Film Screening Liebigstraße 34 Berlin Eviction Story

Still Liebigstraße 34 Berlin Eviction Story © Squat!net

Sat, 02/13/2021

Online

Goethe Pop Up Seattle joins Northwest Film Forum in presenting the story of the October 2020 eviction process of Liebigstraße 34, one of Berlin’s last legalized squats, in association with the Queer Zine Archive Project, Three Dollar Bill Cinema, Arts at Antioch College, and Elliat Graney-Saucke and Catalina Alvarez, two former Liebig34 residents.
 
The event will include three short films: It’s on Liebigstraße 34, a short documentary by Liza Lindgren and Siri Hedenström about the house as it was in 2006; Architecture of La Zad, a short film by Jaime Iglehart about a squatted forest in France; and Berlin House Project Liebig34 Threatened with Eviction!, a call-to-action video by LeftVision. They will be followed by a discussion with Lindgren, Hedenström, and Iglehart, former residents of the house, about the memories and realities of Liebig34, the circumstances of the eviction, and the current climate in Berlin and internationally for collective anti-capitalist spaces.
 
This screening will take place online. Please register in advance and pay what you can.
 
Registration
About Liebig34:
 
In early October 2020, Liebigstraße 34, one of Berlin’s last legalized squats, was evicted by 1,500 police officers. Liebig34 was an anarcha-queer feminist house taking up an entire city building block corner. The 30-year-old autonomous collective supported ideas of D.I.Y. and consensus and cultivated a living space that did not foster homo- & transphobia, sexism, and racism, and where residents had a range of identities but could not be cis-men. The building included an Infoshop called “Daneban,” stocked with books, zines and pamphlets created by the international anarchist scene. Also on the ground floor was a bar and performance space run by the XB collective, who also served affordable vegan VoKü (“people’s kitchen”) dinners once a week.

Back

Filmvorführung Liebigstraße 34 Berlin Eviction Story

Standbild Liebigstraße 34 Berlin Eviction Story © Squat!net

Sa, 13.02.2021

Online

Das Goethe Pop Up Seattle präsentiert gemeinsam mit dem Northwest Film Forum die Geschichte des Räumungsprozesses der Liebigstraße 34, eines der letzten legalisierten besetzten Häuser Berlins, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Queer Zine Archive Project, dem Three Dollar Bill Cinema, Arts at Antioch College und Elliat Graney-Saucke und Catalina Alvarez, zwei ehemaligen Bewohnerinnen der Liebig34.
 
Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung werden drei Kurzfilme gezeigt: It's on Liebigstraße 34, eine Kurzdokumentation von Liza Lindgren und Siri Hedenström über das Haus, wie es 2006 war; Architecture of La Zad, ein Kurzfilm von Jaime Iglehart über einen besetzten Wald in Frankreich; und Berlin House Project Liebig34 Threatened with Eviction!, ein Call-to-Action-Video von LeftVision. Nach der Filmvorführung findet eine Diskussion mit Lindgren, Hedenström und Iglehart, ehemaligen Bewohner*innen des Hauses, über die Erinnerungen und Realitäten von Liebig34, die Umstände der Räumung und das aktuelle Klima -- in Berlin und international -- für kollektive antikapitalistische Räume statt.
 
Diese Filmvorführung findet online statt. Wir bitten um Registrierung vorab.
 
Registrieren
Über die Liebig34:
 
Anfang Oktober 2020 wurde die Liebigstraße 34, eines der letzten legalisierten besetzten Häuser Berlins, von 1.500 Polizeibeamten geräumt. Liebig34 war ein anarcho-queeres, feministisches Haus, das eine ganze städtische Häuserecke einnahm. Das 30-jährige autonome Kollektiv unterstützte Ideen von D.I.Y. und Konsens und kultivierte einen Lebensraum, der Homo- & Transphobie, Sexismus und Rassismus abhielt. Die Bewohner*innen hatten vielfältige Identitäten, aber sie konnten keine Cis-Männer sein. Zum Gebäude gehörte ein Infoshop namens "Daneban", der mit Büchern, Zines und Pamphleten aus der internationalen anarchistischen Szene bestückt war. Im Erdgeschoss befand sich eine Bar und ein Performance-Raum, der vom XB-Kollektiv betrieben wurde, das auch einmal pro Woche erschwingliche vegane VoKü ("Volksküche") Abendessen servierte.

Zurück