Transnational Media A Voice for Europe

Only a few media services report on European issues on a transnational basis
Only a few media services report on European issues on a transnational basis | Photo (detail): © On-Air-Design (2016), Euronews

Transnational European media are essential for the formation of European public opinion and of a European identity – particularly theses days, in these times of political tension. What media services are already available and how well do they work?
 

There is already a certain European public sphere alive and kicking: networks are thriving in the realm of culture, art, sports, film, pop music, fashion and, of course, business. We only have to think of the Champions League, the Eurovision Song Contest, the Venice Biennale, the International Film Festival in Berlin and, of course, the daily economic and trade links, not to mention European company mergers and civil society networks.
 
It is a very different situation, when it comes to reflecting on political questions. This is when transnational reporting seems to be a good deal more difficult. “Political decisions affecting the whole of Europe are discussed only in a very limited way in the individual national public spheres, and this is always done with a clear national perspective in mind,” says Anja Herzog of the Hans Bredow Institute in Hamburg on the Eurotopics online portal. “As a result, citizens are inadequately informed about important political decisions taken at EU level.” As early as 2014, the then President of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz, stated the problem very clearly: “If something happens in the European Council, then 28 press conferences are held afterwards. If an agreement has been reached, it is announced in the 23 languages of the EU – I achieved this for my country.”

Too little impact on the broader level

Nevertheless, the beginnings of a transnational reporting system have already started to get off the ground. Since 1993, Euronews, a TV channel with a decidedly pan-European orientation, has been providing information on the current news situation in thirteen languages. Arte, the culture channel, is also targeting a European audience with its program, rather than a national one. Another example is the US-American online media portal Politico, which has been publishing its own European edition since 2015 in a joint venture with the German publisher, Axel Springer Verlag. Apart from this, various online portals have also specialized in pan-European reporting, such as the Euractiv portal, which was founded in 1999. The aforementioned Eurotopics project takes the form of a daily press conference, which presents articles from 30 European countries in German, English and French.
 
The only problem is – compared to the national media, all these options are not having any significant impact on the broader level at the moment. This, in turn, has led to a lack of awareness of the importance of Europe for most people, as Anja Herzog of the Hans Bredow Institute said. And if there is a lack of broad public interest, national media find it more difficult to report on EU issues. “There is sometimes also an ignorance of the political processes in Brussels,” said long-term ARD (German public broadcaster) correspondent in Brussels, Rolf-Dieter Krause, in an interview on the German radio station, Deutschlandfunk.

Crisis as a catalyst

In the face of the crises which Europe is facing at the moment and which are being further aggravated by the current trend towards the re-nationalisation of many member states, this is not good news. On the other hand, the crises in turn could actually have a catalytic effect – they have, at least, led to the same topics being discussed in Europe at the same time, to public opinions being formed on questions such as austerity policy, tax havens, data security, world trade and the refugee issue. This trend is fuelled by two other factors: the fundamental upheaval of the media sector and the new language technologies. The media companies are seeking and testing new business models to earn money with journalistic content in the digital age. At the same time, it is also a serious economic option to open up new geographic markets. A characteristic of digital transformation is, however, to ignore national borders and thus provide an ideal basis for creating transnational public opinion.

New opportunities in the wake of digital transformation

This is, in fact, being enhanced by the social media, which are already functioning as cross-border platforms, even if there is still an urgent need in the sector for European services. The driving forces behind this innovation, such as Facebook Instant Article, Apple News and Google News Initiative, still stem, however, exclusively from Silicon Valley. Europe urgently needs to promote its own media initiatives and to keep all its options open on questions such as media freedom, identity and the public sphere, as well as on data security and data monopolies.
 
So far, any attempts to establish purely European media services have also not worked because of language barriers. However, in the next few years new language technologies could make an instantaneous quality translation of content possible. If language technologies continue to develop as rapidly as they are currently being pushed by Amazon, Google and Facebook, it will soon be possible to read the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung newspaper in French or Le Monde in Rumanian. And of course, new European media services could also come into being that have a pan-European approach, that are curated and distributed immediately online in the respective language of the reader.
 
Europe's crises, the upheaval in the media landscape, and the rapid development of language technologies could thus create European media services that report from a European perspective to a European audience. So there is reason for optimism.

Transnationale Medien Eine Stimme für Europa

Erst wenige Medien berichten transnational über europäische Themen
Erst wenige Medien berichten transnational über europäische Themen. | Foto (Ausschnitt): © On-Air-Design (2016), Euronews

Transnationale europäische Medien sind essenziell für die Ausbildung einer europäischen Öffentlichkeit und Identität – gerade angesichts der angespannten politischen Lage. Welche Angebote gibt es schon und wie gut funktionieren sie?
 

Eine gewisse europäische Öffentlichkeit gibt es bereit: in den Netzwerken von Kultur, Kunst, Sport, Film, Pop Musik, Mode und natürlich Wirtschaft. Man denke nur an die Champions League, den Eurovision Song Contest, die Biennale Venedig, die Internationalen Filmfestspiel Berlin und natürlich die täglichen Wirtschafts- und Handelsverbindungen, europäischen Firmenzusammenschlüsse oder zivilgesellschaftlichen Netzwerke.
 
