Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall © BerlinPhilMedia

Mon, 04/10/2017

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available online for its approximately 740,000 registered users  in the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Kirill Petrenko
Soloist: Georg Nigl, Baritone

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphony No. 35 in D major K. 385 Haffner

John Adams
The Wound-Dresser for baritone and orchestra
Georg Nigl Baritone

Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Symphony No. 6 in B minor op. 74 Pathétique

Meet the next chief conductor of the Berliner Philharmoniker!
On 21 June 2015, the orchestra voted by a large majority for Kirill Petrenko to succeed Simon Rattle; the conductor will be the guest at a Philharmonic concert for the first time since his election. Besides a piece by John Adams, you will be able to hear two works of the core symphonic repertoire: Mozart’s radiant and festive Haffner Symphony and Tchaikovsky’s Pathétique, which heralds existential desperation.