Gillian Drake, Creator/Co-Producer, Digital Eye @BlindWhino Digital Eye @BlindWhino (DE@BW) Production Report

  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com


Goals: Digital Eye @BlindWhino was an interactive, inter-genre performance event born out of a broader project, P3M5.  Digital Eye @BlindWhino was developed to fulfill a goal of some of the original P3M5 partners: to create a performance event which celebrates the brilliant micro-plays commissioned through P3M5. Also, important to the European partners was developing a template for public conversation around a complicated, timely and urgent question about how the swiftly changing technology we use is challenging our fundamental understanding of our privacy rights and practices. Our goals were to collaborate with theaters, embassy cultural officers and thought leaders in the DC metro area to create a forum for informed discussion about contemporary privacy challenges created by our use of digital media and to make an event appealing to and across generations and backgrounds.

Genesis: Beginning in January 2016, P3M5 is a multi-faceted, global project organized by the Goethe-Institut Washington, with several European and US partners, to further conversation about the changing nature of privacy rights around the world. Wilfried Eckstein appointed Gillian Drake as the US curator, and together they developed a new play initiative which sought out theaters in Europe and the US to commission resident playwrights to create micro-plays about how the profound changes in digital privacy affected them as artists. These plays were then videotaped by the resident theaters. Performances of these 14 plays (or viewing of their performance videos) occurred all over the world and in the US. However, as the originators of P3M5 collaboration, we felt it important to create an event here in Washington DC.

Impact: On October 16 and 17, Digital Eye @BlindWhino had four performances over two nights. Each performance sold out and accommodated 15 overflow audience members. Each ran flawlessly, and the audience flowed from each theater experience to the next as planned.  The reviews from the theater blogs were uniformly excellent. 

Audience Response: We surveyed the ticketed audience members. So far we have received about 40% response rate, which is high for a post-performance audience survey.  ** Individual comments are referenced at the end of the report. The following results were analyzed:
Overall rating for the event: 95% responses were excellent, very good or good.
Good model for educating public about subject: 93% agreed
Desire to see more theater events like this one: 100%
How unique was this event to WDC: 95% agreed it was extremely unique or very unique
Value for the $20 ticket fee: 95% felt it was good to excellent value
Venue rating: 90% agreed that the venue was excellent to very good
How did they hear about the event: 0% friend/word-of-mouth, 18% embassy communication, 22% social media, and 11% theater communication

Template for future productions: The interactive, multi-genre model DE@BW was highly efficient in its theatrical demands, had an effective structure for entertaining a diverse audience and could be a good template for those who are considering the P3M5 plays for production. The parts are reproducible and adaptable, the production design and technology specifications are complete (and can be pared down), and all the scripts are available without royalty through August 2018. For instance, each future producer may determine the scale of the project by adjusting to the demands of their venue and selecting the plays that they wish to perform. The hacker game show script can easily be adapted to reflect current research.  The pre-show script for tour guides can be used as is or adapted when other privacy tests are identified. Within the DE@BW structure, there is a lot of room for flexibility and creative choice. The performance can be accomplished with one director or in a consortium, with only a few actors or as many as 13. It is our hope that this successful event will inspire more productions across the globe about this important issue.

BACKGROUND

Form and Style: The creative team became convinced that an interactive event for the audience was the right approach – the audience would experience a privacy challenge, become immersed in the artistic responses (through very personal plays), and engage in an informed conversation with leaders in the field. Borrowing from experiences at theater festivals in Germany, the theater performance was designed to embrace different genres, forms and styles, including integrating film, theater, an interactive audience roundtable conversation, and mixing it with a social, fun atmosphere of cocktails, food and games. We searched for a venue to accommodate this artistic interaction among performers, audience and experts and found The Blind Whino, a converted Baptist church in Southwest DC in the new ‘Wharf neighborhood,’ with 4 unique performing spaces.
 