In einer ganz anderen Situation sind wir, wenn es um die Reflexion politischer Fragen geht. Hier fällt eine transnationale Berichterstattung offenbar um einiges schwerer. „Über politische Entscheidungen, die ganz Europa betreffen, wird innerhalb der nationalen Öffentlichkeiten nur sehr eingeschränkt berichtet und dies stets mit einer klar nationalen Perspektive“, so Anja Herzog vom Hans-Bredow-Institut in Hamburg im Online-Portal Eurotopics. „Entsprechend häufig sind Bürger unzureichend informiert über wichtige politische Entscheidungen, die auf EU-Ebene getroffen werden.“ Schon 2014 benannte der damalige EU-Parlamentspräsident Martin Schulz das Problem sehr klar: „Wenn im Europäischen Rat etwas passiert, dann gibt es danach 28 Pressekonferenzen. Wenn eine Einigung erzielt wurde, heißt es in 23 Sprachen der EU: Ich habe das für mein Land erreicht.“

Zu wenig Breitenwirkung

Dennoch: In Ansätzen gibt es eine transnationale Berichterstattung schon heute. Seit 1993 informiert Euronews, ein TV-Sender mit dezidiert paneuropäischer Ausrichtung, in dreizehn Sprachen über die aktuelle Nachrichtenlage. Auch der Kultursender Arte richtet sich mit seinem Programm an ein gesamteuropäisches Publikum. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist das US-amerikanische Medienportal Politico, das seit 2015 in einem Joint Venture mit dem deutschen Axel Springer Verlag eine eigene Europa-Ausgabe eröffentlicht. Weitere Online-Portale haben sich auf paneuropäische Berichterstattung spezialisiert, etwa das bereits 1999 gegründete Euractiv. Beim schon erwähnten Projekt Eurotopics handelt es sich um eine tägliche Presseschau, die Meinungsartikel aus 30 Ländern Europas auf Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch bereitstellt.
 
Das Problem ist nur: Im Vergleich zu den nationalen Medien, entfalten all diese Angebote noch keine nennenswerte Breitenwirkung. Dies wiederum habe ein fehlendes Bewusstsein für die Bedeutung Europas in der Mehrheit der Bevölkerung zur Folge, wie Anja Herzog vom Hans-Bredow-Institut konstatiert. Fehle ein breites Publikumsinteresse, hätten es nationale Medien wiederum schwerer, über EU-Themen zu berichten. „Es gibt dann manchmal auch eine Ignoranz gegenüber den politischen Vorgängen in Brüssel”, äußerte der langjährige ARD-Korrespondent in Brüssel, Rolf-Dieter Krause, im Deutschlandfunk.

Krise als Katalysator

Angesichts der Krisen, in denen sich Europa befindet, und die durch den aktuellen Trend zur Re-Nationalisierung vieler Mitgliedstaaten noch weiter verschärft werden, sind dies keine guten Nachrichten. Andererseits könnten wiederum gerade die Krisen eine Katalysatorwirkung entfalten: Sie haben dazu geführt, dass dieselben Themen zeitgleich in Europa diskutiert werden, dass sich öffentliche Meinungen bilden zu Fragen wie Sparpolitik, Steueroasen, Datensicherheit, Welthandel oder die Flüchtlingsfrage. Begünstigt wird dieser Trend durch zwei weitere Faktoren: der fundamentale Umbruch der Medienbranche sowie neue Sprachtechnologien.
 
Die Medienhäuser suchen und testen neue Geschäftsmodelle, um im digitalen Zeitalter mit journalistischen Inhalten Geld zu verdienen. Dabei ist auch die Erschließung neuer geografischer Märkte eine ernste wirtschaftliche Option. Eine Eigenschaft der Digitalisierung ist es, nationale Schranken zu ignorieren und damit eine ideale Basis für eine transnationale Öffentlichkeit zu schaffen.

Neue Möglichkeiten durch Digitalisierung

Dies wird potenziert durch soziale Medien, die schon jetzt als übernationale Plattformen funktionieren – auch wenn es in diesem Sektor dringenden Nachholbedarf für europäische Angebote gibt. Noch kommen die Treiber für diese Innovation, etwa Facebook Instant Article, Apple News und Google News Initiative, ausschließlich aus dem Silicon Valley. Europa wäre dringend in der Pflicht, eigene Medieninitiativen zu fördern und sich bei Fragen wie Medienfreiheit, Identität und Öffentlichkeit, aber auch Datensicherheit und Datenmonopole alle Optionen offen zu halten.
 
Bisher haben Versuche, europäische Medien zu etablieren, auch wegen der Sprachbarrieren nicht funktioniert. Doch in den nächsten Jahren könnten neue Sprachtechnologien eine sofortige Qualitätsübersetzung von Inhalten möglich machen. Wenn sich Sprachtechnologien so rasant weiterentwickeln wie sie derzeit von Amazon, Google und Facebook mit Hochdruck vorangetrieben werden, wird es bald möglich sein, die Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung in Französisch oder Le Monde in Rumänisch zu lesen. Und natürlich können sich dann auch neue europäische Medien etablieren, die sofort paneuropäisch konzipiert, kuratiert und online in der jeweiligen Sprache des Lesers vertrieben werden.
 
Die Krisen Europas, der Umbruch in der Medienlandschaft sowie die rasante Entwicklung von Sprachtechnologien können so europäische Medien hervorbringen, die aus einer europäischen Perspektive für ein europäisches Publikum berichten. Es gibt also Anlass für Optimismus.