Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Impressions

The James C. Hormel LGBTIQ+ Center on the third floor of the Main Library in San Francisco is a library, a meeting place, and a venue for exhibitions and events. This lively place of exchange and discussion about gender diversity is where the main part of the exhibition Queer as German Folk is on view. A small portion of the exhibition is at the Eureka Valley/Harvey Milk Memorial Branch Library. Located in a LGBTIQ neighborhood, the latter segment of the exhibition primarily serves to promote its main part at the Hormel Center.

Exhibition announcement at the entrance to the San Francisco Public Library Exhibition “Queer as German Folk” San Francisco Exhibition announcement at the entrance to the San Francisco Public Library | © Goethe-Institut USA

The exhibition in the San Francisco Public Library is noticeable from a distance. Visitors move towards the heart of the Hormel Center through the various stations spread across the hallways. The exhibition layout was adjusted in response to the specificity of the space and impressively frames the historical reappraisal on view. Jim Van Buskirk curated the San Francisco iteration of the exhibition and placed its local references directly under the first panels. From the very beginning, this establishes a link between the various moments of queer movement history in Germany highlighted in the exhibition and the long and complex queer history of San Francisco.

Visitors can expect a critical examination of the politics, aesthetics, and dynamics of queer resistance. Dedicated to previously neglected perspectives of the movement’s history, the exhibition at the Hormel Center merges these insights with the history and significance of both the exhibition venue and the city of San Francisco.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Queer as German Folk
Impressionen San Francisco

Das James C. Hormel LGBTIQ+ Center im dritten Stock der Main Library in San Francisco ist zugleich Bibliothek, Begegnungszentrum und Veranstaltungsort für Diskussionen und Ausstellungen. An diesem lebendigen und wichtigen Ort des Austauschs und des Diskurses aller Aspekte von Gendervielfalt ist der Hauptteil der Ausstellung Queer as German Folk zu sehen. Ein weiterer, kleinerer Teil befindet sich in der Eureka Valley / Harvey Milk Branch Library. In direkter Nachbarschaft zur LBGTIQ*-Community wirbt dieser Standort vor allem dafür, die Ausstellung im Hormel-Center zu besuchen.

Ausstellungsankündigung am Eingang zur San Francisco Public Library Ausstellung „Queer as German Folk“ San Francisco Ausstellungsankündigung am Eingang zur San Francisco Public Library | © Goethe-Institut USA


Schon von Weitem kündigt sich die Ausstellung in der San Francisco Public Library an. Die Besucher*innen gelangen über verschiedene erste Stationen auf dem Flur in das Herz des Centers. Obgleich das Ausstellungslayout aufgrund spezifischer Gegebenheiten des Ortes modifiziert wurde, kommt die Wirkung der wertvollen historischen Aufarbeitung eindrucksvoll zur Geltung. Der lokale Bezug der Ausstellung, der von Jim Van Buskirk für San Francisco kuratiert wurde, befindet sich direkt unter den ersten Paneelen. Dadurch verbinden sich die Schlaglichter, die in der Ausstellung auf verschiedene Momente queerer Bewegungsgeschichte geworfen werden, von Beginn an mit der facettenreichen und langen queeren Geschichte San Franciscos.
 
Die Besucher*innen erwartet eine kritische Auseinandersetzung mit Politik, Ästhetik und Dynamik der Widerstandsbewegung. Der Innenraum des Hormel-Centers widmet sich bisher vernachlässigten Perspektiven der queeren Bewegungsgeschichte und lässt diese Einblicke sowohl mit der Historie und Bedeutung des Ortes als auch der Stadt San Francisco verschmelzen.

Top