Format and Structure

1. The 75-person audience started all together in the large church hall space with a scripted pre-show in which ‘Hacker Tour Guides’ met each audience member, secured their telephone numbers, texted them a Privacy Challenge quiz to test their privacy views, and our first privacy “hygiene” test.  After surrendering their telephone number, the audience also received funny, snarky memes throughout the evening relating to what they were doing or seeing.  The performance itself started with a 7-minute film of a play created in the Czech Republic. The audience then split into three groups of 25, led by a “tour guide,” and set off to one of three different rooms. Every 20 minutes the groups finished one performance and moved to the next room until all three performance spaces finished and all groups came together in the large room for a final town hall discussion with some prominent think tank leaders in the privacy space.

2. The Art Gallery space, which had a vivid painting exhibition on the walls, inspired us to perform four of the plays in a pop-up style. The audience entered the gallery space seemingly full of people looking at the art on the walls, and then a pair of actors broke out into their play, and the audience moved to accommodate it.  The next play seamlessly began in a similar way in another part of the gallery.

3. We used the black box stage space in a more traditional theater concept for our two, dark interrogation-themed plays. The audience sat on stools so they could pivot from one play to the other.

4. The fourth space, ‘The Lounge,’ offered a large open room with two bars, a small stage (for a band or DJ ostensibly), graffiti-painted walls and a low ceiling. This space hosted our Hacker Game Show. We created the game show environment with 5 tall cocktail tables outfitted with buzzers and headphones, a screen for the game show projections and a space for our host to generate audience participatory experiments. The game show tested the audience’s knowledge of current privacy practices and products and taught them some fun and frightening things about leading companies in the technology industry.

Partnerships: The original P3M5 comprised of 14 theaters representing nine countries (including the US). For the Washington, DC performance event, six European embassies, four theaters, and one university offered money and in-kind support. These European partners included the Goethe-Institut Washington, British Council, Spain Art & Culture, Austrian Cultural Forum, the Embassy of Sweden, the Czech Republic. The Studio Theatre, Baltimore Center Stage, the Shakespeare Theatre Company and Forum Theatre were the participating theaters, along with Georgetown University: Laboratory for Global Performance & Politics hosting the Town Hall segment. Each theater contributed a staff director, an assistant director, and cast from its circle of artistic associates and provided costumes, set pieces, props, and rehearsal time and space. The rest of the budget and production requirements came from the European Embassy community, including a grant from EUNIC.  The Blind Whino partnered with us to reduce the rent for the space. We acquired the experts for the town hall through contacts among the Goethe-Institut, the Laboratory for Global Politics and Theater at Georgetown University and through Gillian Drake, the co-producer and originator of the event.

Production Team: Gillian Drake, the only curator from the P3M5 original group, led the artistic and production staff:  a designer/director of technology, a production coordinator, a stage manager, audience experience designer, a game show writer, three technical crew persons (who doubled as the load-in/out crew).  We hired individuals for the video and Power Point content. The partners shared marketing responsibilities, with the Goethe-Institut taking the lead, and ran the small box office. We met, but did not exceed, our overall budget of $20,000.

** Selection of individual response by audience members:
“I loved how interactive and varied the event was. Extremely thought provoking, esp., the 'game' portion that touched on the iphone settings, etc.”
“I loved the interconnection”
“I thought the panelists were excellent”
“Used a variety of methods and scenarios. Excellent actors, educated while entertaining; textures, dialogue, interactions with audience all very effective.”
“I liked that it was informal and encouraged people to talk to each other before and during the show..and that it was relevant and political.”
“I loved this event! I particularly enjoyed watching the pieces and while I wouldn’t necessarily agree completely with either party in the dialogue that was being performed, it instantly sparked almost a gauge over their heads where I was trying to place myself and my beliefs on the scale between the performers. Incredibly unique and thought provoking. Well done!”
“It was unpredictable and captivating and the acting was excellent.”
“Variety of viewpoints presented in plays, collaboration between multiple theatre companies and across media through the use of the art gallery space.”
“I liked the whole event - it was a form of theatre that is pretty new to me and I liked moving through the different short forms. I liked the game show format as well as the burka monologue and the monitored interview/last secret. I enjoyed the panel discussion, but thought it would have been better to allow a little more time or more planning on this part. My other recommendation is to streamline buying tickets and check-in. With all the info I had to give up to get the tickets I thought I would just scan to check in but it was a manual list - overall a great theatre experience. I was really glad I heard about it and was able to attend.”
“How it became personalized beyond just the audience being concerned what the websites would share about them personally, but the person standing next to you suddenly being part of the show and your personal proximity becoming part of the stage.
“Accessible, innovative, and done with passion. The varied nature of the performances meant you never had a clear idea of what was coming next - which I consider a good thing! The Burqa monologue was tremendously powerful - props to both the writer (who really hit home) and to the actress (who gave a tremendous delivery).”
“I loved being given a team, and the small audience size.”
“Yes I thought it was a good mix of themes. In addition to the religious and cultural aspect, it would be great to see the reality of someone living with limited income/in poverty in the U.S. I imagine a lot of the people who attend are policy wonks, and something like a reenactment of a person who doesn't have unlimited access, a kid who has to study for school, etc. would maybe have a more significant impact than facts and statistics about privacy and access for this income range.”

