Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digitalism as a cultural technique: From alphanumerics to AI

Artificial intelligence is undoubtedly already influencing our traditional cultural techniques. But have we reached the point where the use of AI itself could be described as a cultural technique? One thing is certain: We have long utilised digital systems in our daily lives despite not having the slightest idea how they work.
 

By Sybille Krämer

Thanks to the alphabet and decimal numbers, the ‘three Rs’ of writing, reading and arithmetic advanced to the level of ‘cultural techniques’ in Europe’s rising merchant capitalism. For the first time, arithmetic could be performed purely in writing, without an abacus or counting frame. Elementary arithmetic was thus deconsecrated; it became a skill that was no longer the preserve of talented mathematicians and could be learnt at school. If addition, subtraction, multiplication and division are learnt by heart, arithmetic was nothing more than the manipulation of symbols on paper – it is no longer necessary to comprehend that complex numerical operations are involved.

Correct calculations could be made without ever interpreting the meaning of ‘0’; that is why ‘nothing’ can be quantified and treated as a number. Recognising the meaning of a mathematical symbol means knowing which operation to carry out, or how to transform a pattern according to fixed rules. The symbolic and the technical was intertwined, which is the essence of all cultural techniques. Truth was replaced by correctness.
 
Being able to do something without having to understand how and why it works is a common characteristic of the use of any technical device.
 
With the advent of written calculations, the symbolic machine of formal arithmetic operations was born. Any kind of intellectual work that could be turned into a formal system could be carried out in a mechanical and algorithmic way: whether by humans or machines. The philosopher and mathematician Alfred North Whitehead noted that civilisations advance by expanding the number of operations that can be performed without having to think about them.
 
The use of symbolic machines for formal arithmetic operations was associated with control and transparency – there was no scope left for magic or mysterious tricks. Once the solving of equations incorporated letters and became algebra, algebraic rules (for example (a+b)² = a²+2ab+b²) could be written down in a universally valid way for the first time. Algebra, formerly an Ars Magna et Occulta, became a form of mathematics that could be taught and learnt.
Detail of portrait of German philosopher Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716) German philosopher Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716), by Christoph Bernhard Franke | Photo (Detail): Herzog Anton Ulrich-Museum Braunschweig Alphanumeric cultural techniques are thus a kind of ‘control room’ that enables many people to participate in techniques for acquiring knowledge. Machines can also participate. The development of calculating machines followed soon after the introduction of decimal numbers. The German philosopher Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716) developed the first four-species calculating machine. Was it a coincidence that he also invented the binary number system in 1703? In any case, his binary alphabet – calculations with ‘0’ and ‘1’ – layed the foundation for the computerisation that followed hundreds of years later. It’s virtually impossible for humans to perform calculations using the binary system, because our eyes and hands cannot cope with long rows of just two symbols; but machines were well equipped for the task.
 
150 years later, Ada Lovelace (1815-1852), daughter of the eccentric poet Lord Byron and his wife Anne Isabella Noel-Byron, realised that machines could potentially calculate using not only numbers, but also symbols (in the Leibnizian sense) – symbols that could represent music, language or numbers. She developed the first executable program for a universal machine, even though such a machine – designed by Charles Babbage – only existed on paper at the time. Her program for the automatic calculation of Bernoulli numbers was clearly arranged in tabular form for human hands and eyes.
 
Yet for the machine – according to Lovelace and Babbage’s ideas – it was sufficient to simply enter the binarized starting values and instructions in the form of a punch card pattern (a technique similar to that used to create complex patterns on a Jacquard loom). This was the first time that the separability of hardware and software was recognised and put into practice. Ada Lovelace was interested in both mathematics and music and expressed the hope that such machines could one day also be used to compose music.
The London Science Museum's difference engine Charles Babbage's difference engine at the London Science Museum's | Credit: User:geni, CC BY-SA 4.0 In the middle of last century, Alan Turing (1912-1954) realised that everything that is developed as an algorithm can also be carried out by a real, physical machine. When software was added to the universal Turing machine, it transformed into a highly specific machine whose instructions are provided by the software.
 
With the programmability of computers, it seemed that humankind had reached the highest level of agency and control: Everything that could be described in a formal configuration of symbols could be carried out by computers. And given that intellectual work is (to a large extent) so deeply rooted in the cultural technique of organising formal symbols, this seemed to lay the foundation for machines that can think for us – either bit by bit or entirely. The artificial intelligence project started to take shape, emerging from the cultural techniques of formal symbol manipulation.
 
