Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Worlds of Homelessness
SCI-Arc homelessness charrette

Photo of the SCI-Arc Homeless Charrette Interview Booth
© Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Watch the inspiring debates and presentations given at the inauguration of the Charette January 11th - 14th, 2019, presented by SCI-Arc in partnership with the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles. 
Opening remarks by Hernan Diaz Alonso, Director SCI-Arc, Lien Heidenreich-Seleme, Director Goethe-Institut Los Angeles and Mark Ridley-Thomas, Supervisor Los Angeles County.

The "Worlds of Homelessness" initiative of the Goethe-Institut is planning a two-year interdisciplinary discussion on the topic of homelessness as an expression of other social issues such as poverty, participation, inequality, gentrification, racism, and migration. As part of the project, the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles established a cooperation with Sci-Arc, one of the most important architect schools in Los Angeles, to exchange ideas and thoughts on the subject and to deal with various issues. The collaboration with experts, teachers, and students facilitated a first intensive exchange on dealing with architecture as a socio-cultural practice.

Design as a human right, not a luxury or a privilege, has been at the core of SCI-Arc's mission and pedagogy since our founding in 1972. It is in this spirit that the entire school turned it's attention to some of the most pressing issues of our moment and our city: homelessness. Los Angeles is an epicenter of shifting urban planning and housing issues, with homelessness surging over 40% in the past ten years alone. In a four-day, all-school workshop, SCI-Arc came together as a community of designers to contribute to the body of thinking on tackling this issue. Taking on the intense, collaborative format known as a charrette—a problem-solving effort involving the transparency and voices of all stakeholders— all 506 SCI-Arc students collaborated to affirm design’s responsibility to imagine and shape new futures that can be and should be in service of everyone.
 

SCI-ARC, Goethe-Institut Los Angeles, 2019

The four-day all-school workshop culminated in a public charrette on January 14th, 2019. Videos of the closed workshops can be viewed by following the links below.

SCI-Arc Homelessness Charrette: Welcome and Introduction

SCI-Arc Homelessness Charrette: Part II of the panel discussions 

SCI-Arc Homelessness Charrette: Conversations

SCI-Arc is neighbor to Skid Row, where the homeless crisis is at its most visible and challenging. SCI-Arc is known for meeting design challenges with radical, speculative thinking. They acknowledge that design in and of itself does not eradicate homelessness, but hope to identify new directions and fresh approaches for the many fields engaged with this crisis.

We are committed not only because of our proximity to Skid Row but because there is a moral imperative and an architectural challenge. Design must be implemented as a means for social change.

SCI-Arc Director Hernan Diaz Alonso

SCI-Arc students have proven time and time again that they have the capacity to generate unprecedented ideas and modes of thinking. Working with faculty, students, alumni, and key voices from around Los Angeles, SCI-Arc has identified the most pressing questions concerning homelessness, housing, policies, services, and public perceptions. Over four days, small groups of SCI-Arc students answered these questions with original research and design proposals. 
 

Charrette report

Following the charrette, a formal report and video feature were made available, as well as submitted to the Office of the Mayor. Read or download the full report here.


SCI/Arc Homelessness Charrette Report (PDF, 70 MB)

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Worlds of Homelessness
SCI-Arc homelessness charrette

Foto der SCI-Arc Homeless Charrette Interview Kabine
© Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Sehen Sie sich die inspirierenden Debatten und Präsentationen an, die bei der Eröffnung der Charette vom 11. bis 14. Januar 2019 vom SCI-Arc in Partnerschaft mit dem Goethe-Institut Los Angeles gehalten wurden.
Eröffnungsrede von Hernan Diaz Alonso, Direktor SCI-Arc, Lien Heidenreich-Seleme, Direktorin des Goethe-Instituts Los Angeles und Mark Ridley-Thomas, Supervisor Los Angeles County.

