Wang, Ming Liu, An-shun Yu, Bao-ming Gu, Shao-chun Ma, Chia-ching Huang. Kopie: Central Motion Picture Corporation, Taipei City.


Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die Filme in diesem Programm ein Paar bilden und würden uns freuen, wenn Sie beide sehen würden. Sollten Sie jedoch nur zum dem zweiten Film kommen können, beachten Sie bitte die oben angegebene ungefähre Anfangszeit.

Wir zeigen keine Werbung vor unseren Vorführungen und starten den Film zur angegebenen Uhrzeit.


Tickets über Eventbrite buchen

Diese Filmvorführung ist Teil der Retrospektive "Always Somewhere Else - Das Kino von Angela Schanelec im Dialog"

 

Zurück