Brexit and academia German-British nervousness

The British referendum on whether or not to leave the EU has left the academic world in a state of uncertainty. Are collaborative research and the freedom to travel now at risk? 

Rarely has there been such accord in academia, with Europe’s universities making the unanimous appeal: “No Brexit please!”. The collective shock was considerable following 23 June 2016 – the day on which the majority of Brits voted to leave the EU.
 
“The biggest problem is the uncertainty”, says Lesley Wilson from Scotland, who is the secretary general of the European University Association (EUA). She has been working to promote academic exchange in Europe for decades, helping among other things to establish the Tempus student exchange programme. “Everyone is nervous because nobody knows what will happen. The United Kingdom is an academic partner no-one wants to lose.”

What will happen to Horizon 2020?

This is backed up by figures in the European Commission’s monitoring report. Horizon 2020 for example, a research framework programme costing 75 billion euros, is seen as a flagship project for collaborative European research. With their outstanding projects, Germany, the United Kingdom and France combined were granted almost half of the project funding from this EU budget. It is teamwork that makes them globally competitive research nations.
 
The phone in Victoria Llobet’s office rings frequently these days. She heads the Brussels branch of the European Liaison Office of the German Research Organisations (KoWi) – an institution financed by the German Research Foundation (DFG) to provide support to German researchers applying for EU project funding. These researchers are now asking worriedly whether they should perhaps cancel planned cooperation with British colleagues. At present, all Llobet can do is cite what she reads in the newspaper. She was relieved to note that Philip Hammond, Britain’s Chancellor of the Exchequer, promised to continue paying EU research funding until 2020.

Attempts by Brussels to reassure

Political agencies are doing their best not to add to the nervousness. “It is far too early to speculate about the continuation of research funding”, says Lucìa Caudet, the European Commission’s spokesperson for research and innovation. As she explains, there is nothing to negotiate until such time as the United Kingdom invokes Article 50 of the Lisbon Treaty, which allows any member state to leave the EU. Caudet attempts to reassure British researchers who are concerned that they are already an unattractive partner for new project applications: “Since the United Kingdom is still a member state, its nationals are entitled to qualify for Horizon 2020 funding.”
 
This is a definition that German higher education and research institutions are sticking to, for it is not only EU member states but also associated countries that can take part in the framework programme. “Switzerland and Turkey also participate in the Horizon 2020 and Erasmus programmes”, says Lesley Wilson from the EUA, adding that everything will depend in future on what is agreed in London – whether for example research money will continue to be invested in the jointly agreed funding programme. “We will advocate this together with the German Rectors’ Conference”, says Wilson, explaining that the opinion of German universities carries weight in the United Kingdom.

Mobility is of paramount importance

Despite all the optimism, the anti-EU sentiment in Great Britain has shaken all those for whom mobility is part and parcel of everyday life – like Mareike Kleine, for instance. A professor of international politics at the London School of Economics (LSE), she did her PhD in Berlin, where she also spends a lot of her (personal and work) time. “There are whole departments made up of EU researchers at the LSE”, explains Kleine, “as we recruit from a global market.” The same applies to the students. “When picking candidates, we think only about who we want at present, not about where someone comes from. Our pool of applicants will shrink if that becomes a criterion.” That would be especially tough for German students and researchers, many of whom want to go to Britain: according to the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), nearly 16,000 German students and around 5,000 researchers are currently at universities in the United Kingdom.
 
The Max Planck Society is also following the developments in Great Britain with close attention. It was only as recently as 2014 that the “Max Planck UCL Centre for Computational Psychiatry and Ageing Research” opened in Berlin and London, a bilaterally funded flagship project involving German-British research cooperation. “Naturally things will not become any easier as far as academic exchange is concerned”, says Max Planck Society spokesperson Christine Beck. Victoria Llobet from KoWi is likewise concerned about freedom of movement: “Our researchers routinely fly at short notice to a project partner’s conference. If they had to apply for a visa, that would pose a major obstacle.”
 
Perhaps that is the tragic irony of Brexit: that precisely a vote in favour of a political split should give rise to a new sense of unity. Lesley Wilson does not believe that the Brits will want to give up what has been jointly achieved: “Our networks are strong and will continue to exist.”

Der Brexit und die Wissenschaft Deutsch-britische Nervosität

„Unsere Netzwerke sind stark, und sie werden weiterhin existieren“
„Unsere Netzwerke sind stark, und sie werden weiterhin existieren“ | Foto (Ausschnitt): © pressmaster/fotolia

Das britische Referendum zum Austritt aus der EU verunsichert die Wissenschaft. Stehen jetzt Forschungszusammenarbeit und Reisefreiheit auf dem Spiel? 

Selten gab es in der Wissenschaft so viel Einmütigkeit. „Bitte kein Brexit!“, hieß es unisono aus Europas Universitäten. Der kollektive Schock nach dem 23. Juni 2016 war groß – an jenem Tag stimmten die Briten mehrheitlich für den Austritt aus der EU.
 
„Das größte Problem ist die Unsicherheit“, sagt Lesley Wilson. Die Schottin ist Generalsekretärin der European University Association (EUA). Seit Jahrzehnten arbeitet sie für den wissenschaftlichen Austausch in Europa, baute unter anderem das Studenten-Austauschprogramm Tempus mit auf. „Alle sind nervös, weil sie nicht wissen, wie es weitergeht. Großbritannien ist ein Wissenschaftspartner, den niemand verlieren will.“

Was passiert mit Horizont 2020?