Gillian Drake, Konzept und Co-Produzentin, Digital Eye @BlindWhino Digital Eye @BlindWhino (DE@BW) Produktions-Bericht

  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com
  • © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com © 2017 Susan Green www.SusanGreenPhotography.com


Ziele: Digital Eye @BlindWhino war ein interaktives, inter-Genre Performance-Event, das aus einem größeren Projekt heraus entwickelt wurde: P3M5. Digital Eye @BlindWhino wurde geschaffen, um ein Ziel von einigen ursprünglichen P3M5 Partnern zu erreichen – ein Performance-Event zu entwickeln, welches die brillianten, von P3M5 kommissionierten Mikro-Theaterstücke feiert. Darüber hinaus war es für die europäischen Partner wichtig, eine Vorlage für einen öffentlichen Austausch zu schaffen, der sich mit der komplizierten, aktuellen und dringenden Frage beschäftigt, wie die sich rasch verändernden Technologien, die wir benutzen, unser fundamentales Verständnis für das Recht auf und den Umgang mit Privatsphäre auf die Probe stellen. In diesem Sinne waren es unsere Ziele, mit Theatern, Kultur-Vertretern der Botschaften und Vordenkern der DC Metro Region zusammenzuarbeiten, um ein Forum für eine sachkundige Diskussion über aktuelle, von unserer Nutzung digitaler Medien hervorgerufene Privatsphäre-Herausforderungen zu schaffen, sowie eine Veranstaltung ins Leben zu rufen, das ein Publikum verschiedenster Generationen und sozialer Hintergründe anspricht.

Ursprung: Im Januar 2016 wurde mit P3M5 ein mehrdimensionales, globales Projekt vom Goethe-Institut Washington, zusammen mit mehreren europäischen und US-amerikanischen Partnern organisiert, um die Konversation über die sich weltweit und stetig verändernden Privatsphäre-Rechte voranzubringen. Wilfried Eckstein ernannte Gillian Drake als US Co-Kuratorin für das Projekt. Zusammen entwickelten sie eine neue Initiative, die sich an Theaterhäuser in Europa und den USA wandte, ortsansässige Bühnenautoren zu beauftragen, um Mikro-Stücke darüber zu schreiben, wie die tiefgreifenden Veränderungen in der digitalen Privatsphäre sie als Künstler beeinflusst haben. Diese Stücke wurden dann von den jeweiligen lokalen Theatern per Video aufgezeichnet. Die Aufführungen dieser 14 Stücke (oder die Video-Aufrufe der gefilmten Aufführungen) geschahen auf der ganzen Welt und den USA. Dennoch, als Schöpfer der P3M5 Kollaboration fanden wir es wichtig, eine Veranstaltung hier in Washington DC zu kreieren.

Resultat: Am 16. und 17. Oktober hatte Digital Eye @BlindWhino vier Aufführungen über zwei Abende. Jede dieser Aufführungen war vollständig ausverkauft und insgesamt wurden innerhalb der Veranstaltung noch 15 zusätzliche Zuschauer untergebracht. Jede Aufführung lief reibungslos ab und die jeweiligen Zuschauer wurden wie geplant von einem Theater-Erlebnis ins nächste geführt. Die Reviews von Theater-Blogs waren ausnahmslos exzellent.

