TTIP Cultural free trade

Teamwork
Teamwork | Photo: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

In recent weeks and months, you often read and hear different versions of the phrase “Culture is not a commodity!” (“Kultur ist keine Ware!”) across Germany, France, Austria, and other parts of Europe – but not in the United States.

Politicians, union representatives as well as cultural institutions and functionaries (including the General Meeting of Members of the Goethe-Institut) are warning about the detrimental consequences that TTIP, the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership, could have on our culture. More specifically, they are warning that our cultural sector, which has generally been characterized by state subsidies, could fall victim to the laws of the market. If someone were to shove a petition into our hands and ask us to sign it, we would do so without hesitation. Of course we are in favor of such things as fixed book prices and copyright law. We are also against any sort of classification that lumps film, radio, music, and new media into the “telecommunications” category. Even before TTIP we had problems with Google’s digitization of library inventories around the world and Amazon’s extortion of booksellers and publishers. We don’t want large, usually American corporations to gain an even greater influence on production and distribution in the cultural sphere. But is this why think culture is not a commodity?

Culture is not a commodity, but rather – as formulated in the Goethe-Institut’s position statement – a “public good.” We feel better about the idea of culture being a good rather than a commodity – and a public one at that. But commodities and goods still have one thing in common: you have to pay for them. This is also generally true for public goods. Sometimes cultural goods have already been paid for, such as Gothic cathedrals, which are free to enter even though we the taxpayers are still responsible for their upkeep. Normally, cultural producers (architects, filmmakers, composers, authors, etc.) bring a product to market in hopes of making a financial profit or at least receiving some sort of compensation. When this return shrinks or there is no return at all, for example with Spotify, then artists rightly complain – not because culture is a commodity, but because they did not receive compensation for their pre-financed – and in some cases even subsidized – commodity. Regardless of whether culture is a commodity or a good, this has to do with business models. There is no doubt that TTIP and, more generally, the digital revolution pose a great risk to some cultural business models.

It is hard to answer questions about whether culture is a good or a commodity and the detrimental consequences of TTIP from a bird’s eye view. Instead, it is better to take a detailed look at the individual artistic sectors (film, music, books, theater, visual arts, etc.) and assess the respective opportunities and risks. At the same time, making a transatlantic comparison is also worthwhile. Why is no one in the United States getting upset over TTIP? Could it be that artists who are using a cultural market model are doing better? Which cultural biases on both sides of the Atlantic are being manifested in the various attitudes towards TTIP and, beyond that, towards the idea of culture as a commodity? Taking a closer look at the effects that TTIP will have on culture will likely put the positions of hardliners on both sides of the issue (subsidy hardliners on the one side, market hardliners on the other) into a bit better perspective.

Over the next few months, this portal will capture the voices of various cultural players from different fields. In the end, we hope to have a better understanding of what we should rightly fear in the context of TTIP and which fears are perhaps unjustified. “Culture is not a commodity (anymore)” can certainly be an unsettling message for artists who previously brought their books or CDs to market in order to make a living. Yet protests alone will not bring back yesterday’s business model. We are excited to see what the people we speak to in the months to come will have say about the business models of the future.

TTIP Kultureller Freihandel

Teamwork
Teamwork | Foto: Goethe-Institut/Loredana La Rocca

„Kultur ist keine Ware!“, das hört und liest man in diesen Tagen oft, in Deutschland, Frankreich, Österreich und anderswo in Europa – aber nicht in den USA.

