Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


Marx – The Spectre is Still Alive

Karl Marx – The Spectre Is Still Alive
© WDR/ARTE / Neue Artfilm

Germany / France 2018, 52 min., documentary, German (with English subtitles)
 
Writer/Director: Peter Dörfler, Cinematography: Peter Dörfler, Editor: Dennis Karsten, Peter Klum, Music: Bernd Schultheis, Producer: Stefan Pannen, Starring: Sarah Wagenknecht, Matthias Greffrath, Peter Schneider, Stephen Smith, Christina Morina, Yanis Varoufakis

Dörfler’s documentary presents Karl Marx as seen from the vantage point of his legacy – be it at a large Anti-globalization demonstration in Hamburg, at a business studies lecture in China, on a Marx-Show on television, the sculptor who created the Marx statue for the city of Trier, French “old guard” communists in Grenoble, bankers in London, with the radical Greek Politician Yanis Varoufakis, or through archival Images from Karl-Marx-Stadt (Chemnitz).
 
Revolutions were carried out under Marx name, that today are often viewed as nothing more than failed experiments. Are the Red October, the idea of Class Struggle, and the Communist Manifesto mere things of the past, relegated to history lessons? It would appear as though capitalism has triumphed.

Trailer

Karl Marx und seine Erben
© WDR/ARTE / Neue Artfilm
Marx’s legacy and its impact on contemporary struggles for worker’s rights, student movements, and global financial crises are examined and discussed through interviews and critical statements provided by Attac-activist Werner Rätz, Author and Journalist Matthias Greffrath, Die Linke party chair Sarah Wagenknecht, historian Christina Morina, as well as Author Peter Schneider.
 
What ultimately emerges is in no way a glorification of Marx on the occasion of his 200th birthday, but instead an open discussion and analysis of what Marx’ ideals can continue to contribute to contemporary society.    

Back

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Marx und seine Erben

Karl Marx und seine Erben
© WDR/ARTE / Neue Artfilm

Deutschland / Frankreich 2018, 52 Min., Dokumentarfilm, Deutsch (mit englischen Untertiteln)
 
Drehbuch und Regie: Peter Dörfler, Kamera: Peter Dörfler, Schnitt: Dennis Karsten, Peter Klum, Musik: Bernd Schultheis, Produzent: Stefan Pannen, mit: Sarah Wagenknecht, Matthias Greffrath, Peter Schneider, Stephen Smith, Christina Morina, Yanis Varoufakis

Diese spannende Dokumentation zeigt Marx aus der Sicht seines Erbes. Sei es bei einer großen Anti-Globalisierungsdemonstration in Hamburg, in China im BWL-Seminar, in der Marx-Show im Fernsehen oder beim Bildhauer, der die große Marxstatue für Trier schafft, unter französischen Altkommunisten in Grenoble, unter Londoner Bankern, mit dem radikalen griechischen Politiker Yanis Varoufakis oder mit staunen machenden Archivbildern aus Karl-Marx-Stadt (Chemnitz).
 
In Marx‘ Namen wurden Revolutionen ausgerufen, die heute allesamt als gescheiterte Experimente gelten. Die Stationen Der Rote Oktober, das große Thema des Klassenkampfs, das Kommunistische Manifest – sind sie nur noch historisch bedeutsam? Der Kapitalismus scheint triumphiert zu haben.

Trailer

Karl Marx und seine Erben
© WDR/ARTE / Neue Artfilm
Der Attac-Aktivist Werner Rätz, der Journalist und Autor Matthias Greffrath, die Linken-Politikerin Sarah Wagenknecht, die Historikerin Christina Morina und der Schriftsteller Peter Schneider ordnen die Stationen und Leistungen des großen deutschen Denkers kritisch ein und stellen sie in Beziehung zu modernem Arbeitskampf, Studentenbewegung und Finanzkrise.
 
Es geht dabei keineswegs um eine Glorifizierung zum Anlass des Jubiläums, sondern eine ernsthafte, offene Auseinandersetzung mit dem, was Marx sehr wohl für Verständnis und Bewältigung der heutigen Welt beitragen kann.

Zurück

Top