Zuschauer-Rückmeldung: Wir haben die Zuschauer, die ein Ticket für die Veranstaltung erworben haben, befragt. Bisher erhielten wir eine Rücklaufquote von 40%, was für eine Zuschauer-Befragung nach einer Veranstaltung hoch ist. ** Individuelle Kommentare werden am Ende dieses Berichts angeführt. Die Analyse ergab folgende Resultate:
Gesamtbewertung der Veranstaltung: 95% der Antworten bewerteten die Veranstaltung als exzellent, sehr gut oder gut
Ein gutes Modell, um die Öffentlichkeit über das Thema zu informieren: 93% stimmten zu
Der Wunsch, mehr derartiger Theater-Events zu besuchen: 100%
Wie einzigartig war die Veranstaltung in Washington DC: 95% stimmten zu, dass die Veranstaltung extrem oder sehr einzigartig war
Wertigkeit für den Ticketpreis von $20: 95% empfanden die Wertigkeit der Veranstaltung für den Ticketpreis gut bis exzellent
Bewertung des Veranstaltungsortes: 90% stimmten zu, dass der Veranstaltungsort exzellent bis sehr gut war
Wie haben die Zuschauer von der Veranstaltung erfahren: 50% Freunde/Mund-zu-Mund Propaganda, 18% Kommunikation durch die Botschaften, 22% soziale Medien und 11% durch Kommunikation der Theater

Vorlage für zukünftige Produktionen: Das interaktive, multi-Genre Modell DE@BW war in seinen theatralischen Anforderungen hoch effizient, hatte eine effektive Struktur, um ein diversifiziertes Publikum zu unterhalten und könnte somit eine gute Vorlage für all jene sein, die erwägen, P3M5 Stücke zu produzieren. Die einzelnen Teile der Produktion sind reproduzierbar und adaptierbar, das Produktions-Design und die Technologie-Spezifikationen sind vollständig (und können verkleinert werden) und alle Skripte sind bis August 2018 ohne urheberrechtliche Gebühren erhältlich. Beispielsweise könnte jeder zukünftige Produzent anhand der Ansprüche des jeweiligen Veranstaltungsortes die Größe seines Projektes festlegen und entsprechend die Stücke auswählen, die aufgeführt werden sollen. Das Skript der Hacker-Gameshow kann einfach angepasst werden, um aktuelle Forschungsstände wiederzugeben. Das Skript der Tour Guides für den Beginn jeder Veranstaltung kann so verwendet werden, wie es ist, oder angepasst werden, sollten andere Privatsphäre-Tests identifiziert werden. Innerhalb der DE@BW Struktur gibt es viel Raum für Flexibilität und kreative Möglichkeiten. Die Veranstaltung kann mit einem einzigen Regisseur oder einem Konsortium durchgeführt werden, mit einigen wenigen Schauspielern oder mit bis zu 13. Wir hoffen, dass diese erfolgreiche Veranstaltung mehr Produktionen weltweit zu dieser wichtigen Angelegenheit inspiriert.

HINTERGRUND

Form und Stil: Das Kreativ-Team war davon überzeugt, dass ein interaktives Event die richtige Herangehensweise für das Publikum ist – die Zuschauer würden eine Privatsphäre-Herausforderung selbst erleben, in die künstlerische Interpretation eintauchen (durch sehr persönliche Theaterstücke) und an einer sachkundigen Konversation mit führenden Experten auf dem Feld teilnehmen. Inspiriert durch Erfahrungen von Theater-Festivals in Deutschland, wurde die Theater-Performance so gestaltet, dass sie verschiedene Genres, Formen und Stile mit einbezieht. Darüber hinaus sollten auch Film, Theater und eine interaktive Publikums-Diskussionsrunde zusammen mit einer geselligen, amüsanten Atmosphäre mit Cocktails, Essen und Spielen integriert werden. Dementsprechend haben wir nach einem Veranstaltungsort gesucht, der diese künstlerische Interaktion zwischen Zuschauern, Künstlern und Experten beherbergen kann und haben das Blind Whino gefunden. Eine umfunktionierte Baptisten-Kirche in der neuen „Wharf Nachbarschaft“ im Südwesten von DC, mit vier einzigartigen Performance-Räumen.