Politiker, Gewerkschaftler, Kulturakteure und –funktionäre (und auch die Mitgliederversammlung des Goethe-Instituts) warnen vor den schädlichen Auswirkungen von TTIP, der Transatlantischen Handels- und Investitionspartnerschaft auf unsere Kultur, genauer: Sie warnen davor, dass unsere von staatlichen Subventionen geprägte Kultur den Gesetzen des Markts zum Opfer fallen könnte. Wenn uns jemand eine Resolution mit der Bitte um Unterschrift in die Hand drückte, würden wir sie ohne jedes Zögern unterschreiben. Natürlich sind auch wir für, beispielsweise, die Buchpreisbindung und das Urheberrecht. Wir sind auch gegen eine Klassifikation, die Film, Radio, Musik und neue Medien der „Telekommunikation“ zuschlägt. Schon vor TTIP hatten wir Probleme mit Googles Digitalisierung der weltweiten Bibliotheksbestände und mit Amazons Erpressung von Buchhändlern und Verlagen. Wir wollen nicht, dass der Einfluss großer und meistens amerikanischer Konzerne auf die kulturelle Produktion und Distribution größer wird. Finden wir deswegen aber schon, dass Kultur keine Ware ist?

Kultur sei keine Ware, sondern, so formuliert es etwa die Resolution des Goethe-Instituts, ein „öffentliches Gut“. Wir fühlen uns wohler mit der Vorstellung, dass Kultur ein Gut und keine Ware sei, sogar ein öffentliches. Aber eines haben Waren und Güter auf jeden Fall gemeinsam: man muss für sie bezahlen. Das gilt in der Regel auch für öffentliche Güter. Manchmal sind kulturelle Güter bereits abbezahlt, etwa gotische Kathedralen, dann ist der Eintritt frei, wenngleich der Bauunterhalt weiterhin uns Steuerzahlern obliegt. In der Regel aber ist es so, dass kulturelle Produzenten (Architektinnen, Filmemacher, Komponisten, Schriftstellerinnen etc.) ein Produkt auf den Markt bringen, für den sie sich einen finanziellen Gewinn oder wenigstens eine Entschädigung erhoffen. Wenn diese Rendite schrumpft oder ganz ausbleibt, etwa bei Spotify, dann beschweren sich Künstlerinnen zu Recht, aber nicht darüber, dass Kultur eine Ware ist, sondern weil die Vergütung für die von ihnen vorfinanzierte – und allenfalls in Teilen subventionierte – Ware ausbleibt. Gleich ob Kultur eine Ware oder ein Gut ist: es geht um Geschäftsmodelle, und gewiss werden manche kulturellen Geschäftsmodelle durch TTIP und allgemeiner, durch die digitale Revolution, stark bedroht.

Man kann die Frage nach Gut und Ware und auch jener nach den schädlichen Folgen von TTIP schlecht aus der Vogelperspektive beantworten. Man sollte sich vielmehr die einzelnen Kunstsparten (Film, Musik, Buch, Theater, Bildende Kunst etc.) im Detail anschauen und dabei die jeweiligen Chancen und Risiken abschätzen. Außerdem lohnt sich natürlich ein transatlantischer Vergleich. Warum regt sich in den USA niemand über TTIP auf? Geht es den Künstlern mit einem kulturellen Marktmodell womöglich besser? Welche selbst wieder kulturellen Voreinstellungen beidseits des Atlantik manifestieren sich in den so unterschiedlichen Haltungen gegenüber TTIP und darüber hinaus, gegenüber Kultur als Ware? Wahrscheinlich wird die genauere Betrachtung der Auswirkungen von TTIP auf die Kultur dazu führen, dass wir die Position von Hardlinern auf beiden Seiten (Subventions-Hardliner auf der einen, Markt-Hardliner auf der anderen) ein wenig relativieren.

Wir werden in den nächsten Monaten auf diesem Portal einige Stimmen von kulturellen Akteuren aus verschiedenen Feldern einfangen und am Ende hoffentlich besser erkennen, wovor man sich bei TTIP zu Recht und wovor man sich vielleicht zu Unrecht fürchtet. „Kultur ist keine Ware (mehr)“, das kann ja durchaus auch eine beunruhigende Nachricht für Künstlerinnen und Künstler sein, die bislang ihre Bücher oder CDs mit der Aussicht auf den Markt brachten, damit ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen. Aber der Protest allein bringt die Geschäftsmodelle von gestern nicht zurück. Wir sind gespannt, was uns unsere Gesprächspartner in den kommenden Monaten über die Geschäftsmodelle von morgen sagen werden.