Reading Group Reading Group: Anna Seghers - Transit (online)

Book Escape Route to Marseille Fluchtweg nach Marseille, ©Ingemo Engström, Gerhard Theuring, 1977

Tue, 17.11.2020

Birkbeck & Goethe-Institut London


E5 0NP London


Leading up a screening of the film Escape to Marseille by Ingemo Engström and Gerhard Theuring during the Essay Film Festival in April this yearl, the festival and the Goethe-Institute had scheduled three reading group sessions to discuss the novel Transit by Anna Seghers, which the film is based on. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic we could only have one session and the screening was cancelled. We would now like to offer one more session to look at some other aspects of the novel to bridge the time until we will finally be able to show the film in the cinema and discuss it in connection with the book in the hopefully not too far away future. Erica Carter, Professor of German and Film at King's College London, will guide through the session.

Completed in 1942, first published in English and in Spanish in 1944, and eventually in Germany in 1948, Anna Seghers’s novel Transit is one of the great classics of exile literature. Written in her own exile in Mexico throughout 1941, it brilliantly captures the agonising state of limbo that refugees and exiles find themselves in as they wait for governments and bureaucracies to take decisions that can save their lives. In preparation of the screening of the adaption of the novel by Ingemo Engström and Gerhard Theuring Escape to Marseille on 4 April as part of the Essay Film Festival 2020, we invite you to a reading group that will explore some of the themes raised by Seghers's book and the cultural and historical context in which it was written.
 
Drawing on her own experiences of escaping from Nazi Germany, Seghers tells the story of a young German man, who, having escaped a concentration camp in Germany and a work camp in France, finds himself in Paris as the Nazis are occupying the city. Here an acquaintance from the camp asks him to deliver a letter to a friend, the writer Weidel, a favour that takes the unnamed protagonist on a journey through France to Marseille in late 1940. The seaport in the south of France has become the waiting room for thousands of European exiles and refugees hoping to get visas and tickets for passages to countries across the sea. Initially only an observer, or rather a listener to the stories of the people he meets in the corridors of consulates or in the local cafés, his fate becomes more and more entangled with that of Weidel to whom he was supposed to deliver the letter but never managed to do so. Marseille for him comes the place where he finds his great love and recovers his sense of compassion for others that he had deemed lost.

If you would like to join the reading group, please register in advance here:
Please register here. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.

 
If you have any questions about the reading group, please send a message marked "Transit reading group" to the following address: bimi@bbk.ac.uk

In cooperation with the Essay Film Festival and the German Screen Studies Network.


 
 

Back

Lesegruppe Lesegruppe: Anna Seghers - Transit (online)

Buch Fluchtweg nach Marseille Fluchtweg nach Marseille, ©Ingemo Engström, Gerhard Theuring, 1977

Di, 17.11.2020

19:00

Birkbeck & Goethe-Institut London

Im April diesen Jahres planten wir zusammen mit dem Essay Film Festival eine Vorführung des Films Fluchtweg nach Marseille von Ingemo Engström und Gerhard Theuring. Im Vorfeld der Filmpräsentation sollten drei Reading Group-Sitzungen stattfinden, in denen wir den Roman Transit von Anna Seghers, der dem Film als Vorlage diente, besprechen wollten. Von den drei Sitzungen konnte wegen der COVID-19-Pandemie nur eine stattfinden und die Filmvorführung musste abgesagt werden. Wir würden nun gerne eine Reading-Group-Session anbieten, die sich mit weiteren Aspekten des Roman beschäftigt, um die Zeit zu überbrücken, bis wir den Film im Kino zeigen und die Beziehungen zwischen Buch und Film besprechen können. Professor of German and Film am King's College London wird die Sitzung leiten.

Der 1942 vollendete Roman Transit von Anna Seghers, der erstmals 1944 in englischer und spanischer Sprache und schließlich 1948 in Deutschland veröffentlicht wurde, gehört zu den großen Klassikern der Exilliteratur. Seghers schrieb ihn 1941, als sie selbst im Exil in Mexiko lebte. Auf eindringliche Weise beschreibt er den qualvollen Zustand der Schwebe, in dem sich Flüchtlinge befinden, die auf lebenswichtige Entscheidungen von Regierungen und Bürokraten warten.
 
Erfahrungen ihrer eigenen Flucht aus Nazideutschland verarbeitend erzählt Seghers die Geschichte eines jungen Deutschen, der nach der Flucht aus einem deutschen Konzentrationslager und einem Arbeitslager in Frankreich nach Paris kommt, als die Stadt von den Nazis besetzt wird. Hier bittet ihn ein Bekannter aus dem Lager, den er zufällig wiedertrifft, einen Brief an einem Freund, den Schriftsteller Weidel, zu überbringen. Diese Bitte führt den namenlosen Protagonisten Ende 1940 auf eine gefährliche Reise durch Frankreich nach Marseille. Die südfranzösische Hafenstadt ist zum Wartezimmer für Tausende von europäischen Exilanten und Flüchtlingen geworden, die hier verweilen in der Hoffnung, Visa und Tickets für die Weitereise in Länder jenseits des Meers zu erhalten. Nachdem er zunächst nur Beobachter, bzw. Zuhörer der Menschen ist, die er in den Korridoren der Konsulate oder in den Cafés trifft, verbindet sich sein Schicksal zunehmend mit dem von Weidel, dem er den Brief nie übergeben konnte. Marseille wird für ihn schließlich der Ort, an dem er seine große Liebe findet und er sein verloren geglaubtes Mitgefühl für andere wiedererlangt.

Wenn Sie an der Lesegruppe teilnehmen möchten, registrieren Sie sich bitte vorab hier:
Bitte registrieren Sie sich hier. Nach Ihrer Registrierung erhalten Sie eine Bestätigungsemail mit weiteren Informationen zum Online-Zugang.

 

Wenn Sie Fragen zur Lesegruppe haben, senden Sie bitte eine Nachricht mit dem Betreff "Transit reading group" an folgende Adresse: bimi@bbk.ac.uk

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Essay Film Festival und dem German Screen Studies Network.


 

Zurück