Format und Struktur

1. Das 75 Besucher große Publikum beginnt zusammen im großen Performance-Saal der Kirche mit einem Skript-basierten Intro, in dem die „Hacker Tour Guides“ auf das Publikum trafen, von jedem einzelnen die Handynummer sicherten und den Zuschauern anschließend ein Privacy Challenge Quiz per Textnachricht zuzusenden, um ihre Privatsphäre Ansichten zu testen, und einen Privatsphäre „Hygiene“ Test durchzuführen. Nachdem die Zuschauer ihre Handynummer preisgegeben haben, wurden ihnen lustige, bissige Memos über den Abend hinweg zugesandt, die mit dem zusammenhingen, was die jeweiligen Zuschauer gerade machten oder sahen. Die Veranstaltung selbst begann mit einem siebenminütigem Film eines Theaterstücks aus Tschechien. Anschließend wurde das Publikum in drei Gruppen von je 25 Personen aufgeteilt, die jeweils von einem „Tour Guide“ in einen der drei verschiedenen Performance Räume geführt wurden. Alle 20 Minuten absolvierten die Gruppen eine Performance und bewegten sich anschließend weiter in den nächsten Raum, bis alle Gruppen alle Performance-Räume durchlaufen hatten und für eine abschließende Town Hall Diskussion mit einigen prominenten Köpfen von Denkfabriken auf dem Privatsphäre-Feld wieder im großen Raum zusammenkamen.

2. Der Raum der Kunstausstellung, der eine lebhafte Malerei-Ausstellung an seinen Wänden präsentierte, inspirierte uns dazu, vier der Theaterstücke in einem Pop-up Format aufzuführen. Die Zuschauer betraten den Ausstellungsraum, in dem sich bereits einige Leute scheinbar die Kunst an den Wänden ansahen. Dann begannen zwei der Schauspieler plötzlich mit ihrem Stück und die Zuschauer bewegten sich mit ihnen, um der Aufführung Platz zu geben. Das nächste Theaterstück begann nahtlos auf ähnliche Weise in einem anderen Teil der Galerie.

3. Für ein traditionelleres Theater-Konzept mit unseren zwei dunklen, verhörartigen Theaterstücken, haben wir den Black Box Bühnenraum verwendet. Die Zuschauer saßen auf Hockern, sodass sie sich einfach von einem Stück zum anderen drehen konnten.

4. Im vierten Raum, der „Lounge“, bot sich dem Publikum ein großer, offener Raum mit zwei Bars, einer kleinen Bühne (augenscheinlich für eine Band oder einen DJ), mit Graffiti bemalten Wänden und einer tiefhängenden Decke. In diesem Raum wurde unsere Hacker Game Show aufgeführt. Hierfür haben wir eine Spieleshow-Umgebung geschaffen, bestehend aus fünf hohen Cocktail-Tischen, die mit Buzzern und Kopfhörern ausgestattet waren, einem großen Bildschirm für die Projektionen der Spieleshow und Raum für unseren Moderator, um partizipative Zuschauer-Experimente durchzuführen. Die Spieleshow hat das Wissen des Publikums hinsichtlich aktueller Datenschutz-Praktiken und Produkten getestet und lehrte sie sowohl unterhaltsame, als auch beängstigende Fakten über führende Unternehmen im Technologie-Sektor.