But doesn’t the cultural-technical anchoring of intellectual work obscure one of its important modalities? The psychologist and Nobel Prize winner Daniel Kahnemann (*1934) made a distinction between ‘slow’ and ‘fast’ thinking. ‘Slow’ refers to laborious, time-consuming, symbol-processing thought processes; the kind of thinking we use to debate, write or calculate. Such thought processes are undoubtedly shaped by cultural-technical aspects. But when we recognise voices, faces or even objects, this typically occurs at a speed that is instantaneous, automatic and almost instinctive, even though we are unable to explicitly state what it is that distinguishes our neighbour’s voice and face from the thousand other faces and voices we perceive.
 
Indeed, machine modelling of this perception-based ‘fast thinking’ has played a role in the artificial intelligence project ever since it started. Since the invention of Warren McCulloch and Walter Pitt’s neuron model (1943) and Frank Rosenblatt’s perceptron algorithm (1958), attempts have been made to do away with explicit programming and rely instead on machine learning. And these attempts were not inspired by the cultural technique of written computation, but rather the basic mechanisms of networked neural activities in the brain. The action potential of a synapse is the result of inhibiting and reinforcing factors that change the weighting of its connections. According to the basic idea, this is how artificial neural networks can learn to classify different kinds of inputs with regard to a desired output.
 
Berlin-based philosopher Sybille Krämer Sybille Krämer | © Sybille Krämer When pitted against the classic symbol-processing approach, neural-based machine learning usually came off second best during all previous peaks in AI development. But in the first decade of the 21st century, the situation started to change: The new boom in AI is based on machine learning, in deep learning algorithms. Artificial intelligence has arrived not only in professional spheres but in everyday life itself, in the form of face and voice recognition, translation programs, all kinds of image recognition and online searches.
 
The reason for this is not the neural networks themselves, which we’ve known about since the 1950s, but rather the immense amounts of training data made available through users’ online activities or produced by armies of paid clickworkers, combined with the vastly increased computing power of today’s processors. This has made datafication possible, the continuous translation of real-world conditions into a stream of data. If the world had not metamorphosised into a machine-readable data universe, companies such as those developing ‘self-driving cars’ would be untenable. Even so, a child needs only three example images to learn how to distinguish between a cat and a dog; deep learning with seven hidden intermediate layers requires a million examples. And the cat detection algorithm still doesn’t know that cats are not flat! This extreme data consumption can place limits on deep learning. Another aspect is even more problematic. Even if we analyse the algorithm’s output, it is impossible to work out the internal cat detection model that the algorithm has developed based on the millions of training files. The trained algorithm embodies a “knowing how” that cannot be reconstructed as a “knowing that” which humans can understand. The consequence is “black boxing”. The more successful a trained algorithm is, the more invisible its internal machine model.

Remember: To algorithmise a human activity means making it possible for a machine to explicitly and intersubjectively comprehend how that activity is to be carried out as a routine. However, as the AI learns, the routinisation of its procedures (e.g. smartphone camera settings, traffic jam reports on navigation systems, or the page rankings of search results) leads to another tendency: The efficiency of these data technologies swallows up the transparency and makes it impossible for us to know how they do what they do. A Waymo self-driving car on the road in Mountain View, California A Waymo self-driving car on the road in Mountain View, California | Credit: Grendelkhan, CC BY-SA 4.0 Digitisation implies a boundless increase in our access to knowledge; but at the same time, the areas of non-transparent, hidden “knowing how” are increasing, particularly in connection with the most advanced knowledge technologies. Perhaps it is worth recalling at this point that the democratisation of access to knowledge caused by the cultural technique of written arithmetic was also linked to a readiness to forfeit an understanding of why arithmetic rules work at all, what zero means, or why a number is no longer considered a countable ‘quantity’.
 
The two-faced nature of technology not only means that it can be used to achieve both good and bad objectives. It also means that in relation to using technology, knowledge and ignorance are two sides of the same coin. Because for technology users, being able to use a device and knowing how it works are two very different things. It may be possible to modify this tension, but it cannot be completely eliminated.
 
If we call artificial intelligence a cultural technique 4.0, this raises the question of whether we should regard it as an ‘ordinary technology’ within this tension of knowledge/ignorance. One thing is certain: Even if we classify AI in this way, we still have to assume it will have radical consequences for culture and society, similar to the effects of the steam engine at the start of the Industrial Revolution.

