Art Installation The Disappearing Wall

A look through the "Disappearing Wall" with some quote blocks Photo (detail): Natalia Cheban

Wed, 21.10.2020 -
Wed, 11.11.2020

Titanic Slipways


BT3 9EQ Belfast

The “Disappearing Wall”

The Federal Republic of Germany took over the Presidency of the Council of the EU on 1 July and initiated a European cultural programme with the focus on the European public sphere and European solidarity. The Goethe-Institut is fortifying its previous European engagement with a series of Europe-wide projects carried out in collaboration with its partners in the EU member states. The Goethe-Institut’s contribution to the cultural programme of the Federal government focuses on the questions: What constitutes Europe going forward and how can Europeans achieve cohesion even in the time of the coronavirus? The Goethe-Institut’s Europe-wide discourse and art projects are dedicated to the diversity of Europe and the creation of a common European public.

In the context of the cultural programme of the German EU Council Presidency 2020, the Goethe-Institut will set up “The Disappearing Wall”, an interactive art installation, in the public space commemorating Europe’s diversity of languages and ideas. “The Disappearing Wall” will be presented in ten European countries from August to November.

“The Disappearing Wall” installation is based on an idea proposed by Maria Jablonina in a workshop carried out by the architect and engineer Werner Sobek. It consists of a Plexiglas frame in which around 6,000 wooden blocks showing original and translated quotes are inserted. These quotes were collected in the spring by local contests in Europe initiated by the Goethe-Institut. The spectrum of submitted quotes ranges from a Beatles lyric, an idea by Hannah Arendt, lines from the film Amélie and from Winnie the Pooh to statements by Adorno, Rosa Luxemburg, Sartre and Jonas Mekas. Through pulling out the wooden blocks, the wall disappears and becomes permeable – will you help destruct the wall?
 

Back

Kunstinstallation Die verschwindende Wand

Blick durch die „Verschwindende Wand“ mit einigen Zitaten Foto (Ausschnitt): © Natalia Cheban

Mi, 21.10.2020 -
Mi, 11.11.2020

Titanic Slipways, Belfast

Verschwindende Wand

Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland übernahm am 1. Juli 2020 die Präsidentschaft des Rates der Europäischen Union und initiierte in diesem Kontext ein kulturelles Rahmenprogramm mit dem Fokus auf europäische Öffentlichkeit und Solidarität. Mit europaweit ausgeführten Projekten führt das Goethe-Institut sein bisheriges europäisches Engagement weiter. Gemeinsam mit Partnern in ganz Europa werden Projekte erarbeitet, die sich mit Fragen beschäftigen wie: Was macht Europa in Zukunft aus und wie können die Europäer auch in der Zeit des Coronavirus Zusammenhalt erreichen? Die europaweiten Diskurs- und Kunstprojekte des Goethe-Instituts widmen sich der Vielfalt Europas und der Schaffung einer gemeinsamen europäischen Öffentlichkeit.
 
Im Kontext dieses kulturellen Rahmenprogramms initiiert das Goethe-Institut die Errichtung der „Verschwindenden Wand“, eine interaktive Kunstinstallationen im öffentlichen Raum, die Europas Sprachvielfalt und Diversität aufzeigen soll. Die Installation wird in zehn europäischen Ländern von August bis November gezeigt.

Die „Verschwindende Wand“ wurde auf Grundlage der Ideen von Maria Jablonina entworfen und von dem Architekten und Ingenieur Werner Sobek konstruiert. Sie besteht aus einer Plexiglasscheibe, in der rund 6000 Holzklötzchen verbaut wurden, die mit Zitaten aus der europäischen Hoch- und Popkultur beschriftet sind. Die Zitate wurden im Rahmen lokaler Wettbewerbe gesammelt und reichen von Beatles Songtexten, Ideen von Hannah Arendt, Zeilen aus dem Film Amélie, über Winnie the Pooh zu Aussagen von Adorno, Rosa Luxemburg, Satre und Jonas Mekas. Helfen Sie mit die symbolische Wand durch das Herausziehen der Holzklötzchen verschwinden zu lassen! 
 

Zurück