Film Screening Born ’45 & Stars

Born in '45 © DEFA-Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Wed, 23.10.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

We start our Jürgen Böttcher season with Born in ’45 (Jahrgang 45), Böttcher’s only fiction feature. A story about love, indecision, searching and aimless wandering – light and atmospheric, yet firmly grounded in the reality of 1960s East Berlin. Stars, Böttcher’s first of several films to portrait women at work, will open the screening following an introduction by Franziska Nössig, King’s College London
 
Born in ‘45
 
Al (Alfred) and Li (Lisa) haven’t been married for long, but somehow they don’t get on anymore and have filed for divorce. While Li, who is a nurse, continues going to work, Al has taken a few days off from his job as a car mechanic, using his free days to wander through the city to spend time with his neighbour Mogul, to see his friends, re-connect with an old girl-friend, visit his mother. In contrast with Li, who keeps up her routine and seems clear about what she wants from her life, Al obviously needs time and space to find out what seems to be missing from his life.
 
When he started to make films, Böttcher said, it was with the aim to direct feature films. But he saw his documentary work as a vital preparation for this goal. An admirer of the Italian Neo-Realism of de Sica, Visconti, and Rossellini, he wanted to make films that reflect the harsh reality of everyday life. There may not be so much harshness in Born in ‘45. Yet, the difficulties depicted feel real and comprehensible, not only because they are, as the title suggest, those shared by many of that post-war generation that turned twenty in the mid-1960s. Al’s and Li’s problems also come across as so authentic because they are embedded in a narrative that moves naturally from scene to scene in an unobtrusive rhythm, that feels more observed than staged and that unfolds in the summary atmosphere of the parks, squares, and streets of East Berlin at the time.
 
Born in ’45 remained Böttcher’s only fiction feature film. The realism that he was aiming for in terms of story and of style, was exactly what the GDR officials objected to, one of them condemning it as the “Heroization of the Deviant”. Consequently, the film was banned at the stage of the rough cut and only completed in 1990, when it finally had its premiere. Böttcher returned to making documentaries, “an almost crazy vision of a future film” (Böttcher) and his painting keeping him going.
 
Born in ’45 (Jahrgang 45), GDR 1966 / 1990,  b/w, DCP (35mm), 91 mins. With English subtitles.
Directed by Jürgen Böttcher. Written by Klaus Poche, Jürgen Poche. Cinematography: Roland Gräf. Music: Matthias Suschke, Wolf Biermann (songs). With Monika Hildebrand, Rolf Römer, Paul Eichbaum, Holger Mahlich, Gesine Rosenberg, Walter Stolp, Werner Kanitz, Ingo Koster, Anita Okon, Ruth Kommerell, Richard Rückheim, Ralf Winkler alias A. R. Penck.

 
 
Stars
 
Böttcher’s first film to document women at work is a group portrait of an all-female brigade at the NARVA light-bulb factory in Berlin, where each worker examines more than 30,000 filaments a month through a microscope. We see the women interact, talk and joke and hear them discuss the pros and cons of working or staying at home after childbirth.
 
Stars, GDR 1963, b/w, DCP (35mm), 20 mins. With English subtitles.
Directed by Jürgen Böttcher.

Book tickets through Eventbrite

The screening will be introduced by Franziska Nössig.
 
Franziska Nössig teaches in the German Department at King's College London, where she recently completed her PhD on Jürgen Böttcher. She has published on his experimental trilogy Transformations and has presented his films at the German Embassy London and the Weimar Art Society.
 

Back

Film Jahrgang 45 & Stars

Jahrgang 45 © DEFA-Stiftung Thomas Plenert

Mi, 23.10.2019

Goethe-Institut London

50 Princes Gate
Exhibition Road
SW7 2PH London

Wir eröffnen unsere Jürgen-Böttcher-Reihe mit Jahrgang 45, seinem einzigen Spielfilm. Eine Geschichte über Liebe, Unentschlossenheit, Suche und ziellosem Herumstreifen – leicht und atmosphärisch, doch fest verankert in der Realität Ostberlins Mitte der 1960er Jahre.
Stars, Böttchers erster von mehreren Kurzfilmen über Frauen am Arbeitsplatz, geht dem Hauptfilm voraus. Beide Filme werden eingeführt von Franziska Nössig, King’s College London
.
 
