Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Shaping the Past / Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

Innovative Forms
of Memory Culture

How does the past take shape, and what happens in the process of coming to terms with the past? What social repercussions are associated with the rooting of history in monuments and memorials? How can those narratives be shifted or upended through alternative, innovative approaches to memorialization?  

These questions are at the center of Shaping the Past, a partnership between Monument Lab, the Goethe-Institut, and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb). 
More on this project


Project Highlights

Shaping the Past Exhibition Banner

Shaping the Past – Exhibition

Shaping the Past features work by artists, activists, and collectives from North America and Germany that illuminates ongoing memory interventions, reimagines civil society, and offer reparative models that actively shape the past and our paths forward.​ More ...

Monument Lab Town Hall

Goethe-Institut Washington
Monument Lab Town Hall

Our kick off event contained keynote conversations, a graphic recording and video portraits of the 2020 Shaping the Past fellows.

Civic Displace

Goethe-Institut Los Angeles
Civic Displace

How could Indigenous voices shape L.A.’s Memory Culture? A discussion with Julia Bogany, Pamela Villaseñor and Joel Garcia.


Memory Map

Which questions has Shaping the Past tackled so far? Explore videos, photo galleries, and other documentation of the programs and events that have taken part so far in North America. 


Perspectives

Historical memory is constantly shaped and reshaped by new interpretations of the past. Explore unique perspectives, nuanced arguments, and an examination of current events by scholars, activists, and the Monument Lab Fellows. 

Art Kit© Joseph Hladik/Elmhurst Art Museum

The Power of the Message: Send us your message!

Alisha Wormsley, Ayanah Moor and some very special helpers show you in a short video how to create from everyday objects you may already have at home. Send us a photo of your kite, poster, or yard sign and we will publish it on our Facebook and Instagram pages!
Watch the video


Our Fellows

Our Fellows

The fellows for Shaping the Past come from Monument Lab's 2019 and 2020 fellowship cohorts and were selected from an applications pool of over 100 memory workers throughout North America and Germany with existing projects using art, activism, history, journalism, and other tools to approach monuments in their communities. Applications were reviewed by a jury representing the fields of art, history, and social engagement, who recommended applicants who demonstrated excellence, innovative processes and projects for public engagement.


Partners

Shaping the Past is produced in partnership with the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education).


Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung Monument Lab Logo





 

Local Partners

Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e.V. 1014 - space for ideas Logo
 
Friends of the Goethe-Institut Onassis Foundation Los Angeles
 
Elmhurst Art Museum Chicago

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Shaping the Past / Gestaltung der Vergangenheit

Innovative Formen der Erinnerungskultur

Wie wird Vergangenheit gestaltet? Wie findet Vergangenheitsaufarbeitung statt? Was sind gesellschaftliche Auswirkungen, wenn Monumente und Denkmäler mit Geschichte aufgeladen werden? Können übliche Narrative der Erinnerungskultur mit alternativen und innovativen Ansätzen verschoben oder gekippt werden?  

Diese Fragen behandelten wir im Rahmen von Gestaltung der Vergangenheit (Shaping the Past). Das Projekt wurde in Partnerschaft mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung entwickelt. 
Mehr über das Projekt...


Highlights

Shaping the Past Exhibition Banner

Ausstellung Shaping the Past

Die Ausstellung Shaping the Past zeigt Künstler*innen, Aktivist*innen und Kollektive aus Nordamerika und Deutschland, deren Arbeiten neue Perspektiven bieten und aktuelle Erinnerungsinterventionen beleuchten, die die Zivilgesellschaft weltweit neu denken und auf kreative Weise die Vergangenheit und unsere Wege in die Zukunft gestalten. Mehr ...

The Dispersed Memorial © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Goethe-Institut Mexiko
The Dispersed Memorial

Dispersed Memorial wurde von Sergio Beltrán-García und Rodrigo da Silva entwickelt. Es handelt sich um ein kostengünstiges, modulares und selbst konstruiertes Denkmal.

Sound, Raum und Erinnerung © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Goethe-Institut Boston
Sound, Raum und Erinnerung

Scholar and author Louis Chude-Sokei and sound artist Emeka Ogboh consider their sound practices within the context of memorialization and ask how the medium of sound can point  to new ways to remember and study all narratives of the past. 

Keith Beauchamp & Patrick Weems discuss memory culture in film © Goethe-Institut e.V.

Goethe Pop Up Kansas City
Erinnerungskultur im Film

Keith Beauchamp (Regisseur von The Untold Story of Emmett Louis Till) und Patrick Weems, Executive Director des Emmett Till Interpretive Center, diskutieren über Erinnerungskultur im Film.

Civic Displace

Goethe-Institut Los Angeles
Civic Displace

Wie können indigene Stimmen in der Erinnerungskultur von Los Angeles eine wichtigere Rolle spielen? Ein Gespräch zwischen Julia Bogany, Pamela Villaseñor und Joel Garcia.

Aber so sicher wie die Zukunft zur Vergangenheit wird, so sicher wird die Vergangenheit zur Zukunft

Ursula K. Le Guin


Memory Map

Welche Fragen hat Shaping the Past bisher thematisiert? Entdecken Sie hier Videos, Bildergalerien und weitere Dokumentationen der Programme und Veranstaltungen, die bereits in ganz Nordamerika stattgefunden haben.  


Zur Debatte

Erinnerung an Geschichte befindet sich im kontinuierlichen Wandel, die Vergangenheit wird immer wieder neu interpretiert. Erfahren Sie mehr über einzigartige Perspektiven, nuancierte Auseinandersetzungen und die Sicht auf aktuelle Geschehnisse von Intellektuellen, Aktivist*innen und den Monument Lab Fellows.


Unsere Fellows

Die Fellows für Gestaltung der Vergangenheit kommen aus den Stipendiatenkohorten 2019 und 2020 von Monument Lab und wurden aus einem Bewerber*innenpool von über 100 Erinnerungsarbeiter*innen“ aus Nordamerika und Deutschland ausgewählt. In ihren Projekten befassen sie sich mit Denkmälern in ihren jeweiligen Gemeinschaften und bedienen sich dabei unter anderem künstlerischen Praktiken, Aktivismus, Geschichtswissenschaft und Journalismus.

Unsere Fellows

Partner

Shaping The Past ist ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika mit dem Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.


Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung Monument Lab Logo




 

Lokale Partner

Villa Aurora & Thomas Mann House e.V. 1014 - space for ideas Logo
Friends of the Goethe-Institut Onassis Foundation Los Angeles
Elmhurst Art Museum Chicago

Top