Partnerschaften: Das ursprüngliche P3M5 Projekt umfasste 14 Theater, die neun Länder repräsentierten (inklusive der USA). Für die Veranstaltung in Washington DC haben sechs europäische Botschaften, vier Theater und eine Universität Geld und Unterstützung in Sachleistungen angeboten. Die europäischen Partner waren das Goethe-Institut Washington, das British Council, Spain Arts & Culture, das Austrian Cultural Forum, sowie die Schwedische und die Tschechische Botschaft. Das Studio Theater, die Baltimore Center Stage, die Shakespeare Theater Company und das Forum Theater waren die teilnehmenden Theater, die zusammen mit dem Georgetown University Laboratory for Global Performance und Politics das Town Hall Segment ausgerichtet haben. Jedes Theater entsandte einen seiner fest angestellten Regisseure, einen assistierenden Regisseur und Schauspieler aus dem jeweiligen künstlerischen Umfeld und stellte überdies Kostüme, Kulissen-Teile, Requisiten, sowie Probezeit und –raum zur Verfügung. Das restliche Budget und Produktionsbedarf kam von der Delegation der Europäischen Union für die Vereinigten Staaten, inklusive finanzieller Unterstützung durch EUNIC. Das Blind Whino wurde ebenfalls ein Partner des Projekts, um die Mietkosten zu senken. Die Experten für die Town Hall Diskussion wurden durch Kontakte des Goethe-Instituts, dem Laboratory for Global Politics and Theater der Georgetown Universität und durch Gillian Drake, der Co-Produzentin und Schöpferin der Veranstaltung, angeworben.

Produktionsteam: Gillian Drake, die alleinige Kuratorin der ursprünglichen P3M5 Gruppe, hat das Künstler- und Produktionsteam geleitet: Einen Designer/Leiter der Technik, eine Produktionskoordinatorin, eine Bühnenmanagerin, einen Audience Experience Designer, eine Autorin des Spieleshow-Skripts und drei Mitglieder der Technik-Crew (die auch als ein- und auslade Crew eingesetzt wurden). Für die Video- und Power Point Inhalte wurde zusätzlich weiteres Personal angeheuert. Die Partner des Projekts teilten sich die Marketing-Aufgaben, wobei das Goethe-Institut die Verantwortung übernahm und einen kleinen Kartenverkauf führte. Das Gesamtbudget von $ 20.000 wurde genutzt und nicht überzogen.