Die Zahlen aus dem Monitoring-Bericht der Europäischen Kommission geben ihr Recht. Das 75 Milliarden Euro schwere Forschungsrahmenprogramm Horizont 2020 etwa gilt als Vorzeigeprojekt für europäische Verbundforschung. Deutschland, Großbritannien und Frankreich warben mit ihren herausragenden Projekten insgesamt fast die Hälfte der Projektgelder aus dem EU-Topf ein. Es ist die Teamarbeit, die sie zu weltweit konkurrenzfähigen Forschungsnationen macht.
 
Im Büro von Victoria Llobet klingelt dieser Tage häufig das Telefon. Sie leitet das Brüsseler Büro der Kooperationsstelle EU der Wissenschaftsorganisationen (KoWi) – eine Einrichtung der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), die deutsche Wissenschaftler bei ihren EU-Projektanträgen unterstützt. Besorgt fragen die nun nach, ob sie geplante Kooperationen mit britischen Kollegen lieber absagen sollten. Doch auch Llobet kann derzeit nur auf das verweisen, was sie in der Zeitung liest. Die Zusage des britischen Schatzmeisters Philip Hammond, EU-Forschungsgelder bis 2020 zu übernehmen, hat sie aufatmend zur Kenntnis genommen.

Brüssel versucht, zu beruhigen

Die politischen Stellen versuchen, die Nervosität nicht weiter anzustacheln. „Es ist viel zu früh, um über den Fortgang der Forschungsförderung zu spekulieren“, sagt Lucìa Caudet, Sprecherin der EU-Forschungskommission. So lange Großbritannien nicht von Paragraf 50 des Lissabon-Vertrages Gebrauch mache, wonach jeder Mitgliedsstaat aus der EU austreten kann, gebe es nichts zu verhandeln. Die Sorgen der britischen Wissenschaftler, schon jetzt ein unattraktiver Partner für neue Projektanträge zu sein, versucht Caudet ihnen zu nehmen: „Da Großbritannien weiterhin ein Mitgliedsstaat ist, sind Rechtspersonen des Landes berechtigt, an der Förderung von Horizont 2020 zu partizipieren.“
 
An dieser Definition halten sich deutsche Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen fest. Denn am Rahmenprogramm können nicht nur EU-Mitglieder, sondern auch assoziierte Staaten teilnehmen. „Auch die Schweiz und Türkei machen mit bei Horizont 2020 und Erasmus“, sagt Lesley Wilson von der EUA. Für die Zukunft hänge alles davon ab, was in London vereinbart werde – etwa, ob weiterhin Forschungsgelder in das gemeinsam vereinbarte Förderprogramm fließen. „Wir werden dafür zusammen mit der deutschen Hochschulrektorenkonferenz werben“, sagt Wilson. Die Stimme der deutschen Universitäten habe in Großbritannien Gewicht.

Mobilität als hohes Gut

Trotz Zuversicht: Die EU-feindliche Stimmung in England erschüttert all jene, für die Mobilität zum Alltag gehört – wie Mareike Kleine. Sie ist Professorin für Internationale Politik an der London School of Economics (LSE). Promoviert hat sie in Berlin, wo sie – privat und beruflich – ebenfalls viel Zeit verbringt. „An der LSE bestehen ganze Departments aus EU-Wissenschaftlern“, so Kleine, „wir rekrutieren von einem globalen Markt.“ Das gilt auch für die Studierenden. „Derzeit gucken wir beim Auswählen: Wen wollen wir haben? Und nicht: Wo kommt jemand her? Wenn das zum Kriterium wird, wird unser Bewerberpool schmelzen.“ Schlecht sei das gerade für deutsche Studierende und Forscher, von denen viele nach Großbritannien wollen: Fast 16.000 deutsche Studierende und rund 5.000 Wissenschaftler gibt es laut Deutschem Akademischem Austauschdienst (DAAD) derzeit an Universitäten in Großbritannien.
 
Auch bei der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft verfolgt man die Entwicklungen in Großbritannien genau. Erst 2014 hat in Berlin und London das „Max Planck UCL Centre for Computational Psychiatry and Ageing Research“ eröffnet, ein bilateral finanziertes Vorzeigeprojekt deutsch-britischer Forschungszusammenarbeit. „Was den Wissenschaftleraustausch anbelangt, wird es natürlich nicht einfacher“, so Christine Beck, Sprecherin der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Victoria Llobet vom KoWi sorgt sich ebenfalls um die Bewegungsfreiheit: „Kurzfristig zu einer Konferenz eines Projektpartners fliegen – das ist Alltag für unsere Wissenschaftler. Ein Visum beantragen zu müssen, wäre extrem hinderlich.“
 
Vielleicht ist das die tragische Ironie des Brexit: Dass just ein Votum für politische Spaltung zu einem neuen Einheitsgefühl führt. Lesley Wilson glaubt nicht, dass die Briten das gemeinsam Erreichte aufgeben wollen: „Unsere Netzwerke sind stark, und sie werden weiterhin existieren.“