This article is part of Kulturtechniken 4.0, a web project from Goethe-Institut in Australia which looks at the interplay between artificial intelligence and traditional cultural skills.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Kulturtechnik Digitalität: Von der Alphanumerik zur künstlichen Intelligenz

Künstliche Intelligenz beeinflusst mit Sicherheit schon jetzt unsere traditionellen Kulturtechniken. Aber sind wir soweit, dass die Nutzung von KI selbst als eine Kulturtechnik bezeichnet werden könnte? Fest steht, dass wir im Alltag längst digitale Systeme bedienen, deren Funktionsweisen wir noch nicht mal im Ansatz verstehen.

Von Sybille Krämer

Mit Alphabet und dezimaler Zahlenschrift avancieren Schreiben, Lesen und Rechnen im aufsteigenden Handelskapitalismus Europas zu ‚Kulturtechniken‘. Erstmals ist rein schriftlich zu rechnen, ohne Abakus oder Rechenbrett. Elementare Arithmetik profanisiert sich zu einem Können, das nicht länger mathematischen Talenten vorbehalten bleibt und in der Schule lernbar ist. Wird das kleine Einsundeins, Einsminuseins, Einmaleins, Einsdurcheins auswendig beherrscht, ist das Rechnen nur noch Zeichenmanipulation auf Papier: Ein Wissen, dass es dabei um komplexe Zahlenoperationen geht, ist nicht mehr vonnöten. Um korrekt zu rechnen kann uninterpretiert bleiben, was die ‚0‘ bedeutet; wieso also ‚nichts‘ quantifiziert und als Zahl behandelt werden kann. Die Bedeutung eines Zeichens zu erkennen, heißt zu wissen, welche Zeichenoperation mit ihm auszuführen, wie ein Muster regelhaft zu transformieren ist. Das Symbolische und das Technische haben sich verbündet. Genau das ist die Essenz von Kulturtechniken. An die Stelle von Wahrheit ist Richtigkeit getreten.
 
Etwas zu können, ohne verstehen zu müssen, wie und warum es funktioniert, ist charakteristisch für jedweden Gebrauch technischer Apparate.
 
Mit dem schriftlichen Rechnen ist die symbolische Maschine formaler Zeichenoperationen geboren. Was an geistiger Arbeit formalisierbar ist, kann mechanisch-algorithmisch ausgeführt werden: ob durch Menschen oder Maschinen. Zivilisationen schreiten voran – bemerkt der Philosoph und Mathematiker Alfred North Whitehead – indem sie die Anzahl der Operationen ausweiten, die ausführbar sind, ohne über sie nachdenken zu müssen.
 
Der Einsatz symbolischer Maschinen formaler Zeichenoperationen ist mit Kontrolle und Transparenz verbunden: Für magische Künste und geheimnisvolle Tricks bleibt kein Platz. Sobald das Lösen von Gleichungen zur Buchstabenalgebra wird, können erstmals algebraische Regeln (beispielweise (a+b)² = a²+2ab+b²) allgemeingültig notiert werden: Aus der Algebra, vormals eine Ars Magna et Occulta, wird eine lehr- und lernbare Form der Mathematik.
Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716), von Christoph Bernhard Franke Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716), von Christoph Bernhard Franke | Foto (Auschnitt): Herzog Anton Ulrich-Museum Braunschweig Der Kontrollraum alphanumerischer Kulturtechniken ermöglicht die Partizipation vieler an den Wissenstechniken. Diese Partizipation schließt Maschinen mit ein. Die Entwicklung von Rechenmaschinen folgte der Einführung der dezimalen Zahlenschrift auf dem Fuße. Der deutsche Philosoph Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz (1646-1716) entwickelt die erste Vier-Spezies-Rechenmaschine. Ist es Zufall, dass er im Jahr 1703 auch das Dualzahlensystem erfindet? Sein Binäralphabet – die Rechnung mit ‚0‘ und ‚1‘ – legt jedenfalls die Grundlagen für die spätere Computerisierung. Zwar können Menschen im Dualsystem kaum rechnen, denn ihre Augen und Hände kommen mit den langen Reihen aus lediglich zwei Symbolen nicht zurecht; aber dafür können Maschinen das umso besser.
 
Ada Lovelace (1815-1852), die Tochter des exzentrischen Poeten Lord Byron und seiner Frau Anne Isabella Noel-Byron, erkennt 150 Jahre später die Möglichkeit, dass Maschinen nicht nur mit Zahlen, sondern – ganz im Leibniz‘schen Sinne – mit Zeichen rechnen, ob diese nun Musik, Sprache oder Zahlen repräsentieren. Sie entwickelt das erste lauffähige Programm für eine Universalmaschine, auch wenn eine solche Maschine – entworfen von Charles Babbage – bis dahin nur als Papierentwurf existierte. Ihr Programm für die automatische Berechnung der Bernoulli-Zahlen ist für Menschenhände und -augen übersichtlich in Tabellenform angeordnet.
 
