Conjuring up the Real: The Films of Jürgen Böttcher

Jürgen Böttcher: Laundry Women Jürgen Böttcher: Laundry Women © DEFA-Stiftung, Horst Sperber

Jürgen Böttcher (b. 1931) is one of the most outstanding and influential documentary directors to have worked in East Germany. Starting in the late 1950s, he made over forty short and full length films, most of them within the state-run DEFA studios until the German Democratic Republic (GDR) ceased to exist in 1990. Though commissioned by the GDR’s state-owned production system, his films were often aesthetically provocative and out of sync with the official party line. To a greater part Böttcher’s films were influenced by his practice as a painter, a practice which also brought him into conflict with the state-prescribed anti-formalist aesthetics. He was excluded from the Association of Fine Artists in 1961 and consequently strongly restricted in publicly showing his work until the late 1970s /early 1980s. However, Böttcher has carried on painting under the name of Strawalde and continues to do so on a daily basis from his home studio in Berlin.
 
Celebrating Jürgen Böttcher’s diverse body of work as a filmmaker, this season includes seven programmes of short and feature length films. On Wednesday, 23 October, the season will open at the Goethe-Institut with Böttcher’s only fiction feature, the banned Born in ’45. A workshop at King’s College London on 26 October will explore the theme of looking and being looked at in three more of Böttcher’s short films. Close-Up Film Centre will present three short programmes on 27 October and 3 November, including Böttcher’s experimental Transformations-Trilogy and his late masterpiece Shunters shown on 35mm. Another highlight will be a rare screening of the beautiful travelogue In Georgia, one of Böttcher’s personal favourites, on 8 November, also on 35mm. The series will close with The Wall, Böttcher's idiosyncratic response to the fall of the Berlin Wall. Introductions and post-screening discussions will provide an opportunity to get to know Böttcher’s remarkable films in more depth.
 
Please find a list of events further below.
 
'Conjuring up the Real: The Films of Jürgen Böttcher' is presented by the Goethe-Institut in collaboration with Close-Up Film Centre, ,King’s College London and the German Screen Studies Network as well as in partnership with Life Through Cinema and Open City Documentary Festival for individual events.
With special thanks to Diana Mavroleon for initiating the season and conceiving the programmes at Close-Up, and to Franziska Nössig and Martin Brady for their substantial input into the overall programme and for organizing the workshop at King’s College. Further thanks go to Oliver Dickens for hosting the screenings at Close-Up.
We would also like to thank Mirko Wiermann (DEFA-Stiftung), Diana Kluge (Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen) and Claudia Brändle (Filmpodium Zurich).
 
The prints and DCPs shown in this retrospective have been provided through the DEFA-Foundation and its distribution service located at the Deutsche Kinemathek – Museum für Film und Fernsehen in Berlin.



Logo

Conjuring up the Real: The Films of Jürgen Böttcher

Jürgen Böttcher: Wäscherinnen Jürgen Böttcher: Wäscherinnen © DEFA-Stiftung, Horst Sperber

Jürgen Böttcher (* 1931) gilt als einer der bedeutendsten und einflussreichsten Dokumentarfilmregisseure der DDR. Ab den späten 1950er Jahren bis zum Ende der DDR im Jahr 1990 drehte er über 40 Kurz- und Langfilme, bis auf seine Studentenfilme alle im Kontext der staatlichen DEFA-Studios. Obwohl im Auftrag des staatlichen Produktionssystems entstanden, waren seine Filme oft ästhetisch provokativ und entsprachen nicht der offiziellen Parteilinie. Böttchers Filme wurden stark durch seine Praxis als Maler beeinflusst, die ihn ebenfalls in Konflikt mit der staatlich vorgeschriebenen antiformalistischen Ästhetik brachte. Nach seinem Ausschluss aus den Verband Bildender Künstler im Jahr 1961 waren seine Möglichkeiten öffentlich auszustellen bis in die 1970er / frühen 80er Jahre stark eingeschränkt. Böttcher malte jedoch unter dem Namen Strawalde weiter und tut dies weiterhin täglich in seinem Atelier in seiner Wohnung in Berlin.
 
Unsere in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Close-Up Film Centre und dem King's College London organisierte Reihe stellt Böttchers vielfältiges Filmschaffen in sieben Programmen vor. Sie beginnt am Mittwoch, 23. Oktober, im Goethe-Institut mit Böttchers einzigem, zu DDR-Zeiten verbotenem, Spielfilm Jahrgang 45. Es folgt ein Workshop am King's College London am Samstag, 26. Oktober, in dem das Thema des Sehens und Gesehen-Werdens in drei Kurzfilmen Böttchers näher betrachten wird. Am 27. Oktober und 3. November zeigt das Close-Up Film Centre zwei Kurzfilmprogramme, in deren Rahmen u.a. Böttchers Experimentalfilm-Trilogie Verwandlungen und sein spätes Meisterwerk Rangierer (präsentiert auf 35mm) zu sehen sein werden. Ein weiteres Highlight ist die Vorführung des selten gezeigten Reisefilms In Georgien am 8. November, ein Lieblingsfilm Böttchers, den wir auf 35mm zeigen. Die Reihe endet am 21. November mit Die Mauer, Böttchers eigenwillige Reaktion auf den Fall der Berliner Mauer. Einführungen und Diskussion werden Gelegenheit bieten, sich näher mit Böttchers bemerkenswerten Filme auseinanderzusetzten.
 
Eine Liste der Veranstaltungen in dieser Reihe finden Sie weiter unten auf diese Seite.
 
'Conjuring up the Real: The Films of Jürgen Böttcher'  wird vom Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Close-Up Film Centre,  King's College London und dem German Screen Studies Network sowie, bei Einzelveranstaltungen, in Partnerschaft mit Life Through Cinema und dem Open City DocumentaryFestival  präsentiert.
Unser besonderer Dank gilt Diana Mavroleon für das Initiieren der Reihe und die Zusammenstellung der Programme bei Close-Up, sowie Franziska Nössig und Martin Brady sowohl für ihren substantiellen Beitrag zum Gesamtprogramm als auch für die Organisation des Workshops am King's College. Weiterer Dank geht an Oliver Dickens für die Betreuung der Filmvorführungen bei Close-Up.
Wir bedanken uns auch bei Mirko Wiermann (DEFA-Stiftung), Diana Kluge (Deutsche Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen) und Claudia Brändle (Filmpodium Zürich).

 
Die in dieser Retrospektive gezeigten DCPs und Filmkopien wurden von der DEFA-Stiftung und ihrem Verleih bei der Deutschen Kinemathek - Museum für Film und Fernsehen in Berlin zur Verfügung gestellt.


Partner Logo