Workshop Climate Conversations on #Seat12

Five people sit on a circular seat in a library © Goethe-Institut London | Foto: Pau Ros

Thu, 14.10.2021

5:00 PM - 7:30 PM

Goethe-Institut London

Empowering people to have constructive climate conversations

The gravity of climate change can often feel overwhelming. In the face of complex science, large scale systems change needed and oftentimes political inertia, there is something powerful we can do: we can talk about it, normalise it, mainstream it.

But in a world where conversations become regularly polarised it’s easy to drift into climate silence. Join us for an hour in an interactive workshop using Jenny Brockmann’s installation Seat #12 to build your #TalkingClimate toolkit*. 

Sophia Cheng © Jayme Elkins Your workshop will be facilitated by Sophia Cheng, founder of With Many Roots. She went from knowing climate change to feeling it at the end of 2018. Since then she has transformed her career using her 10 years of communication experience to tackle climate change.

The duration of the workshop is 60 minutes. There will be two sessions during the day with 12 participants each: at 5 PM and 6:30 PM. We will offer you space and some drinks afterwards if you would like to stay longer and discuss the experience with other participants in an informal setting.

Please pre-register for the chosen session and do let us know if you will not be able to make it. The workshop takes place on an interactive art work which needs a certain number of participants to be kept in balance.

Book Tickets Through Eventbrite *Research based on Climate Outreach, a donation has been made to support their ongoing work.
 

GREAT EXHIBITION ROAD FESTIVAL

This event is part of the Great Exhibition Road Festival: One World, a week of free events for all ages in South Kensington and online from 9-15 October. Join museums, culture and research organisations based in and around Exhibition Road in South Kensington to explore how science and the arts can help inspire a greener future for the planet we share. 

Sign up to hear the latest news about the Festival 

Great Exhibition Road Festival Logo Great Exhibition Road Festival


 

Back

Workshop Climate Conversations on #Seat12

Fünf Personen sitzen auf einem runden Sitz in der Bibliothek © Goethe-Institut

Do, 14.10.2021

17:00 Uhr - 19:30 Uhr

Goethe-Institut London

Menschen befähigen, konstruktive Klimagespräche zu führen

Die Tragweite des Klimawandels kann sich oft überwältigend anfühlen. Vor dem Hintergrund komplexer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse, notwendiger groß angelegter Systemänderungen und oft auch politischer Trägheit, lässt sich dennoch etwas bewirken. Wir können über das Thema sprechen, es normalisieren und zum Mainstream machen.

Doch in einer Welt, in der Diskussionen regelmäßig polarisiert werden ist es leicht, in Stillschweigen zu verfallen. Nehmen Sie deshalb an einem einstündigen interaktiven Workshop teil und nutzen Sie Jenny Brockmann's Installation Seat #12 um Ihr #TalkingClimate Toolkit* zu erstellen.

Sophia Cheng © Jayme Elkins Ihr Workshop wird von Sophia Cheng, der Gründerin von With Many Roots, geleitet. Ende 2018 wurde für sie, aus bloßem Wissen über den Klimawandel, ein reales Bewusstsein. Seitdem hat sie ihre Karriere umgekrempelt und ihre 10-jährige Kommunikationserfahrung genutzt, um den Klimawandel anzugehen.

Der Workshop dauert 60 Minuten. Im Laufe des Tages finden zwei Sitzungen, mit jeweils 12 Teilnehmer*innen statt: um 17 Uhr, und um 18:30 Uhr. Im Anschluss an die Veranstaltung, bieten wir Ihnen einen Raum und ein paar Getränke an. Falls Sie länger bleiben möchten, bietet sich dann die Gelegenheit, mit anderen Teilnehmer*innen in einem ungezwungenen Rahmen über Ihre Eindrücke zu diskutieren.

Bitte melden Sie sich im Voraus für die gewünschte Sitzung an und teilen Sie uns mit, wenn Sie nicht kommen können. Der Workshop findet auf einem interaktiven Kunstwerk statt, das eine bestimmte Anzahl von Teilnehmer*innen benötigt, um im Gleichgewicht zu bleiben.

Tickets über Eventbrite buchen
Forschung basiert auf Climate Outreach, eine Spende wurde zur Unterstützung ihrer laufenden Arbeit getätigt
 

GREAT EXHIBITION ROAD FESTIVAL

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil des Great Exhibition Road Festivals: One World, eine Woche mit kostenlosen Veranstaltungen für alle Altersgruppen in South Kensington und online vom 9. bis 15. Oktober. Besuchen Sie Museen, Kultur- und Forschungseinrichtungen in und um die Exhibition Road in South Kensington, um zu erkunden, wie Wissenschaft und Kunst zur Inspiration einer grüneren Zukunft für unseren gemeinsamen Planeten beitragen können. 

Sign up to hear the latest news about the Festival 

Great Exhibition Road Festival Logo Great Exhibition Road Festival

Zurück