Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


About the Film Festival

Film|Neu 2018
Film|Neu 2018

Welcome to the 26th edition of Film|Neu, Washington’s annual festival of new films from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. This year’s films explore challenges that come with the passage of time, navigating identity and personal relationships in an increasingly globalized world, and transformation – in almost every sense of the word.

We open this year’s festival with 3 Days in Quiberon, a poignant black-and-white drama about enigmatic film icon Romy Schneider grappling with her tragic and deeply private personal life. In Magical Mystery, a road movie and exploration of the wild techno scene, we are thrown back into the Germany of the 1990s. While two Austrian friends find fame in exploiting exaggerated stereotypes of their immigrant backgrounds in The Migrumpies, a Swiss teenager goes through a baffling animalistic metamorphosis in Blue My Mind. Curious yet?

Aside from a variety of feature films, we are proud of this year’s diverse selection of shorts that we will showcase on Saturday, November 3, at 2 pm. Before, between, and after film screenings, you are also welcome to relax and enjoy refreshments in our downstairs lobby lounge, designed and conceptualized by the students of the Graduate Practice Studio seminar, under the direction of Professor Thea Scott-Fundling of Marymount University in Arlington. There’s sure to be something for you!

We look forward to welcoming you to screenings at the Landmark E Street Cinema!

Note: All films have English subtitles.

Back to Film|Neu 2018 Overview

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Über das Filmfestival

Film|Neu 2018
Film|Neu 2018

Willkommen zur 26. Ausgabe von Film|Neu, Washingtons jährlichem Festival für neue Filme aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz. Die diesjährigen Filme behandeln das Suchen nach der eigenen Identität, das rücksichtslose Voranschreiten der Zeit und Transformationen – in fast jedem Sinne des Wortes.

Wir eröffnen das diesjährige Festival mit 3 Tage in Quiberon, einem ergreifenden Schwarz-Weiß-Drama, das sich mit dem facettenreichen Leben der Filmikone Romy Schneider auseinandersetzt. In Magical Mystery, werden wir zurück in das techno-verrückte Deutschland der 1990er Jahre versetzt. Und während zwei österreichische Freunde in Die Migrantigen  Berühmtheit erlangen, indem sie aus übertriebenen Stereotypen ihres Migrationshintergrundes Kapital schlagen, durchlebt ein Schweizer Teenager in Blue My Mind eine tierische Metamorphose. Neugierig geworden?

Neben einer Vielzahl von Spielfilmen sind wir stolz auf die vielfältige Auswahl an Kurzfilmen, die wir am Samstag, den 3. November um 14 Uhr präsentieren. Vor, zwischen und nach den Filmvorführungen können Sie in der Lobby-Lounge im Erdgeschoss entspannen, die von den StudentInnen des Graduate-Practice-Studio Seminars unter der Leitung von Professor Thea Scott-Fundling von der Marymount University in Arlington entworfen und konzipiert wurde.

Wir freuen uns darauf, Sie im Landmark E Street Cinema zu begrüßen!

Zurück zur Übersichtsseite Film|Neu 2018

Top