Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


A Year As Long As Life (God kak zhizn)

God kak zhizn (Ein Jahr wie ein ganzes Leben)
© Mosfilm

Soviet Union 1966, 140 min., feature film, Russian
 
Director: Azerbaijan Mambetov, Grigory Rozhal, Writer: Galina Serebryanikova, Grigory Rozhal, Cinematography: Leonid Kosmatov, Aleksandr Simonov, Music: Dmitry Shostakovich, Production: Mosfilm, Starring: Igor Kvasha, Andrey Mironov, Rufina Nofontova, Aleksey Alekseyev

A Year As Long As Life - 1848, was the inspirational, disappointing and defining year of European revolutions. Marx would witness these events unfold in Brussels, Paris, Berlin, Cologne, and later again in Brussels, before being deported once more, when he would leave the continent for England as a stateless man.
 
In the same year, Marx and Engels published the “Manifesto of the Communist Party” – a document that would polarize the politically like-minded and become the now famous polemic. For Marx, the year 1848/49 was marked by his “rabble-rousing” journalistic work in the “Neue Rheinische Zeitung,” the struggle against censorship and suppression, and the question as to when the great proletarian revolution to overthrow absolutism should take place.  

Trailer 

God kak zhizn (Ein Jahr wie ein ganzes Leben)
© Mosfilm
Produced shortly following the Khrushchev Thaw in the Soviet Union, Roschal and Mambetow’s grand-scale historical drama discards the Stalinist characteristics of previous Soviet productions. The film is in no way a glorification of Marx as part of the “Marx-Lenin-Stalin trinity” that had been used to justify the soviet model of a “Dictatorship of the Proletariat,” that was in reality a “Dictatorship over the Proletariat.”
 
Instead, Marx is depicted in the film as contemplative, and at times even pessimistic, capturing the determined and energetic radical revolutionary that Marx was. In closing, Marx reflects and states “Most importantly, we haven't lost…Although we haven't brought about the proletarian revolution; the ideals of the manifesto have been affirmed and will become a force and foundation for a new science that will transform the world.”

Back

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


God kak zhizn (Ein Jahr wie ein ganzes Leben)

God kak zhizn (Ein Jahr wie ein ganzes Leben)
© Mosfilm

Sowjetunion 1966, 140 min., Spielfilm, Russisch
 
Regie: Aserbajschan Mambetow, Grigori Roschal, Drehbuch: Galina Serebrjakowa, Grigori Roschal, Kamera: Leonid Kosmatow, Aleksandr Simonow, Musik: Dmitri Schostakovitsch, Produktion: Mosfilm, Besetzung: Igor Kwascha, Andrej Mironow, Rufina Nofontowa, Aleksej Aleksejew

Ein Jahr wie ein ganzes Leben – Das war das prägende, begeisternde und enttäuschende Jahr der europäischen Revolutionen von 1848. Marx erlebt es in Brüssel, Paris, Berlin und Köln, dann wieder Brüssel mit, bevor er auch dort ausgewiesen wird und als Staatenloser nach England geht.
 
Marx und Engels haben in diesem Jahr ihr „Kommunistisches Manifest“ herausgebracht, das unter den politischen Gleichgesinnten polarisiert, aber eine bis heute berühmte Kampfschrift wurde. Die journalistisch-agitatorische Arbeit in der „Neuen Rheinischen Zeitung“, der Kampf gegen Zensur und Unterdrückung und die Differenzen darüber, wann der richtige Zeitpunkt für die große proletarische Bewegung gegen den Absolutismus gekommen ist, prägt Marx in diesem Jahr 1848/49.

Trailer 

God kak zhizn (Ein Jahr wie ein ganzes Leben)
© Mosfilm
Der große sowjetische Marx-Historienfilm von Roschal und Mambetow wurde kurz nach der ‚Tauwetterperiode‘ produziert und hat den stalinistischen Duktus früherer Jahre endgültig abgelegt. Es ist keine Glorifizierung von Marx, der im Dreiklang Marx-Lenin-Stalin so lange zur Rechtfertigung der Diktatur des Proletariats herhalten musste, die doch nur eine Diktatur über das Proletariat war.
 
Marx trägt in diesem Film nachdenkliche, zum Teil sogar pessimistische Züge. An einigen Stellen jedoch wird der energische, entschlossene und radikale Revolutionär, der Marx (zeitweise) auch war, betont. „Hauptsache, wir haben nicht verloren“, sinniert Marx am Ende, „die proletarische Revolution ist noch nicht herbeigeführt, aber die Ideen des Manifests sind bestätigt und werden zur realen Kraft und zur Grundlage der neuen Wissenschaft zur Umformung der Welt.“

Zurück

Top