Doch für die Maschine – so die Ideen von Lovelace und Babbage – genügt es, die binarisierten Ausgangswerte und Instruktionen als Lochkartenmuster einzugeben, welches aus der Steuerung von Webstühlen bekannt ist. Die Trennbarkeit von Hardware und Software ist damit erstmals erkannt und eingeleitet. Ada Lovelace, nicht nur mathematisch, sondern auch musisch interessiert, spricht die Hoffnung aus, solche Maschinen auch zum Komponieren von Musik einsetzen zu können.
Die Differenzmaschine des Londoner Wissenschaftsmuseums Charles Babbages Differenzmaschine im Londoner Wissenschaftsmuseum | Foto: User:geni, CC BY-SA 4.0 Alan Turing (1912-1954) erkennt Mitte des vergangenen Jahrhunderts, dass alles, was als Algorithmus entwickelt wird, auch von einer realen, physikalischen Maschine ausführbar ist. Mit Eingabe der Software verwandelt sich die universelle Turingmaschine in genau diejenige spezifische Maschine, deren Instruktion die Software liefert.
 
Mit der Programmierbarkeit von Computern – so jedenfalls scheint es – hat der Mensch die höchste Stufe von Gestaltungsmacht und Kontrolle erreicht: alles, was in formalen Zeichenkonfigurationen beschreibbar ist, kann durch Computer ausgeführt werden. Und weil geistige Arbeit – jedenfalls zum Gutteil – so tief in der Kulturtechnik formalen Zeichenumgangs verwurzelt ist, scheint damit der Grundstein gelegt für Maschinen, die uns – sei es stückweise oder im Ganzen – das Denken abnehmen. Das Projekt künstlicher Intelligenz aus dem Geiste der Kulturtechniken formaler Symbolmanipulation nimmt Gestalt an.
 
Aber blendet die kulturtechnische Verankerung geistiger Arbeit nicht eine ihrer wichtigen Modalitäten aus? Der Psychologe und Nobelpreisträger Daniel Kahnemann (*1934) unterscheidet zwischen ‚langsamem‘ und ‚schnellem‘ Denken. Langsam sind die mühevollen, zeitaufwendigen, symbolverarbeitenden Kognitionen; eben jenes Denken, bei dem wir argumentieren, schreiben oder rechnen. Zweifellos sind solche Denkvollzüge kulturtechnisch konturiert. Doch wenn wir Stimmen, Gesichter oder überhaupt Objekte erkennen, dann geschieht dies zumeist mit einer Schnelligkeit, die instantan, automatisch, fast instinktiv abläuft, ohne dass wir explizit angeben könnten, was Stimme und Gesicht unseres Nachbarn von den tausend anderen Gesichtern und Stimmen unterscheidet, die wir wahrnehmen.
Die Berliner Philosophin Sybille Krämer Sybille Krämer | © Sybille Krämer
Tatsächlich haben seit Entstehung des Projektes ‚Künstliche Intelligenz‘ maschinelle Modellierungen dieses wahrnehmungsbasierten ‚schnellen Denkens‘ eine Rolle gespielt. Seit Warren McCulloch und Walter Pitts Neuronenmodell (1943) und Frank Rosenblatts Perzeptron (1958) gab es Versuche, auf die explizite Programmierung zu verzichten und stattdessen auf das Lernen der Maschinen zu setzen. Und dabei steht nicht die Kulturtechnik des schriftlichen Rechnens Pate, vielmehr geben Grundmechanismen vernetzter Neuronenaktivitäten das Vorbild ab. Das Aktionspotenzial einer Synapse ist die Resultante von hemmenden und verstärkenden Faktoren, welche die Gewichtung von Verbindungen verändern. Auf diese Weise – so die Grundidee – können künstliche neuronale Netze erlernen, verschiedenartige Inputs hinsichtlich eines erwünschten Outputs zu klassifizieren.
 
In der Konkurrenz mit dem klassischen Symbolverarbeitungsansatz zog das neuronal fundierte Maschinenlernen in allen vergangenen Hochphasen künstlicher Intelligenz zumeist den Kürzeren. Doch im ersten Jahrzehnt des 21. Jahrhunderts ändert sich die Situation: Dieser neuer Aufschwung gründet in maschinellen Lernverfahren, in Algorithmen des Deep Learning. In Gesichts- und Stimmerkennung, Übersetzungsprogrammen, Bilderkennungen aller Art oder Suchverfahrenen im Netz ist künstliche Intelligenz nicht nur auf professionellen Feldern, sondern im Alltag selbst angekommen.
 