Die „Worlds of Homelessness“ Initiative des Goethe-Instituts plant eine zweijährige interdisziplinäre Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema Obdachlosigkeit als Ausdruck weiterer gesellschaftlicher Fragestellungen wie Arm-Reich, Partizipation, Ungleichheit, Gentrifizierung, Rassismus und Migration. Als Teil des Projekts begründete das Goethe-Institut Los Angeles eine Kooperation mit Sci-Arc, einer der wichtigsten Architektenschulen in Los Angeles, um Ideen und Gedanken zu dem Thema auszutauschen und sich mit verschiedenen Fragestellungen auseinanderzusetzen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Experten, den Lehrkräften und Studenten ermöglichte einen ersten intensiven Austausch zum Umgang mit Architektur als soziokulturelle Praxis.

Design als Menschenrecht, nicht als Luxus oder Privileg, ist seit der Gründung im Jahr 1972 der Kern der Mission und Pädagogik der Los Angeles Architektur und Design Schule SCI-Arc. In diesem Sinne widmete sich die gesamte Schule einem der dringendsten Themen unserer Zeit und unserer Stadt: Obdachlosigkeit. Los Angeles ist ein Epizentrum der Wechselwirkung von Stadtplanungs- und Wohnungsfragen. Allein in den letzten zehn Jahren hat die Obdachlosigkeit hier um über 40% zugenommen. In einem viertägigen schulübergreifenden Workshop kam SCI-Arc als Gemeinschaft von Designern zusammen, um einen Beitrag zum Nachdenken über die Lösung dieses Problems zu leisten. Alle 506 SCI-Arc-Studenten übernahmen das intensive, kollaborative Charrette Format - ein Ansatz zur Problemlösung, welcher die Transparenz und die Stimmen aller Beteiligten einbezieht - um die Verantwortung von Design zu bekräftigen, eine Zukunft zu entwerfen und zu gestalten, die im Dienste der Allgemeinheit stehen kann und muss.
 

SCI-ARC, Goethe-Institut Los Angeles, 2019
Der viertägige schulübergreifende Workshop endete am 14. Januar 2019 mit einer öffentlichen Charrette. Videos der nicht-öffentlichen Workshops können unter den folgenden Links angesehen werden.

SCI-Arc Homelessness Charrette: Welcome and Introduction

SCI-Arc Homelessness Charrette: Part II of the panel discussions 

SCI-Arc Homelessness Charrette: Conversations

SCI-Arc liegt in der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft von Skid Row, wo die Obdachlosenkrise am sichtbarsten und herausforderndsten ist. SCI-Arc hat die Reputation, Designherausforderungen mit radikalem, spekulativem Denken zu anzugehen. Sie erkennen an, dass Design als solches nicht die Obdachlosigkeit beseitigen kann, hoffen aber, neue Richtungen und neue Ansätze für die vielen Bereiche zu finden, die mit dieser Krise zu tun haben.

Wir engagieren uns nicht nur wegen unserer Nähe zu Skid Row, sondern auch aufgrund des moralischen Gebots und der architektonischen Herausforderung. Design muss als Mittel zum sozialen Wandel eingesetzt werden.

SCI-Arc Direktor Hernan Diaz Alonso


SCI-Arc-Studenten haben immer wieder bewiesen, dass sie die Fähigkeit besitzen, beispiellose Ideen und Denkweisen zu entwickeln. In Zusammenarbeit mit Dozenten, Studenten, Absolventen und Schlüsselfiguren aus ganz Los Angeles hat SCI-Arc die dringendsten Fragen zu Obdachlosigkeit, Wohnraum, Regelwerk, Dienstleistungen und öffentlicher Wahrnehmung ermittelt. Innerhalb von vier Tagen beantworteten kleine Gruppen von SCI-Arc-Studenten diese Fragen mit originellen Forschungs- und Designvorschlägen.
 

Charrette report

Im Anschluss an die Charrette wurden ein formeller Bericht und ein Video-Feature zur Verfügung gestellt und dem Amt des Bürgermeisters vorgelegt. Lesen oder laden Sie den vollständigen Bericht hier herunter.

SCI/Arc Homelessness Charrette Report (Englisch, PDF, 70 MB)

Top