** Auswahl der individuellen Rückmeldungen einzelner Zuschauer:
„Mir gefiel wie interaktiv und variiert die Veranstaltung war. Insbesondere der Spieleshow-Teil der sich mit den iPhone Einstellungen beschäftigte hat extrem zum Nachdenken angeregt“ (“I loved how interactive and varied the event was. Extremely thought provoking, esp., the 'game' portion that touched on the iphone settings, etc.”)
“Mir gefielen die Querverbindungen” (“I loved the interconnection”)
“Meiner Meinung nach waren die Panelisten exzellent” (“I thought the panelists were excellent”)
“Eine Variation von Methoden und Szenarien wurde verwendet. Exzellente Schauspieler, gebildet und unterhaltsam zugleich; Beschaffenheit, Dialoge, Interaktion mit dem Publikum war sehr effektiv“ (“Used a variety of methods and scenarios. Excellent actors, educated while entertaining; textures, dialogue, interactions with audience all very effective.”)
„Mir gefiel, dass es so informell war und die Leute motiviert wurden, vor und während der Show miteinander zu sprechen… Und dass es relevant und politisch war“ (“I liked that it was informal and encouraged people to talk to each other before and during the show..and that it was relevant and political.”)
“Ich habe dieses Event geliebt! Besonders habe ich genossen, mir die Stücke anzusehen und auch wenn ich nicht unbedingt die Meinung jeder Seite des Dialogs, der aufgeführt wurde, teile, haben sie doch sofort schon fast eine imaginäre Anzeige über ihren Köpfen aufkeimen lassen, auf der ich versucht habe, mich und meine Einstellungen zwischen den Schauspielern zu platzieren. Unglaublich einzigartig und zum Nachdenken anregend. Gut gemacht!“ (“I loved this event! I particularly enjoyed watching the pieces and while I wouldn’t necessarily agree completely with either party in the dialogue that was being performed, it instantly sparked almost a gauge over their heads where I was trying to place myself and my beliefs on the scale between the performers. Incredibly unique and thought provoking. Well done!”)
“Es war unberechenbar und fesselnd und die Schauspielerei war exzellent” (“It was unpredictable and captivating and the acting was excellent.”)
“Vielfalt an Standpunkten präsentiert durch Stücke, Kollaborationen zwischen verschiedenen Theatern und über verschiedene Medien durch die Verwendung des Kunstgallerie Raums” (“Variety of viewpoints presented in plays, collaboration between multiple theatre companies and across media through the use of the art gallery space.”)
“Mir gefiel das ganze Event – es war eine Form von Theater, die ziemlich neu für mich ist und mir gefiel es, mich durch die verschiedenen Kurzformate zu bewegen. Mir gefiel das Spieleshow-Format, sowie der Burka-Monolog und das überwachte Interview/Last Secret. Ich habe die Panel Diskussion genossen, auch wenn es besser gewesen wäre bei diesem Teil mehr Zeit oder Planung gehabt zu haben. Meine weitere Empfehlung wäre, den Ticket-Kauf und Check-In Prozess zu verbessern. Mit all den Informationen, die ich bereits beim Kauf der Tickets preisgeben musste dachte ich, ich müsste das Ticket anschließend nur Scannen, aber es war eine händische Liste – insgesamt ein großartiges Theater-Erlebnis. Ich war wirklich froh, davon gehört zu haben und teilnehmen zu können.“ (“I liked the whole event - it was a form of theatre that is pretty new to me and I liked moving through the different short forms. I liked the game show format as well as the burka monologue and the monitored interview/last secret. I enjoyed the panel discussion, but thought it would have been better to allow a little more time or more planning on this part. My other recommendation is to streamline buying tickets and check-in. With all the info I had to give up to get the tickets I thought I would just scan to check in but it was a manual list - overall a great theatre experience. I was really glad I heard about it and was able to attend.”)
“Wie es darüber hinaus personalisiert wurde, dass das Publikum sich damit auseinander setzte, was Webseiten über sie persönlich teilen sollten, sondern auch, dass die Person, die neben dir steht plötzlich Teil der Show wird und deine persönliche Umgebung wird plötzlich Teil der Bühne“ (“How it became personalized beyond just the audience being concerned what the websites would share about them personally, but the person standing next to you suddenly being part of the show and your personal proximity becoming part of the stage.”)
“Zugänglich, innovativ und mit Leidenschaft gemacht. Die vielfaltige Natur der Aufführungen bedeutete, dass du nie eine klare Idee davon hattest, was wohl als nächstes kommen würde – was ich als eine gute Sache ansehe! Der Burka Monolog war überragend kraftvoll – Hut ab für den Autor (der wirklich ins Schwarze getroffen hat) und die Schauspielerin (die eine überragende Performance abgeliefert hat)“ (“Accessible, innovative, and done with passion. The varied nature of the performances meant you never had a clear idea of what was coming next - which I consider a good thing! The Burqa monologue was tremendously powerful - props to both the writer (who really hit home) and to the actress (who gave a tremendous delivery).”)
“Ich liebte es, in ein Team eingeteilt zu warden und die kleine Publikums-Größe” (“I loved being given a team, and the small audience size.”)
„Ja, ich fand es war ein guter Mix von Themen. Zusätzlich zum religiösen und kulturellen Aspekt, wäre es großartig auch die Realität von jemandem zu sehen, der mit begrenzten Einkommen/Armut in den USA wohnt. Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass viele der Leute, die teilnehmen Politik-Streber sind und etwas wie eine Nachstellung einer Person, die nicht uneingeschränkten Zugang hat, ein Bursche, der wirklich für die Schule lernen muss, etc. hätte vielleicht eine signifikantere Wirkung als Fakten und Statistiken über Datenschutz und Zugang für diese Einkommensklasse“ (“Yes I thought it was a good mix of themes. In addition to the religious and cultural aspect, it would be great to see the reality of someone living with limited income/in poverty in the U.S. I imagine a lot of the people who attend are policy wonks, and something like a reenactment of a person who doesn't have unlimited access, a kid who has to study for school, etc. would maybe have a more significant impact than facts and statistics about privacy and access for this income range.”)