Der Grund dafür sind nicht die schon seit den 1950er Jahren bekannten neuronalen Netze selbst; sondern die immensen Mengen von Trainingsdaten, die durch Webaktivitäten von Nutzern zur Verfügung stehen oder von Heeren bezahlter Clickworker produziert werden, verbunden mit der immens gesteigerten Rechenkraft der Prozessoren. So ist die Datifizierung möglich geworden, die konstante Übersetzung von Weltzuständen in einen Datenstrom. Ohne die Metamorphose der Welt in ein maschinenlesbares Datenuniversum wären Unternehmen wie ‚selbstfahrende Autos‘ hinfällig. Allerdings: Ein Kind lernt aus drei Beispielbildern zwischen Katze und Hund zu unterscheiden; beim Deep Learning mit sieben verborgenen Zwischenschichten werden dafür eine Million Beispiele benötigt. Und der Katzendetektor weiß dann immer noch nicht, dass Katzen nicht flach sind! Der extreme Datenverbrauch kann zum Limit des Deep Learning werden. Problematischer noch ist ein anderer Aspekt. Welches interne Modell der Algorithmus zur Katzenerkennung aus den Millionen seiner Trainingsdaten entwickelt hat, ist aus seinem Output nicht mehr erschließbar. Der trainierte Algorithmus verkörpert ein Knowing How, das als ein menschenverstehbares Knowing That nicht mehr zu rekonstruieren ist. Ein Blackboxing ist die Folge. Je erfolgreicher die trainierten Algorithmen arbeiten, desto unsichtbarer bleiben die dabei entwickelten internen maschinellen Modelle.
 
Erinnern wir uns: Menschliche Tätigkeiten zu algorithmisieren heißt explizit und intersubjektiv nachvollziehbar zu machen, wie eine Tätigkeit als Routine auszuführen ist. Doch die Veralltäglichung der Verfahren lernender KI – wie beispielweise bei den Kameraeinstellungen von Smartphones, den Staumeldungen der Navigationssysteme, oder dem Page-Ranking beantworteter Suchanfragen – führt zu einer anderen Tendenz: die Leistungseffizienz dieser Datentechnologien verschluckt die Transparenz und Verstehbarkeit von dem, wie sie dies leisten.
Ein selbstfahrendes Auto von Waymo auf der Straße in Mountain View, Kalifornien Ein selbstfahrendes Auto von Waymo auf der Straße in Mountain View, Kalifornien | Foto: Grendelkhan, CC BY-SA 4.0 Die Digitalisierung impliziert eine unermessliche Steigerung unseres Zugangs zum Wissen; doch zugleich wachsen die Regionen eines intransparenten, verborgenen Knowing-Hows gerade in Verbindung mit den avanciertesten Wissenstechniken. Lohnt es an dieser Stelle daran zu erinnern, dass auch die Demokratisierung des Wissenszugangs durch die Kulturtechnik des schriftlichen Rechnens verbunden war mit dem Verzicht auf ein Verständnis, warum diese Rechenregeln überhaupt funktionieren, was die Null bedeutet oder warum eine Zahl nicht länger als eine abzählbare ‚Anzahl‘ gilt?
 
Die Janusköpfigkeit der Technologie besteht nicht nur darin, dass sie guten wie schlechten Zwecken dienen kann. Sie bedeutet auch, dass Wissen und Nichtwissen im Technikgebrauch zwei Seiten derselben Medaille bilden. Denn ein Gerät gebrauchen zu können und zu wissen wie es funktioniert – diese Dinge sind für Techniknutzer nicht dasselbe. Und dieses Spannungsverhältnis mag modifizierbar sein, aber vollends aufgehoben werden kann es nicht.
 
Wenn wir künstliche Intelligenz als eine Kulturtechnik 4.0 bezeichnen, dann stellt sich die Frage, ob wir sie als eine ‚gewöhnliche Technik‘ innerhalb dieses Spannungsverhältnis von Wissen/Nichtwissen ansehen sollten. Fest steht: Selbst wenn wir sie so einordnen, dann müssen dennoch mit umstürzenden Folgen für Kultur und Gesellschaft rechnen, ähnlich wie es dereinst mit der Dampfmaschine zu Beginn der industriellen Revolution geschehen ist.

Dieser Artikel ist ein Teil von Kulturtechniken 4.0, einem Webprojekt des Goethe-Instituts in Australien, das sich mit dem Zusammenspiel von künstlicher Intelligenz und traditionellen Kulturtechniken befasst.

Top