Riverside Drive Revisited: Uwe Johnson's New York

Riverside Drive Revisited © Daniel Albanese

On the occasion of the first complete translation of Uwe Johnson’s magnum opus Anniversaries (New York Review Books, 2018, trans. Damion Searls), the Goethe-Institut New York presents a book launch, event series, and installation in our public space, inviting the public to relive the New York of the 1960s, and to find in this German classic new relevance for our current era of tumultuous world events, mass media consumption, and urban inequality.
 
Uwe Johnson (1934-1984) lived in New York from 1966-1968, and started writing Anniversaries (Jahrestage) while living here. The book takes place across different places and eras: New York in the 1960s and the German province of Mecklenburg in the 1930s are the main settings of the novel. The narrative extends over 365 days from August 21, 1967 to August 20, 1968.
 
Johnson weaves personal history with larger world events, making the fictional character Gesine Cresspahl and the New York Times equal protagonists of the novel. Johnson spent about 15 years working on the massive novel (nearly 2000 pages in the original German), which includes more than 500 characters and 125 places. An almost documentary intertextuality pervades the character of the book, taking a postmodern turn as Johnson no longer believes in an omniscient narrator. The quotes that are liberally integrated throughout the book allow the reader to construct their own narrative.
 
In our installation you can relive time and place, the decisive elements of the novel, and delve into Johnson’s work and research while he labored on his massive masterpiece.  Our event series will kick off with the launch of the new translation, featuring translator Damion Searls in conversation with writers Renata Adler and Liesl Schillinger.  Our film series will include Margarethe von Trotta’s rarely-screened epic adaptation of Anniversaries, which boldly transports the “unfilmable” novel into a cinematic language, and a handful of films from the 1960s which, like Johnson, take radical departures from traditional narrative to look critically at New York and East Germany in a turbulent time.

Riverside Drive Revisited: Uwe Johnson's New York

Riverside Drive Revisited © Daniel Albanese

Anlässlich der ersten kompletten Übersetzung von Uwe Johnsons Hauptwerk Jahrestage (New York Review Books, 2018, Übers. Damion Searls), veranstaltet das Goethe-Institut New York eine Buchpremiere, eine Veranstaltungsreihe und eine Installation in den Räumlichkeiten des Instituts und lädt die Öffentlichkeit dazu ein, in ein New York der 1960er einzutauchen und eine neue Relevanz des deutschen Klassikers für unsere derzeitige Ära des gewaltsamen und aufrührenden Weltgeschehens, der Konsumption von Massenmedien und flächendeckender Ungleichheit zu finden.

Uwe Johnson (1934-1984) lebte von 1966-1968 in New York und begann währenddessen sein Hauptwerk Jahrestage (Anniversaries) zu schreiben. Die Handlung findet an verschiedenen Orten und in unterschiedlichen Epochen statt: New York in den 1960ern und die deutsche Provinz Mecklenburg in den 1930ern stellen hierbei die Hauptkulissen dar. Die Handlung erstreckt sich dabei, wie es der Titel bereits andeutet, über die 365 Kapitel der Tage vom 21. August 1967 bis zum 20. August 1968.
 
Johnson verwebt persönliche Geschichte mit der allgemeinen Zeitgeschichte – so sind die Hauptfigur Gesine Cresspahl wie auch die New York Times gleichberechtigte Protagonistinnen des Romans. Johnson sollte insgesamt 15 Jahre Arbeit in die knapp 2000 Seiten des deutschen Originals investieren, welche am Ende mehr als 500 Figuren und 125 Orte umfassten. Eine geradezu dokumentarische Intertextualität prägt den Charakter des Buchs – an einen allwissenden Erzähler glaubte Johnson nicht mehr. Die Zitate, welche frei in das Buch integriert sind, erlauben dem Leser eine eigene Narration zu konstruieren.

In unserer Ausstellung können Sie die bestimmenden Dominanten des Romans – Ort und Zeit – im Raum nacherleben und einen Einblick in die Arbeit und Recherchen Johnsons während der Schaffung dieses massiven Meisterwerkes gewinnen. Unsere Veranstaltungsreihe wird mit der Vorstellung der neuen Übersetzung, einschließlich dem Übersetzer Damion Searls in einem Gespräch mit Schriftstellerinnen Renata Adler und Liesl Schillinger, beginnen. Unsere Filmreihe umfasst Margarethe von Trottas seltengezeigte, epische Adaption von Jahrestage, welche den „unverfilmbaren“ Roman kühn in eine Filmsprache überträgt, und einer Handvoll Filmen aus den 1960ern, welche, ebenso wie Johnson, sich radikal vom traditionellen Narrativ absetzen und kritisch auf New York und Ost-Deutschland in einer turbulenten Zeit blicken.