Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Local Advisor
Mason Culkin

As a queer woman myself, I am personally invested in how queer history is addressed in exhibitions. For this reason, I joined the advisory team for Queer as German Folk in January.


Mason Culkin © Mason Culkin The local exhibit Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present looks at the past and the present and contextualizes Chicago as a city with a rich queer history. It aims to decentralize this story beyond the established queer enclaves of "Boystown" and to position the Latinx and Black Queer experiences in the city of Chicago. Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present begins a conversation reminiscent of Chicago's queer experiences while recognizing that many past and present queer places and spaces are not yet captured.

Biography

I am currently pursuing a Master’s in Museum and Exhibition Studies at the University of Illinois at Chicago and will obtain my degree in May 2020. I have a background in art history and entrepreneurship. I love to travel and have visited thirteen European countries, including Germany. I will be returning to Berlin this summer to present at the Queering Memory conference.

I am also new to Chicago, so this mapping project of queer sites and spaces has taught me a lot about this city. I love working with the Goethe-Institut and look forward to seeing the exhibition in its entirety in June. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Lokale Beraterin
Mason Culkin

Als queere Frau bin ich persönlich daran interessiert, wie queere Geschichte in Ausstellungen behandelt wird. Aus diesem Grund bin ich im Januar in das Beratungsteam von „Queer as German Folk“ eingetreten.


Mason Culkin © Mason Culkin Das lokale Exponat Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present blickt auf die Vergangenheit und die Gegenwart und  kontextualisiert Chicago als eine Stadt mit einer reichen queeren Geschichte. Es zielt darauf ab, diese Geschichte jenseits der etablierten queeren Enklaven von "Boystown" hinaus zu dezentralisieren und die Latinx- und Black-Queer-Erfahrungen in der Stadt Chicago zu positionieren. Mapping Queer Chicago: Past and Present beginnt ein Gespräch, das an Chicagos queere Erfahrungen erinnert und gleichzeitig anerkennt, dass viele vergangene und gegenwärtige queere Orte und Räume noch nicht erfasst sind.

Biografie

Derzeit absolviere ich ein Magisterstudium in Museums- und Ausstellungswissenschaften an der University of Illinois in Chicago und werde meinen Abschluss im Mai 2020 machen. Ich habe einen Hintergrund in Kunstgeschichte und Unternehmertum. Ich liebe es zu reisen und habe dreizehn europäische Länder besucht, darunter auch Deutschland. Ich werde diesen Sommer nach Berlin zurückkehren und an der Konferenz Queere Gemeinsamkeiten – Queere Konflikte teilnehmen.

Ich bin neu in Chicago, daher hat mir dieses Kartierungsprojekt von queeren Orten und Räumen viel über diese Stadt beigebracht. Ich arbeite sehr gerne mit dem Goethe-Institut zusammen und freue mich darauf, im Juni 2019 die gesamte Ausstellung zu sehen.

Top