Jahrgang 45
 
Al (Alfred) und Li (Lisa) sind noch nicht lange verheiratet, aber irgendwie kommen sie nicht mehr miteinander aus und haben die Scheidung eingereicht. Während Li weiterhin zur Arbeit geht – sie arbeitet als Krankenschwester - , hat sich Al ein paar Tage Urlaub von seinem Job als Automechaniker genommen. Nun kann er Zeit mit seinem Nachbarn Mogul verbringen, durch die Stadt ziehen, Freunde treffen, mit einer früheren Freundin neu anbändeln, seine Mutter besuchen. Im Gegensatz zu Li, die ihre Routine beibehält und anscheinend weiß, was sie vom Leben will, braucht Al offensichtlich Zeit und Raum, um herauszufinden, was in seinem Leben fehlt.
 
Als er begann, Filme zu machen, sagte Böttcher, tat er dies mit dem Ziel, einmal Spielfilme zu drehen. Aber er sah seine Dokumentarfilmarbeit als wichtige Vorbereitung auf dieses Vorhaben. Als Bewunderer der neorealistischen Filme von de Sica, Rossellini und Visconti wollte er Filme machen, die die harte Realität des täglichen Lebens widerspiegeln. Zwar mögen die Verhältnisse in Jahrgang 45 nicht allzu hart erscheinen. Aber die geschilderten Schwierigkeiten erscheinen doch real und nachvollziehbar, nicht nur weil es, wie der Titel suggeriert, die Schwierigkeiten die von vielen in jener Nachkriegsgeneration waren, die Mitte der 1960er Jahre zwanzig wurden. Als und Lis Probleme wirken vor allem auch authentisch, weil sie in eine Erzählung eingebettet sind, die sich wie selbstverständlich von Szene zu Szene bewegt, mehr beobachtet als inszeniert wirkt und sich in der sommerlichen Atmosphäre der Parks, Plätze und Straßen des damaligen Ostberlins entfaltet.
 
Jahrgang 45 blieb Böttchers einziger Spielfilm. Der von ihm angestrebte Realismus sowohl im Inhalt als auch bei dessen stilistischer Umsetzung war genau das, was auf die Ablehnung der zuständigen DDR-Behörden stieß. Eine Kritik lautete, der Film verkörpere die “Heroisierung des Abseitigen”. So wurde der Film im Stadium des Rohschnitts verboten und erst 1990 fertigestellt und uraufgeführt. Nach dem Verbot kehrte Böttcher zurück zum Dokumentarfilm. Eine, in seinen Worten,  “fast verrückte Idee vom künftigen Film” und seine Malerei halfen ihm, den Schlag zu überstehen und weiterhin kreativ zu bleiben.  
 
Jahrgang 45 (Born in ’45), DDR 1966 / 1990, s/w, DCP (35mm), 91 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Jürgen Böttcher. Buch: Klaus Poche, Jürgen Poche. Kamera: Roland Gräf. Musik: Matthias Suschke, Wolf Biermann (Lieder). Mit Monika Hildebrand, Rolf Römer, Paul Eichbaum, Holger Mahlich, Gesine Rosenberg, Walter Stolp, Werner Kanitz, Ingo Koster, Anita Okon, Ruth Kommerell, Richard Rückheim, Ralf Winkler alias A. R. Penck.
 


Stars
 
Böttchers erster Film, in dem er Frauen bei der Arbeit zeigt, ist das Gruppenportrait einer Frauenbrigade in der NARVA Glühbirnenfabrik in Berlin, wo die Arbeiterinnen mehr als 30.000 Wolframdrahte (Wendeln) pro Monat prüfen müssen. Wir sehen den Frauen bei ihrer anstrengenden Arbeit zu, wir hören sie schwatzen, scherzen und werden Zeugen einer Diskussion darüber, ob es besser ist, nach der Geburt eines Kindes zurück zur Arbeit zu kommen oder zuhause zu bleiben.  
 
Stars, DDR 1963, s/w, DCP (35mm), 20 Min. Mit englischen Untertiteln.
Regie: Jürgen Böttcher.


Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
 
Mit einer Einführung von Franziska Nössig, King's College London.

Franziska Nössig unterrichtet im German Department am King’s College London, wo sie Anfang des Jahres über Jürgen Böttcher promovierte. Sie hat zu Böttchers Experimentalfilm-Trilogie "Verwandlungen" veröffentlicht und seine Filme u.a. bei der Deutschen Botschaft in London und der Weimarer Kunstgesellschaft vorgestellt.
 

Zurück